We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As I said earlier...location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Orchard Singapore to your Saves list
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Orchard Road, Singapore 238867, Singapore (Orchard Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1 package
Ranked #84 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Dubai
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“As I said earlier...location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Staying at this hotel is not a mind blowing experience but you will have nothing to complain about. The location is amazing and I heard that they have been running at 100% occupancy for 6 months!..that says it all. Breakfast can get very crowded in the mornings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sumeet V,

Thank you for your review, and welcome back to Mandarin Orchard Singapore; it is always a pleasure to see familiar names and faces.

As a direct result of feedback, we have opened an additional restaurant outlet serving the same items for all of our guests’ comfort and convenience.

Thank you again for your patronage, I will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,427
    2,156
    964
    380
    201
See reviews for
1,519
1,046
273
1,662
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The best thing about staying here is that it's next door to Nege Ann city (takashimaya), mandarin gallery and just a few minutes walk you are either at paragon, H&M, Somerset 313, centre point and more malls to mention.

Food are readily available nearby and if you are an early morning person, you could always try 'Bao Today' for breakfast as they open at 8 am till 1am mid night. Around orchard it will be difficult to find eateries that open early or breakfast unless you dine in hotels. Chinatown is another area where you can find eateries that open early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Rachel A,

I am really pleased you found the location of Mandarin Orchard Singapore convenient.. Our Concierge will be more than happy to make help you make the most of your stay by highlighting must see attractions, activities, loyal events and great restaurants, not to mention our very own legendary Chatterbox.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Recently returned from Singapore, my husband went for work and I to shop. We have stayed at the Mandarin Orchard before and the hotel & service have always been wonderful. However this time we had a leaking toilet tap in the room and when we reported it to reception they were very apologetic and immediately upgraded us to a junior suite much to our delight. It was unexpected and very much appreciated. The staff went out of their way to help us relocate rooms and made sure we were comfortable. The hotel itself is well located, close to the best shopping in Orchard Road and short taxi ride to everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear GandG128,

Thank you for your feedback about your latest stay at Mandarin Orchard Singapore. First and foremost, may I apologise for the maintenance issues within your room. Unfortunately, at times these do occur; we therefore have a technician on site 24 hours a day who can assist however they can.

We take pride in delivering our Asian hospitality with grace, warmth and care to all who stay, dine and meet with us; I am pleased to see you experienced this first hand.

GandG128,thank you again for your feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent a long weekend at the hotel. Had a good rate from the hotel website - free upgrade to club room, free breakfast and complimentary wifi. The hotel is busy and popular with tourists, and yet efficiently run. Great location right in the middle of Orchard Road, close to trains and major shopping. Room is not huge but sufficient. Would happily stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Malaysian_suzie,

Thank you for your comments, I am delighted you find we have good rates and enjoyed our Meritus Club facility with complimentary refreshments and our nightly cocktail hour. I am pleased to hear you will be back again.

I will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to experience the Asian hospitality we are so fondly known for.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

have to pay if you want to have breakfast. The room, not as big as other hotels with the similar price. Guess the location in the middle of the most famous road in the world make it bit overpriced. The decoration is very modern, and I personally like the dragon crystal in the middle of the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear serlypipu,

Thank you for your review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore, all feedback is important and every comment is read noted.

For the convenience and flexibility of our guests, we provide room rates that both include and do not include breakfast in order for you to be free to choose if you would like to dine with us. Our breakfast may be pre-purchased before you stay or as you check in where you will receive a $5 discount. I do hope you were informed of this as you registered with us.

Thank you again for your feedback, I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The room is slightly small although we have booked a club floor room and with a bulky massage chair in the room which is not useful for us. However, the overall set up of the room is good. With a club floor room we have access to the club lounge and the lounge is reasonble as the food selection is limited eventhough the quality is good
However, the best part is the service. All the service staff are very friendly and eager to help. The location of the hotel is also very good, since it is next to shopping mall and MRT

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear nhs123,

Thank you for your review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore; all feedback is read and most certainly noted.

I have taken note of your remarks on food selection within the Meritus Club Lounge and have notified our Food and Beverage Manager to review the selection offered.

I am delighted you found our team to offer good service, we aim to extend our Asian hospitality with grace, warmth and care to all who stay, dine and meet with us; I am glad you experienced this first hand.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Orchard Singapore in the near future.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager,
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here in April 2013 and I thought it was terribly overpriced at more than US$820 for 3 nights WITHOUT breakfast. And there was no free internet in the room even though that is the impression you get in their ads. They levy an early check-in charge if you are early (Check in 2pm) even if the rooms are available. The pool is small and unheated. They don't have any lockers or proper change areas. The rooms facing Orchard St. are noisy (there was construction across the road) as the windows are not double glazed. So it gets a bit hot too sometimes. This is NOT 5 star. Staff are friendly but the management does not seem to be. I would not stay here the next time if I can help it.

Room Tip: Choose the Tower if you have to stay here - its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear akhter C,

Thank you for your review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore; I appreciate your time in writing down your thoughts.

Our scheduled check-in time is at 2pm as you have identified, and rooms cannot be guaranteed before this time unless a room has been pre-blocked and paid for the night before. If a room is available before this time, we will endeavour to find one for you with no charge; I am sorry if there was a miscommunication with this message.

Whilst our Wi-Fi is charged within rooms, and clearly displayed on all of our booking channels as such; as a direct result of feedback from guests like you, we have implemented free internet access within our lobby areas.

Whilst our windows are not double glazed, each room is installed with air conditioning to keep the rooms at you desired room temperature; if for any reason it is not effective, our 24 hour engineering team is happy to assist; I do hope they were able to help you.

akhter C, thank you again for your review, I do hope that despite your last experience, you will nt hesitate to return to Mandarin Orchard Singapore again in the near future.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Orchard Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Address: 333 Orchard Road, Singapore 238867, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Singapore
#55 Family Hotel in Singapore
#60 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mandarin Orchard Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1077
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1971, Mandarin Orchard Singapore is a veritable icon in the local hospitality industry, embodying rich Oriental charm. Its prominent location in the heart of the world-renowned shopping belt of Orchard Road makes it the preferred hotel of choice for many visitors. Boasting some 1,077 guest rooms, each a harmonious blend of comfort and contemporary elegance, they are equipped with broadband Internet access, comprehensive amenities and a panoramic view of the city from the higher floors. A smorgasbord of food and beverage offerings is available throughout the hotel. These include award-winning cuisines from Chatterbox, home of the Mandarin Chicken Rice; Shishen Hanten Sichuan Chinese Restaurant by Chef Kentaro; Triple Three, an international buffet restaurant; Coffee & Crust, a cafe serving tempting cakes, pastries and coffee; and Bar on 5, a chill-out bar five floors above Orchard Road. The hotel also offers expansive meeting and function facilities, making it the ideal choice for meetings, incentives, conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Mandarin Orchard Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Orchard Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Hotel
Singapore Mandarin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Orchard Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.