We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced for the service and room features” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay to your Saves list
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore (The Quays)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SINGAPORE RIVER CRUISE
Ranked #69 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over priced for the service and room features”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is in good location and that's obvious enough to charge a hell of a lot for a room. The list of unsatisfying issues is long.
- Staff was professional but not very friendly.
- Breakfast was ok but for the price level way below expectation.
- Most of the hotels I stayed in Singapore are providing various toiletries, such as ear pads, lotion , etc. Novotel did only supply the minimum like shampoo, soup. Not a standard for this price level.
- TV remote was not working, could not change channels.
- Reception service on arrival with the taxi was minimum. Staff was waiting for me to ask them to help with my bags. The only thing they pointed out that you have to go to the 7th floor to check in.
- and the list could go on.

To say that the above is not a problem for a budget hotel, where you do not expect to much service for the price. However being a Novotel and looking at the price tag makes the whole thing different. One expects everything to work perfect and all features to be there.
I don't think I will stay again at the Novotel in Singapore as there are cheaper and better options nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSingapore, Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Accorhotels.com traveler,


Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the hotel here on TripAdvisor.

While we are truly pleased that you have chosen to stay with us during your recent trip to Singapore , we deeply regret the number of issues you encountered throughout your stay. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused.

It is our commitment to deliver a high quality product to all of our guests thus your feedback is definitely a serious concern for us. We would live to avoid recurrence of any other issues you encountered during your stay thus if you could provide us with your booking information through H5993-FO14@accor.com, it will be greatly appreciated. Meantime, your valuable comments have been highlighted to the department managers concerned and please rest assured that appropriate measures will be taken to ensure that our services and products are consistently at the highest standards.

On the other hand, as part of our efforts to promote a sustainable environment, basic toiletries are indeed provided in all of our guest rooms while additional items are readily available and may be delivered to the room upon request.

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback as it is through guests’ constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify where improvement is needed to provide a better experience for our guests.

It is our sincere hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future and if you could contact us directly for your future visit, we will ensure an exceptional Novotel experience for you.

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you.


Kindest Regards,
Aira Allarde
Assistant Manager - Quality Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    1,915
    700
    215
    111
See reviews for
1,277
1,320
356
781
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recently based ourselves in Singapore for our Asia holiday. Great location with very helpful staff in the premier lounge and concierge. Enjoyed the morning breakfast in peace (no children) and evening happy hour. Sad to see guests inviting those not staying premier I to the lounge at the end of our stay - thus overfilling the lounge so there were no seats available. Not a huge issue but unfair when we pay the extra. I would totally do it again however - the benefits are worth it. Great location, but even on the top floor noise from Clarke Quay can be heard - not an issue most nights but ladies night was the worst (Wednesday).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a very typical novotel hotel. Rooms are very modern, you get a nespresso machine if you book the premier rooms. We had a nice view of marina bay sands. Breakfast is average and the bar is very small. The location is great if you like the night scene. A lot of good restaurants near by. Try to check out early because the line up can get long.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

we recently stayed here with our family of 5, we were allowed extra bedding at cost and baby cot (no charge), rooms were clean and staff were so friendly always doing whatever was needed to help and make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. the door men downstairs were also friendly and always helped with bags and taxis and advice. good location close to shops, supermarket and restaurants.buffet breakfast amazing alot of variety. would definently stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the end of our travels.On arrival we found a friendly welcome and easy checkin.An added bonus was the offer of an upgrade to a suite,which was very spacious with a great en suite which included a large corner spa bath.
The hotel is in an ideal position for sightseeing,being next to Clarke Quay and the river trips.
We only had breakfast in the hotel, which on the first morning was disappointing, as the cooked food was almost cold.However,after i complained, the second morning was a big improvement.
There is a lovely swimming pool here which is clean with comfy sunbeds around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I helped plan a hen's night at Novotel Clarke Quay. This is, by far, the best choice for any kind of partying.

1. The room is spacious
2. Comes with iPod dock, speakers and DVD player for music and entertainment.
3. The clubbing begins when you leave the hotel and on wards to Clarke Quay
4. When the bride is drunk, it's a 5 min walk/carry to her hotel
5. McDonald's is downstairs for hungover breakfast food.

What more do you need? :)

Room Tip: I chose the Deluxe room for a group of 10 girls
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were in Singapore over the Lunar New Year, when many shops were closed for 3-4 days, so it was good to be at Clarke Quay, a touristy spot, where all the restaurants were open still. The MRT stop is about a 15 minute walk away so it's not that great if you don't like walking. The hotel is also opposite Fort Canning Park, & also not far from the famous Furama building, where you can buy PCs & laptops from a variety of shops. The hotel itself is quite good, we got upgraded to a room on one of the higher floors, which was nice, but we still were n't given access to the club lounge. Breakfast was not included, and we tried it once but it seemed a bit expensive for a busy place - the atmosphere was a bit like a cafeteria. There's a foodcourt in the basement where the food is really good & not expensive, unfortunately most of them except the fast food chain closed for the new year holiday! Also had free internet stations in the lobby - busy in mornings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Address: 177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Family Hotel in Singapore
#52 Business Hotel in Singapore
#59 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay combines convenience and comfort in the center of town. This 4-star hotel is the perfect choice for your next business trip or holiday, and is located close to the famous shopping paradise of Orchard Road and the Suntec City Convention Center. Featuring 403 beautifully appointed rooms, plus a Premier Lounge, Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay offers great conference facilities, plus an outdoor swimming pool, a bar, and three restaurants serving local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay Hotel Singapore
Novotel Clarke Quay Singapore
Singapore Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.