We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Singapore to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore (Marina Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was one of our honeymoon stops and we absolutely loved it! We only had 4 days in Singapore but one of the concierge's Sam was so helpful, he basically helped plan our stay! He booked restaurants for us, telling them on the side it was our honeymoon so we were treated to lovely complimentatry cocktails, suggestions of places to visit etc, he really was amazing.

The hotel itself has a lovely foyer but when you get into the lift, you see the flors are in need of refurbishment. The rooms themselves are really well put together and spacious, as are the bathrooms. What blew us away was the view - jaw droppingly beautiful. We left the curtains opended the whole time to gaze at the Singapore Flyer and Marina Bay Sands - the night time lazer show is mesmarising. We were on the 17th floor and on our balcony we could sit and watch it every night.

As it was our honeymoon we were treated to a loveky bottle of wine, chocolates and letter from the manager. It really is a wonderful hotel and we will definately be back - the staff and views are just amazing!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high uo as possible with bay views - wow factor seeing the laser show at Marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,446
    727
    211
    66
    41
See reviews for
560
1,470
219
803
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was given a room here while working for the grand prix (2nd year in a row). The location of the hotel makes it one of the best to access the event.

The room we were given was huge, too bad the view was of the convention centre, but this was understandable as the rooms with the view of the bay also had a view of the track and were kept for patrons rather the workers of the event.

The bed was a king (or super king) with a heavenly mattress and had pillows that carried me to dreamland in luxurious comfort. The work desk was large and had all the connections you could ask for, the hotel also provided additional power points on request.

Service was top notch and responsive, they even gave little mementos on each day of the event to make the trip even more memorable: cap on day 1, luggage tag and polo T on day 2.

The only downside was the daily breakfast which I felt was uninspired. There was a decent spread but not only was it almost identical on every day of the event, it was the same fare as they served last year as well. Other minor gripes include the salmon section that looked like a mess and the juice section being very far away, this was made worse by the fact that the juice glasses were minuscule (you do the math). It wasn't bad, just blah and "so what", not the standards I expect from the MO. Note to the F and B head, eggs ben should be done a la minute and not on the buffet.

Excellent overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Loved this hotel- amazing view of Singapore Flyer. Service brilliant and rooms just beautiful.
The swimming pool was great- service by the pool was excellent- made us feel very spoilt !
Lots of shopping centres near by, taxi services were prompt. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joondanna W. A
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful, Amazing, Excellent, Fantastic... If only I could find any more words. It's expensive, but well worth the price. Pool is fantastic with amazing view, loved it. I miss the pool! Service is Wonderful. Stayed at the premier ocean view room, the view is superb.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first trip to Singapore, en route to a holiday in Malaysia. My husband and I had a wonderful 3 night stay earlier this month at this hotel and found it first class in every way. We were given an upgraded room facing the harbour and Singapore Flyer and it was excellent. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful and it was an extremely comfortable hotel to stay in. The swimming pool was on the 5th floor and had magnificent views all around; the pool was a good size and the pool attendants most helpful and we were given lovely touches such as ice cold water; cold towels and a refreshing drink.

The breakfast was the best we have experienced with every type of food available, very plentiful and fresh. I particularly liked the separate healthy eating section. The staff could not have been more helpful.

Our only niggle with the bedroom was that the bed was quite soft and not the usual hard bed we are used to. However, this is certainly a hotel I would recommend to others staying for a few days in Singapore.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Singapore was the first leg of a trip round the Far East and we wanted hotels to provide a high level of comfort at night. We expected to be roaming the city for the few days we were there, so for us daytime hotel amenities weren't important. But the room was! And what a room we were given!! We were given an upgrade from a deluxe room to a premier ocean room by the travel agent, Destinilogy, but we're pretty sure we were further upgraded by the receptionist who accompanied us up and gave us a brief resume of what was what. The view was the instant attention-grabber! Have a look at the photos from room 1503 ... just a shame the GP wasn't on that weekend ... now that would have been a view!! The room was furnished and decorated to a high standard, the massive bed comfy but firm. Good workstation facilities and the wi fi speed was good. We never dined in the hotel and tbh the restaurants looked little used. The public areas throughout looked oversized, unused and consequently unwelcoming. But as a place to stay and discover Singapore, it was superb. And Singapore was superb too!! Ask for a room looking over the harbour and you'll not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There's a food court just across the road - about 15 little hot food shops and plenty of seating...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The staff was very helpful at all times. Nicely decorated rooms, but very little natural light and with ample overhead lighting, a bit dark at night. Lobby and common space are not exceptional, but the pool is lovely. The breakfast is very good, but the space is dark overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#8 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded 'Five Star' status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for three consecutive years (2012, 2013 and 2014). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues; and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre, Sands Expo and Convention Center, Suntec City, Millenia Walk and Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and a lounge overlooking spectacular Marina Bay. Mandarin Oriental, Singapore has recently been voted one of "T+L 500 World's Best Hotels 2014" by Travel + Leisure USA and recognised as one of the top 25 hotels in South East Asia in the Conde Nast Traveler 2013 Readers' Choice Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.