We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay but not Riverfront” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Furama RiverFront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Furama RiverFront to your Saves list
Furama RiverFront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 Havelock Road, Singapore 169633, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
EXTRA 10% & FREE WIFI
Ranked #78 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
hervey bay
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay but not Riverfront”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April. Didn't get off to a good start - we checked in around 5 pm after travelling all day only to find our room was not ready and we had to wait about half an hour. We were kindly offered complimentary fruit drinks for our wait (would have preferred something with a little kick!). We could have taken a room with three single beds but held out for a queen size bed. However the bedding turned out to be one double and one single. Bathroom was pokey and it took about half an hour for the water to drain from the bath after a shower. Towels (only 3 bath towels) were very, very thin and no face washers supplied. Toiletries, particularly soap, were not replenished. On the last day we were down to a sludgy mess of soap in the shower and hand basin. Breakfast was the normal asian style with lots of variety.
The staff were helpful, particularly the concerge and doormen and also housekeeping who promptly provided ice when requested. In this day and age we objected to paying $8 per half hour for wi fi access. Everywhere else we had stayed it was free. As we were tourists we took advantage of the "hop on hop off" shuttle bus which had a stop just down the road. It was a pleasant stay, average facilities which could do with a little improvement. By the way, ignore the comments that it is only a 10 minute walk to China Town and Clarke Quay - it is a good half hour at least. We walked to China Town for dinner the first night we arrived (drenched through from the humidity) but took a cab back for about $8.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Ms Ebonygirl,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback on our property. We are disheartened to hear that your experience with us was less than satisfactory and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience experienced. It would have certainly been our pleasure to present you with additional toiletries as well as address the bath issue should you have shared it with us.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and we hope that this singular incident has not marred your overall impression of Furama. Finally, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back with Furama in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    443
    200
    55
    42
See reviews for
167
301
87
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Furama RiverFront formerly known as Apollo Hotel.Quite familiar with the hotel having stayed a few times.Wifi is not free.Service is strictly minimum.Not a smile.May be because they were too busy.When I checked in ,I asked the reception for a newspaper in the morning but did see the color of the newspaper unfortunately.The battery of my Iphone was dead so I asked the concierge to lend me their phone because I wanted to make an urgent call.They accepted but since the communication was bad.I asked for a second time but they squarely refused.I see the attitude is not correct.What is the cost of a phone call?.I let the hotel reply themselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Wongtra,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We are appalled to hear of your unsatisfactory experiences and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences. Please rest assured that we have shared your comments with our relevant departments.

As we do not offer complimentary telephone calls from our concierge desk, such services are rendered out of good will and on a case by case basis. Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences experienced and we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As we were only staying in Singapore briefly and not bothered about luxury amenities we went for the value room in this place. Thank god I read tripadvisor comments and asked for a higher room. To their credit, the did find a level 9 room and offer a free upgrade. Delighted at first but then found out it was a triple - ie three single beds. I requested a double and we were then reluctantly offered a club room on level 20ish....good outcome for basic room booking. The club room was adequate in terms of space but note:
- this is a tired place
- if I had paid for a club room I would have been very disappointed (chipped tables, dated furniture)
The location meant taxi rides around the place but these are relatively cheap. Walked to chinatown but 20-25miins in humidity meant we did a one way trip.
One off, cheap for what we got, but we were very lucky.

Room Tip: Perhaps try next door?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Mr DuncJohn,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are disheartened to hear that you did not find our rooms to your liking and we sincerely apologize for your inconvenience. We have shared your comments with our management and we are working to resolve your issues raised.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INVERCARGILL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel. We stayed 4 nights and we were made to feel welcome. The room was adequate, but clean and comfortable. Unfortunately we did not have a decent view as we faced the back of the Hotel. The daily breakfasts were very good with plenty of variety. The hotel is actually in a great location. It is on the route for the Hop On- Hop Off Bus (it stops at the Hotel Mirimar next door) which can take you to many of Singapore's attractions. But we often walked to the pedestrian bridge over the Singapore River to Clarke Quay where we enjoyed some top quality meals at the many establishments there. If walking or taking the bus doesn't appeal taxis are continually pulling up outside the entrance. Or we took daily tours and were picked up from the foyer. The one downside was that we didn't use the pool as I had hoped to do, as there were no shady areas to sit. We are from a much cooler climate and burn easily. But overall I would recommend this hotel and would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: I would have preferred a room with a view. But realise not everyone can be lucky. We overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear 50plusInvercargill,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have shared your feedback to our relevant departments. Please allow us to extend our gratitude for your review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Can't understand anyone giving this hotel a poor review. We stayed for seven nights from 16 to 23 April 2013 and were very pleased with the rooms, the meals and the courtesy, friendliness and service provided by all staff.

Hopefully there will be a closer MRT station one day.

Only suggestion would be for the hotel to distribute a local map showing the pedestrian bridges over the Singapore River as there are several close by.

Once bridge locations are known they give quick access to many fine eating and drinking establishments (including Toby's Estate for good coffee)

Room Tip: We found that the Deluxe room was a good size for three adults and would advise seeking a package th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear KimD266,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have shared your comments with our relevant departments and we will definitely look into your suggestion.

Once again, we would like to extend our heartfelt appreciation for your review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We booked a 4 night stay at Furama Riverfront, and our first impressions was the location was not central and the hotel looked a bit tired. After a couple of minor room service problems, one which involved a mix up where we were disturbed by the house maids to clean our room near to 1am (was a room number mix up), this hotels management ensured that our stay was pleasant from then on. In fact we were heavily compensated for the inconvenience by having a complimentary dinner for 2 plus drinks in their dining room, as well as a surprise birthday cake for my husband whilst he was there. We found the rooms on the smaller side but clean and neat, though we did find the beds a bit too firm for our liking. The location ended up being quite good as it was near the Clarke Quay Nd China town area with lots of dining choices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Lethal112,

Thank you for sharing with us your review of our property. We hope that you accept our humble apologies for the inconveniences experienced. Rest assured that we have shared your comments with our relevant departments for their action and follow up.

Once again, we thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was one of those sudden last minute plan changes,for which i had to make a one night stay,which made me choose this hotel after my returm from cruise,for the last day as my earlier both hotels were running full for my date of reservation
DONT EVEN BOTHER TO ASK THEM ABOUT WIFI
One of the most surprising things even in todays era of technology,is there wifi plans which are only for 8$/30 mins and 15$ for an hour.And to top it off,they can only be used on 1 device.
A hotel as huge as this,cant have better wifi plans for there customers.It couldnt have gotten worse then this to start with,well thats what i had thought.
The front desk staff is rude to the core,probably because i got my hotel booked through an online travel agency{hotels.com} which would have costed them some commision i guess,but i dont think u can bias treating people on the same.
The carpet on the paths leading to the rooms,probably one every room,look worn-out and smelly leading to a same aura in hotel premises.
Would surely give this hotel a miss,the next time i am in singapore.

Room Tip: U would probably getting a better hotel at a better price as well then this old,worn-out pricey usel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mr Jasjot,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback. We are disheartened to hear that we have not met up to your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we have shared it with our relevant departments for their action and follow up.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay with us. We have reminded all our frontline staff to be courteous and polite to all our guests. Once again, we thank you for sharing with us your feedback and comments. We hope that this isolated experience has not marred your overall impression of our brand and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Furama RiverFront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama RiverFront

Address: 405 Havelock Road, Singapore 169633, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Singapore
#62 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#65 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#68 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama RiverFront 4*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an elegant retreat from the urban rush at the Furama RiverFront. The exquisite hotel features well-appointed rooms with a full range of modern amenities overlooking either the Singapore skyline, lush greenery or the swimming pool. Guests can relax comfortably in a tranquil environment with the city's entertainment hub at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Furama RiverFront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Riverfront Hotel Singapore
Furama Riverfront Singapore
Furama Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furama RiverFront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.