We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs Bugs Bugs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 East Coast Road, Roxy Square, Singapore 428769, Singapore (Joo Chiat)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3Nights Pay 2Nights!
Ranked #74 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bugs Bugs Bugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Hey, I can stay with bugs anyday when im in a cheap bungalo somewhere. Not when its an expensive room in singapore. Overrun with ants and critters and to be honest if it wasnt for that I wouldn't have a problem.

I liked the open laundramat but mega expensive!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRoxy, Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, October 8, 2009
Dear AsiaLiving,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

I regret to learn that you had ants in your room and sincerely apologise for this. We have a contract with a reputable pest control company and have an extensive schedule which includes all our guestrooms. They have conducted a thorough inspection of all areas of the hotel with a specific emphasis on guestrooms.

We realize that in the tropics and especially in a true ‘Garden City’ like Singapore, extra attention is required and please rest assured that we will be increasing our vigilance in this area.

With regards to the Laundromat I am glad that you liked this facility, in fact I believe we are one of the few hotels in Singapore that provide this sort of service. We have surveyed our charges and have found them to be relatively competitive in the market. However, we will certainly keep your comments in mind when next reviewing our tariffs.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Kevin Bossino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    1,637
    608
    111
    41
See reviews for
1,122
844
325
596
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

This is definitely a good hotel for stopover. Rooms are spacious and clean but business centre is extremely expensive. There is a free internet corner but you need a password to access.

It's quite a distance from Orchard but there are heaps of taxis and buses to take you downtown. Across the hotel is the Park Way Parade with over 5 levels of shops, one of which is a huge supermarket, Giant. There are also lots of hawkers food stall along the way. Unfortunately, I didn't have enough time to explore the vicinity.

The hotel shuttle is very efficient and punctual and you have to book a day before as it on a first come first serve basis. Their coffee shop is nice and cosy and its a great place to have a quick catch up with friends. Their cakes are offered at 50% off after 10.00pm so it's great for supper.

I will definitely come back to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

This would be a great option if you had to stay overnight in Singapore on a stopover - closer to the airport than the city areas, close to the water for seafood or right near a heap of old bars, restaurants etc plus modern shops. The money you save on the hotel will be made up by catching taxis to places. Definitely not within walking distance of Bugis, Clarke Quay etc. The coffee shop is super expensive - avoid! Concierge was very helpful. Great size room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed at Roxy Mercure for two nights after exploring Indonesia. We definitely think this hotel deserves its fours stars and with the deals it offers, the quality is certainly high and worth of every penny. However, please note that this hotel is located quite away from main city center, Orchad Road and reaching that area takes almost an hour by taxi or bus, as the traffic is heavy 24/7. But there are nic areas around East Coast parkway too, where in Mercure Roxy is located. Big shopping mall just opposite and green belt. Just behind the hotel you may experience totally different Singapore as the oldern parts of the city is there.

However what comes to the hotel itself. It is nice and clean and well-maintained. Everything works well, gym is good and pool is wonderful. Staff is ok, not as friendly as you could expect and sometimes they lack with their English. Please note that the internet connection they advertise is EXTREMELY expensive to use, unless it is included to your room price.

Airport shuttle service was superb.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Our first stay on this side of town, we were pleasantly surprised at the amenities & standards. Lots of shopping nearby - both quality & market standard. Loads of eateries, convenient to airport with a free shuttle to & from Changi [15 mins] & close to Tenah Merah ferries to Indonesia or Malaysia.
Late checkouts no problem, a great pool & hotel restaurant & bar with Happy Hour. Great rooms & views.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

I had to stay for a night on transit to US and although the rooms were good and the hotel looked nicer; hated the front desk service.

The hotel is a bot far away from the airport and equal distance to city centre, so it was not the best choice for me. Otherwise it is still a good place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Hotel is only about 15mins in taxi from airport. Great for overnight stay with Marina and restraunts only $5 cab ride away. great for people who want to stay overnight but not at the airport hotel. ocean views from most rooms

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Address: 50 East Coast Road, Roxy Square, Singapore 428769, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Singapore
#53 Business Hotel in Singapore
#55 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy 4*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Roxy is an ideal hotel for a business trip or holiday in Singapore. A haven from the bustling city amidst the heritage charms of historic Katong, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city centre, Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo, the Marina Bay area and Orchard Road. Enjoy fantastic shopping at Parkway Parade on the doorsteps of the hotel or a great day out at East Coast Park with beaches, recreational facilities and renowned seafood restaurants. Only 10 minutes from Changi Airport with complimentary shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel Singapore
Grand Accor Roxy Hotel
Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel Singapore
Mercure Singapore
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.