We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience at Furama River front Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furama RiverFront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Furama RiverFront to your Saves list
Furama RiverFront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 Havelock Road, Singapore 169633, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Visakhapatnam, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Experience at Furama River front Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here with my husband between 26th August to 8th September 2012.
The overall experience was good and I really enjoyed my stay.
Rooms were good ( executive rooms, between 17th & 19th Floor), except the following :
as I entered the room, first thing I saw was the wash basin, which was indeed not appealing, otherwise room was OK.
Always ask for the rooms facing the City-view, as the pool view rooms are not having any view.

Room Tip: Always ask for rooms with city view, pool view rooms are not having any view from rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Indrani, thank you for your comments. We're glad the overall experience with us was good. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    545
    239
    59
    47
See reviews for
217
415
99
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I have got a chance to stay here for one night. Overall feeling is that the room size is big which is the good thing together with the lcd tv. But the overall feeling is that the room is old and some smell in the cabinet.
The bathroom is clean but not to the level of high quality one, the tower size is tiny even i am not a big size person.
The breakfast is fine with variety food.

The price is not cheap.
Internet speed is good from my feeling.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Kobchula,
Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping department and they are looking into the issues. Please do accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced.
On the bright side, we are elated you enjoyed our breakfast selection and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I know Singapore is an expensive place to stay, but having paid much more than I have paid almost anywhere else, I was disappointed with just how average the service was, and by the ordinary quality of the rooms. The room was plain, of reasonable size, clean, but starting to look shabby. The bathroom was also looking well worn, with amateurish maintenance attempts, and plugs that malfunctioned.
Somebody needs to pass on the message that expensive wifi is a a big turn-off. The position is so-so, but there are some good little riverside eating establishments just behind the hotels on the opposite side of the road.
The hourly complimentary shuttle bus to Orchard Road and Clarke Quay is also a plus.

Room Tip: "Deluxe" room is a euphemism for ordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Roadrider_12,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize for the inconvenience experienced.
I have shared your concerns with our respective departments. Allow us to take your review as a learning experience.
On another note, we are glad you enjoyed the eateries by the Singapore River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had read the reviews on this hotel and against my better judgement I decided to take my chances. Big mistake! This hotel is old and worn out just like I had read. Dirty carpet, peeling paint, moldy bathroom and awful customer service! Upon checking out I noticed a double charge for internet and explained that I had switched rooms during my stay and that they had made a mistake. They refused to take the extra charge off and would not to listen to my explanation of what they had done. In all of my professional life I have never experienced such poor customer service and I warn anyone against staying here. Do not make my mistake! Stay away!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear USALIVINGMALAYSIA,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I have read your comments and am appalled to hear of your less than satisfactory experience with us. I have launched immediate investigation into your concerns, however I am unable to trace your stay with us without your full name.
Please do contact me in private at marcom.riverfront@furama.com with your full name and date of stay and I will get back to you once the results of the investigation have been established.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Furama Riverfront is a pretty good hotel. Service from the concierge, front desk and all other staff that I interacted with was prompt, friendly and to the point. My room was well appointed and reasonably spacious. Bedding and linens were good and I slept well. Breakfast is also pretty good with a wide selection to please both Western and Oriental palettes.

Negatives don't really reflect on the quality of the hotel... I stayed here for business, which the hotel is well suited for. It is not centrally located so taxi service is required when you want to go about Singapore. Other hotels that I've stayed in are located much better relative to tourist attractions and the MRT or SBRT systems, so tourists who want to travel the city via public transport should look elsewhere. You can find hotels more centrally located with good service for the same price (or less).

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi ScubaZorro, thank you for your lovely comments. We're glad you had a positive experience with us. We do have shuttle services to Orchard and Chinatown daily, as well as a morning shuttles to Outram Station and Shenton Way on weekdays. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, Bucks, England
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

After a shaky start to our Anniversary trip around Asia (being dumped in Dubai by Emirates) Bates Motel was going to be a step up ... but Furama Riverfront's Customer Services and facilities exceeded our expectations. Stayed 2nd-3rd Sept 2012.

It was booked as part of a package with Elegant Travel & Tours in the UK. I did email the hotel direct ahead of arrival to say it was our anniversary and we would like a nice non -smoking double room if possible.

Easy check in and they informed us we were upgraded to the top floor - executive room with use of the Executive Lounge.

Lovely big room - big bath and swanky glass enclosed bathroom - with blinds for privacy. Bags were delivered to our room quickly. Great view over the park area and skyline (rear of the hotel). Robes, slippers and Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries.

When we explained we had booked two nights - but thanks to Emirates now only had an afternoon and a night to explore the city we asked what "Hi-lights" and must sees we could do in limited time. The front desk were very useful in providing maps, order to do things - best to get cabs, where to walk, eat and drink - that sort of thing. All very useful and we managed to cram all that we wanted to see into the afternoon and early evening.

Executive Lounge - we almost forgot about this - but popped in for a looksy in the evening. Some "Club Lounges" have been basic and a real let down in the past - but this lounge was amazing. Quiet, restful, nicely designed and the complimentary food and drinks were great. Sushi, noodles, meats, salads, cheeses, etc and intricately made dessert nibbles.

Well worth upgrading - for this alone - especially if you have a very limited time in SNG and no time to faff about looking for places to eat. We used all our will power to leave the lounge and head to nearby Clarks Quay to experience some nightlife.

Returned to our room that night to not only find fruit and lovely roses - but an anniversary card signed by members of the staff at the Furama.

Breakfast - again in the Executive Lounge - and again - lovely food well presented. Something for all tastes.

This hotel - from check in to check out was a joy.
We had limited time here but were made to feel really special in the 24 hours we were in Singapore. Nothing seemed too much trouble.

Would definitely stay here again if we could and we would recommend a room on the Executive Floors 17-19.

Room Tip: Book an Executive Room on the high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi Charleygirl76, at Furama RiverFront, we're committed to delighting our guests. We love our Executive Rooms as well, with complimentary wifi and a pillow selection menu available! We're elated that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do let us know when you are coming to Singapore again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Furama Riverfront for the last leg of our honeymoon. Up until then we had stayed in some very nice hotels but we were disappointed with the Furama.
We booked through STA travel and the brochure has pictures of luxury rooms with great views, however this was not our experience at all. I would say our room was like a traavelodge in the UK, basic and functional. We had booked a double but our room had a double and a single bed which we were told to "ignore" by the lady who checked us in. The double was up against a wall so only one side had a bedside table. There was no carpet in our room, nor in the room above us so we heard the scraping of chairs on the ceiling. The bathroom was small and basic but had no extractor fan. Our view was of a side road, and some large turbines!
The corridors of the "guest" floors are a little tired and shabby, we assume all the pictures are taken on the executive floors.
On the first night we decided to eat in the buffet which was fine, except when it cost c.£80 for two with a beer each! You would have to eat a lot for it to be worth it and we much nicer meals out for the same or less. Breakfast was also over priced at c.£35 for two, we found it much cheaper to eat out.
The pool area was nice, towels are provided and there are plenty of lounges however it does not get the afternoon sun so is a bit chilly.
The lobby bar is nice, there is a happy hour and reasonably priced snacks like sandwiches.
The location is good if you want to be slightly away from the main centre, there is an MRT about a ten minute walk away and Robertson Quay is five with some great restaurants. You can walk to Chinatown as well.
The wifi was a little pricey, c.£8 for an hour.
Overall for the price we paid per night I would have expected a lot more in England, it may be a better experience if you are In an executive room. If you do stay eat all your meals out it will be better an cheaper by far. If we return to Singapore I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear IM295,

Thank you for your feedback and we will definitely look into ways of improving. I am glad you enjoyed our Waterfall Lounge with its 20ft waterfall set amidst a tropical forest setting. For your travelling convenience, we do provide shuttle services hourly to Orchard Road and Chinatown as well as Outram Station and Shenton Way on weekday mornings.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Furama RiverFront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama RiverFront

Address: 405 Havelock Road, Singapore 169633, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Singapore
#42 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#51 Family Hotel in Singapore
#53 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama RiverFront 4*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an elegant retreat from the urban rush at the Furama RiverFront. The exquisite hotel features well-appointed rooms with a full range of modern amenities overlooking either the Singapore skyline, lush greenery or the swimming pool. Guests can relax comfortably in a tranquil environment with the city's entertainment hub at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Furama RiverFront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Riverfront Hotel Singapore
Furama Riverfront Singapore
Furama Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furama RiverFront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.