We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location... that's pretty much it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Save Saved
You added Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Singapore River Cruise
Ranked #70 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Mumbai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Location, location, location... that's pretty much it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Booked this hotel basis reviews on tripadvisor. Stayed five nights.

The location is fantastic, unless you are a shopoholic that wants to stay hugged to Orchard Road. A great view of the Marina Bay and Singapore River is great to wake up to. 7/11 and Starbucks in the same building, another plus; but that's mostly where the positives stop.

Rooms: are small, TV stations are extremely limited, poor video quality. The tap water barely has any force, just above a trickle. No directory of services, spa options (didn't know if the hotel had one). The switches/controls extremely unintuitive.

Service: Room service ends at 10.30!! Called the room service at 11.30 pm, nobody picked up. Tried operater after multiple rings, told that I would get a call back. No luck till midnight. Called again, rudely told that I would be called back. No call back from room service/operator. My wife had a sprain, the hotel does not have a first aid kit! Was again rudely told to go to the 7/11 thats open 24*7... Another occassion- no response at the concierge desk.. so much for hospitality.

Staff: Reception/operators range between curt to rude.

Changing lifts at the 7th level (reception) is quite irritating.

There is no free wifi.

One bathrobe for two people, was not replaced after the first two nights.

The tariff per night was steep for the service/room size/no breakfast/no wifi

If you want to stay next to Clark Quay and forget the rest, Novotel is the place. Else best to explore other options.

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    901
    1,586
    609
    191
    95
See reviews for
1047
1078
323
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My company and I had an extremely unpleasant experience at Novotel. I had booked not 1 but 3 rooms for 2 nights each at this hotel to accommodate my international guests. I called to give specific instructions for them not to ask my guests for their credit card to guarantee the rooms and took the trouble to give them my full credit details as a guarantee for the room instead.

However, when my guests arrived at the hotel, the hotel overlooked my instructions (which I called 3 times to specify) and took my guest's credit card placing a hold on it for the amount for two rooms. As it was the wee hours of the morning I could not be contacted and my guest had no choice but to agree.

The next day upon going to the hotel, I settled by card for 2 rooms, with the instructions that the 3rd room would be paid for by cash upon checkout. I specifically asked the hotel when the hold amount on the credit cards would be released and the assured me it would be immediate.

To my horror, on the monday, AFTER checkout on sunday and when all payment had been FULLY settled. My international guest informed me that the amount on her card had not been released yet. I called the hotel and asked them to call the bank and ensure the funds were released.

To my utter disbelief on tuesday, when attempting to use my card that had been the guarantee card for the room, it was declined. I called my bank who informed me that there was a $700 earmark placed on my card by the hotel. TWO DAYS after checkout. Even though my card had already been deducted for the price of the room stay! I had checked the account the night before and there was no earmark then.

Extremely frustrated I called the hotel where a girl on the phone told me that it would take 3-4 days to release my funds. What nonsense is this when my rooms were fully paid for 2 days prior? I had no choice but to inconvenience myself by going all the way down to the hotel to try to settle this issue. While at the hotel, it took them almost an hour to look into the case, and they were still not able to trace the problem, insisting they did not have an amount placed on my card. I had to go through the hassle of calling the bank to ask them to call the hotel and tell them there was indeed an earmark in their name.

The hotel repeatedly tried to insist they did not double charge the card and it was only a verification amount. Nonetheless, this amount directly froze my funds and caused me great inconvenience, and it does not make sense. I have stayed in numerous hotel in this country and across the region who release funds immediately upon checkout. And there is definitely no reason why this should happen two days after checkout!

Despite the huge inconvenience, waste of my time and the loss of reputation for my company due to the inconvenience caused to my client. Novotel's best attempt at compensation to me was to offer me free breakfast and internet on my next stay! I reiterated to them that this was hardly adequate, and requested a good rate (not even complimentary stay) on one of their suite rooms as I was holding another event this week. After several hours deliberation, Novotel called to inform me that they would do no more than free breakfast and wifi.

I have stayed at numerous hotels, some who have even offered me a free night's stay simply because my room's cleanliness was not up to par. And Novotel's pitiful attempt, with all the inconvenience caused to me was free breakfast which most hotels provide free anyway!

Completely disgusted with my experience. This hotel clearly does not know how to treasure it's guests and have a very flawed payment system.

I encourage anybody staying at this hotel to be wary when giving them your credit card, as I was informed by the staff that this overlap between deduction and holding amount was something that had happened more than once. And yet they do nothing about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSingapore, Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Leanna,

Thank you for choosing the Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay for your recent stay.

Firstly, let me apologise for the miscommunication regarding your credit card details to be used as guarantee for payment for the other rooms. We understand this is an important area of our guarantee process and I can assure you that we have reviewed our procedures.

I must also inform you that after investigating your transactions with your credit card we have found out that the hotel staff followed the hotels pre-authorisation policies and procedures when making transactions on your credit card. This is standard hotel procedure to take a pre-authorisation amount on all guests credit cards upon arrival to the hotel.

I have found out that the hotel released your funds immediately however we do not have any control on what authorisation delays the issuing bank may enforce.

Again, let me apologise for your inconvenience with this whole situation and we hope to welcome you back again in the futue.

if you have any further questions or queries please do not hesitate to contact me directly on my email address which is h5993-gm1@accor.com

Kind Regards,
Rhys Challenger
Resident Manager
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have stayed at Novotel several times now and just love the situation of the place right on the Singapore River and amongst restaurants and bars and shopping areas plus all the boat cruises that are available within walking distance. Regarding the staff they are always willing to help in anyway possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

excellent location with eateries / malls around .. easy access into the city ... nice and clean breakfast area with various food options available ... nice lobby ... I saw many holiday travellers too in group tour ... I got an upgrade room at the higher floor ... value for money and would definitely return to this hotel when in Singapore ...

Room Tip: choose the pool side (at higher floor) room for great view ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fribourg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

In a city where it's difficult to find good value for money hotels, this place is far more reasonable. Right at the heart of the Quay, it's easily accessible, and well-located. The rooms are quite standard of hotel chains, same old reliable style. The hotel is also child friendly so they've set up a crib for our baby, and we had all what we need in the room.
There are lots of nightlife spots around, restaurants, easy to access supermarket just down stairs of the hotel.
We had nice views from our room, overlooking Singapore.
Only downside, I think is the pool. It seems to be shared with the hotel next door, so you had all sorts of people on the pool. It's already quite small, so got very crowded pretty quickly. Also the access of the pool was quite strange, you had to go in front of the Indian restaurant with people in their fancy dresses, and you in your pool- so it was a bit awkward.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hotel is linked to the shopping mall with lots of eateries around. In times when weather is bad, u are covered. location of this hotel is easily accessible to shopping malls within walking distance. At night, take a walk around clarke quay and feel the ambience.In the lobby area, they have a corner to keep kids occupy - if i remember correctly is xbox 360.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Address: 177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Singapore
#52 Business Hotel in Singapore
#53 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#56 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay combines convenience and comfort in the center of town. This 4-star hotel is the perfect choice for your next business trip or holiday, and is located close to the famous shopping paradise of Orchard Road and the Suntec City Convention Center. Featuring 403 beautifully appointed rooms, plus a Premier Lounge, Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay offers great conference facilities, plus an outdoor swimming pool, a bar, and three restaurants serving local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay Hotel Singapore
Novotel Clarke Quay Singapore
Singapore Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.