We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less is More Part 88 - Fifty (Tired) Shades of Brown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay to your Saves list
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore (The Quays)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SINGAPORE RIVER CRUISE
Ranked #69 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Less is More Part 88 - Fifty (Tired) Shades of Brown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Being an Accor Club member, I obviously gravitate towards this French chain of hotels wherever I travel on business or leisure. Let’s be honest, the service and accommodation can vary in standards and quality tremendously not just between countries but even within the same city. Having had a very pleasurable stay at the budget class Ibis Bencoolen last year, I booked a night’s stay here (at Novotel) to be close to my business appointments. I arrived around 6pm. It was busy and the ‘less than friendly’ check-in process (on the 7th floor) took longer than expected. They informed me that I was being upgraded to the Club floor BUT my delight was short-lived after being ‘dryly’ told (in the same firm breath) that I was not entitled to any of the club floor privileges. THEN WHAT IS THE POINT of giving me an upgrade which was essentially USELESS?!

The room, to be fair is of a good size but the finishes are beginning to look very drained and depleted (is this really the premium floor?). The over-reliance on an earth tone palette for the carpet, drapes, bathroom, upholstery, wallpaper and paneling in numerous brownish shades is effectively dated and extremely dreary. DULLSVILLE has come to town! I was also not happy that the room rate did not come with free wifi. (Even Ibis provided it gratis.) Housekeeping is just passable. Thankfully there are complimentary slippers so I didn’t have to step on the carpeting. I also detected fingerprints and smudges all over the sliding door to the balcony. The bathroom smelt musty. The shower door couldn’t close properly and drenched the bathroom floor. Closet door was jammed. TV didn’t work very well either and a technician had to be called to rectify both problems. WHAT! No evening turn down? Breakfast was fortunately quite decent and if there was anything heartening to note, it’s perhaps this darling of a senior server Patricia Wong; delivering everything with the dearest smile.

It is often the details, details, details that form the lasting impressions and if they weigh on the negative, the sum of the total leaves the guest distinctly doleful – big dismal sigh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    1,919
    701
    215
    111
See reviews for
1,279
1,320
357
782
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Novatel Clarke Quay as we were attending the 2013 F1 race. We chose it for its location and the inclusions in the rate category. We could walk to the track everyday and there were many, many restaurants and bars surrounding the hotel. We also ate in the hotel restaurants (3) several times and had room service. All of which were generous sizes and excellent value for money. Our room type included the Premier Lounge, which you could also use for checking in and checking out. Our room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. We were there for five nights. Overall an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and choose the Premier Lounge rooms and ask for marina side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very clean and comfortable room with fantastic views of the river and Marina Bay Hotel. Room service on first night was fast and efficient - and food was good. Breakfast choice extensive and good quality. Good pool with drink service. Computers readily available for internet. Watch the "Happy Hour" though - you have to be in the bar (not poolside) and the buy 1 get 1 free is if you have the same drink - not clear on the drinks list. Location of hotel is great and staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor to get best views of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The location on Clarke Quay, is extremely good as we have access to restaurants and bars and everything.
We are not far from Orchard or Marina Bay. Very nice location.
The rooms are extremely nice, with a view that can be on MBS.
Friendly people and real good food.
Everything is nice in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay for 3 nights at the end of our month long tour of Europe. The hotel is well appointed, room spacious and clean. What was most disappointing was no access to free wi-fi . Having traveled all through Europe with wi-fi provided even in the most smallest of hotels one would think a chain like Novetel would get with the times.
The pool is most relaxing in the afternoons and happy hour starts at 4pm you must try the Singapore sling.
Thanks to the hotel staff who arranged a half day rate for our late book out as our flight home was not till midnight.
I hope on our next visit to a Novotel hotel free wi-fi is included.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Address: 177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#44 Family Hotel in Singapore
#53 Business Hotel in Singapore
#59 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay combines convenience and comfort in the center of town. This 4-star hotel is the perfect choice for your next business trip or holiday, and is located close to the famous shopping paradise of Orchard Road and the Suntec City Convention Center. Featuring 403 beautifully appointed rooms, plus a Premier Lounge, Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay offers great conference facilities, plus an outdoor swimming pool, a bar, and three restaurants serving local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay Hotel Singapore
Novotel Clarke Quay Singapore
Singapore Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.