We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room service dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Mandarin Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Mandarin Singapore to your Saves list
Marina Mandarin Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Raffles Boulevard,Marina Square, Singapore 039594, Singapore (Marina Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Greater Savings
Ranked #57 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great room service dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very efficient and welcoming from the moment you arrive. Bags whisked away, hostess takes you to up the stairs to reception at which there are several on staff so no waiting.
Our room was a smoking room and it had a small (150mm wide balcony to stand out on. Pity the door didn't open up more but the glass was bay window style so it couldn't.
Bedding very comfortable and the bathroom lovely.
Pool area was very good if a little old and the bar has happy hour 5-7pm although we didn't go.
We were tired and ordered room service for dinner.The food was AMAZING! best food we had on our 14 day trip. Fast, piping hot, delicious flavors and plenty of it. Reasonably priced too.
Checkout was super fast.
Only drawback was seeing those beautiful singing birds in small cages when surely there is room in so much wasted space to have a larger enclosure so they can fly. I suspect they may not sing so beautifully if they could enjoy other activities such as flying. When you hear the birds ( their singing can be heard throughout the hotels many floors) you think they are recorded its so strong and beautiful.
Great areas for meeting, drinks and dining.

Room Tip: Our room was furtherest from the lift but gave us an amazing view of the Marina Bay Sands, the light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is gratifying that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us from the moment you arrived!

In Marina Mandarin, we pride ourselves into providing each and every guest an unique experience of Asian Hospitality and we are delighted that we have lived up to your expectations. Our Team will derive much delight from your words of compliments.

We also sincerely appreciate your concerns about the Song Birds and please be assured that they are well taken care of by their owner.

We will continually improve our products and services towards the next greater height for guest's experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,327
    1,227
    501
    177
    77
See reviews for
607
1,096
203
936
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Apparently this is one of those hotels regular visitors to Singapore pass by and think looks good but never actually stay in. It's quite a dominant property in this area but I suppose you could say its overshadowed from a brand perspective by several other properties nearby. I decided to give it a shot on a short two day work trip recently and I wasn't disappointed.

It's easy to get to this part of town by taxi from the airport and it doesn't cost too much at all. It's right in the middle of the marina area so there's so much nearby, and within walking distance, such as the Raffles, Marina Bay Sands and the CBD.

Upon arrival by taxi you enter on the first floor of this large property (although I was told that at around 500 rooms it was only mid size). For some reason I had been upgraded to a Premier floor room so I was escorted straight up to my 19th floor room, bypassing reception. Check in details were all taken care of in my room by a very helpful staff member who also gave me a comprehensive room overview.

The room was incredibly spacious and well designed. The hotel's last refurb was in 2007 and although you can tell, it's only because of the design, not the wear and tear - it still feels new. The room had loads of amenities - a TV with plenty of channels, ample plug sockets with no need for international adapters, a large desk which was easy to work at, and iron, mini bar and so on. I also had a plate of fruit and a selection of pineapple cakes as a gift which was a nice touch.

The bed was very comfortable. It was firm, how I like it, and large. Room temperature is easily controlled and I switched between air conditioning and having the window open. The room was quiet and felt private. There was a large balcony overlooking the hotel pool - and the city (being a city facing room). Other rooms face either Suntec City or the marina.

The hotel boasts one of Asia's largest indoor atriums which is impressive. The interior of the property makes full use of natural light so it has a relaxing feel despite being so large. During my stay they hosted a selection of singing birds during the day which brought an element of nature to my stay.

The buffet breakfast was fantastic. There's such a wide selection you could stuff yourself every day and not eat the same thing twice. I was a bit disappointed not to see any pork products on offer but it didn't matter. I also had lunch in this restaurant and it was good. There's so much to eat nearby though. My top recommendations are to go to the hawkers area just behind the hotel on XxxxxXXxX which has a wide range of cheap, local choices. Even the food hall in the nearby Marina Bay Sands was impressive.

The hotel gym is fantastic. It is better equipped than some private gyms I've been to in the past. It was usually quite empty when I was there too. The range of cardio machines, free weights and resistance machines help burn off many of those food calories Singapore is so famous for. The pool area looked good but I didn't get to use it.

Guests seemed to be a mix of business people like myself and tourists. Neither group dominated though and both seemed to feel at home. The property is connected to the Marina Mall which is itself connected to pretty much everywhere else in the city, meaning that you never actually have to go outside to get around Singapore.

As always, it was the staff which really confirmed how much I liked the place. Wherever they worked they were so attentive and helpful. They also showed great sense of pride in the hotel which made a difference.

I had a great two days here and have already committed myself to coming back in September. The property is great, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff throughout make it such a welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: Three types of room on different levels but all were fantastic. City views are great - as are views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

At Marina Mandarin, we pride ourselves into delivering the finest form of service to each and every guest each time they stay with us and we are delighted that we have managed to deliver up to your expectations.

Our Team will be highly motivated from your kind words of compliments and we will continually improve ourselves to achieve the next higher level of delight.

It is simply inspiring knowing that we have managed to display Asian Hospitality during your recent stay.

We look forward to be of service to you soon!

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2 x twin bed on hotels.com (as we have kids) to be told upon checkin that 2 x twin beds actually means 2 x single beds.

We also found out our executive deluxe has no views which cost an extra $30++ per room per night.

The wifi is an exorbitant rip off with complex rules (6 hours daily use with 2 devices).

There is only one bank of lifts and if you get a room further back it is a very long walk to your room.

The room was outdated and unmaintained: the tv remote didn't work, and the drain in the shower slid off revealing a large hole.

My wife found the caged birds in the lobby disconcerting.

The pool was ok but lack of shade meant my kids were screaming when walking on the tiles as their feet were burning from the heat.

Put together with an expensive room rate to begin with means a big avoid from me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We share your disappointment on the experience you have had during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting up to your expectations.

We have noted on your accommodation needs for you and your family. Our Hotel provides room packages which cater to guests who are traveling with their families and we regret that we did not manage to extend this service for your visit.

At Marina Mandarin, we pride ourselves into exceeding our guests expectations with our Asian Hospitality each time they stay with us. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends.

Please contact us directly at marina@meritushotels.com for your future visits and we will ensure a memorable stay for you and your family.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We opted to stay on the club floor which we reckon provides really good value. Breakfast is in a dedicated lounge, tea/coffee, soft drinks and nibbles are available all day long. In the evening between 6 & 8 pm cocktails, wine and beer are complimentary along with some substantial hot and cold snacks. If you don,t want a large evening meal these snacks will serve you well. The service on this floor is also very good and the staff will help you when they can with any questions you have. Overall a very good experience. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable.

Room Tip: Think about a club room. It might be more expensive but the perks may well save you money overall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us!

Indeed, our Meritus Club Lounge provides service to discerning guests like yourselves and nothing is more motivating than knowing we have delighted your stay.

Thank you for choosing our Hotel as your preferred choice of accommodation once again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a business trip in March. From the check in to the check out, EVERYTHING was perfect!~ PERFECT! We had a great view, a bed you wanted to dive into, a spacious bathroom, free wi-fi and very friendly and helpful staff. I loved the vibe of the hotel, drinking a coffee in their coffee shop and sipping a glass of wine in the lobby! When you are in Singapore, you are hustling all about...it is nice to have such a relaxing/calm place to unwind.

On a side note, everything you need is in walking distance...

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina View, you can't beat looking at the Sands!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is simply inspiring to know that we have created perfect memories for you and your husband!

Your kind words of compliments will highly motivate our Team into bringing our service level up to the next greater heights.

We have taken note on your preference for a view overlooking the Marina Bay and we will update into your profile during your future visits.

We look forward to be of service to you soon!

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel Transfer: We got a taxi from Changi airport to the hotel – easy and no problems – cost was SGD20 (AUD$16).

Check in / check out: Checking in & checking out was very quick and efficient. Checking in, the nice young man on the counter gave us a bay view room on the 14th floor which was great.

Room Type: Executive Deluxe Room (14th floor)

Room Pro’s: Great clean room on a high floor with a bay view over to the Marina Bay Sands. Bathroom was good size and very nice. Air conditioning worked well and was very quiet. Balcony door opens to a small standing size balcony. Tea & coffee making facilities. Good wardrobe space.

Room Con’s: The room, even though on the 14th floor can get noise from the outside and also from the hotels atrium. This noise though can’t really be heard from the bed, only from near the doors, so did not bother us at all.

Hotel Spa: We did not use the spa facilities. After coming from Thailand the spa prices seemed very high, although in line with what you would pay in Australia.

Hotel Pools: The pool area was great! A relaxed atmosphere and with a fantastic skyline view. There is a bar that serves drinks and snacks and has a daily happy hour (not on cocktails).

Hotel Grounds: There aren't any hotel grounds apart from the pool area, however, the hotel is attached to the Marina Square Shopping Mall which is great. Marina Square has a good variety of shops and eating options right next door. The hotel itself is huge and really beautiful. The atrium is the largest I have been in and just a great relaxed feel to it.

Restaurants / Room Service: We didn't eat at the hotel at all as we found an abundance of cheaper eating right next door at Marina Square or out and about.

Hotel Location: The location is great if you want to be near the Bay or esplanade area. It is about a 10min drive to Orchard Rd and 30min drive to the Zoo / Night Safari. There is a MRT station next door and taxis are cheap enough to use these to get around also.

Hotel Service: The service in this hotel was great. Check in / check out staff fantastic. The staff at the front arrival area are pleasant and the cleaning staff did a great job every day!

Overall Assessment: This is a beautiful hotel and a nice location. Singapore is not a cheap city, compared to Bangkok or Kuala Lumpur so hotel prices will be in line with this. Next time in Singapore we would stay on Orchard Rd, just for a different area, but would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the Bay area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay - these are fantastic at night! The higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is with great pleasure knowing that you have enjoyed our facilities and services!

We sincerely appreciate your detailed feedback, it highly motivates us to perfect the art of service excellence and at the same time, make continuous improvements on the areas we are falling short of.

We have taken note on your preference for the Marina Bay view room and we will update into your profile during your future visits.

Thank you for choosing our Hotel as your preferred choice of accommodation, we look forward to be of service to you soon!

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

With so much to do see and do in Singapore, it is nice at the end of a busy sightseeing day to collapse and relax in accommodation your are happy to call home. This is what we found at the Marina Mandarin. All the staff were very obliging and friendly and the quality and cleanliness of our room was A1. Our room overlooked the pool and the nearby park and it was a great view to wake up to each morning. The location of the hotel is perfect as a base to visit the many sights and activities and the vast shoppng mall and food court under the hotel is so convenient.
We would highly recommend the Marina Mandarin to enyone, be it on business or holiday.

Room Tip: Higher rooms overlooking the pool are quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It awes us knowing that we have created magical moments for you during your stay!

At Marina Mandarin, we pride ourselves into delivering our signature Asian Grace, Warmth and Care for each and every guest during their stay and it is wonderful knowing that we have achieved with you. It truly inspires us.

Thank you for choosing our Hotel as your preferred choice of accommodation, we look forward to creating the next magical moments for you soon!

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Mandarin Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Mandarin Singapore

Address: 6 Raffles Boulevard,Marina Square, Singapore 039594, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Family Hotel in Singapore
#49 Business Hotel in Singapore
#52 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Mandarin Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 575
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, getaroom.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marina Mandarin Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Mandarin Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Singapore Mandarin
Marina Mandarin Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Mandarin Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.