We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 East Coast Road, Roxy Square, Singapore 428769, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it is close to the airport and we had an early flight. Our room was on the 15th floor which overlooks the ocean .It was roomy enough to fit 2 adults and 2 kids (12 and 9).The hotel is close to shops , restaurants and $15Sing taxi ride to Sentosa. The staff are all friendly, helpful and overall the hotel is clean except the carpets really need to be replaced.But that doesn't stop us from staying again next time we have an early flight while in Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear AiaiMark,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, and making us your preferred choice of accommodation in Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us; and you are satisfied with our location, rooms, and services rendered by our team.

Our hotel is, indeed, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

We have well noted the elements of your review regarding the condition of our carpets. You can rest assured we are looking at your review in details for immediate improvement.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    1,550
    583
    104
    41
See reviews for
1,083
789
313
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Location is good but house keeping service is not really good. It took a long time to get bath gels. Room is average, however it would often get noisy, since you can hear footsteps in the doorway. However, i would come back to stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear ing-janita,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, and making us your preferred choice of accommodation in Singapore.

Our hotel is, indeed, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

Please accept my most sincere apology as the bath gels that you have requested was not delivered to you timely. You can rest assured we have shared the elements of your review in details with our Executive Housekeeper for immediate improvement.

We have well noted your wish for a quieter stay for your future stays. Please inform us on your next arrival, and we will make the necessary arrangements for you.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Roxy with my family of 5 for 4 nights at the end of March. It was my first time there for leisure but I have previously stayed there for a total of three months for business. Much has been worked on since my last stay mid 2011. The rooms and pool area have been renovated to give it a fresh new feel. I really like this hotel with its friendly staff and it's proximity to shops, restaurants and transport. Hawker stalls nearby offer cheap food and drink, a laundry service with same day service is right next to hawker stalls for that last minute washing. All in all whenever I return to Singapore I will always stay at the Roxy. Highly recommended as it sits halfway between the airport and Suntec City.

Room Tip: A higher floor facing the ocean provides a great view. Extra bed is provided on request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Robert M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, and making us your preferred choice of accommodation in Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us; and you are satisfied with our location, newly refurbished rooms and swimming pool, and services rendered by our team.

Our hotel is, indeed, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you for recommending us and sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were very happy with the Roxy, less than 15 minutes from the airport on a sunday afternoon. As we had to wait over 30 minutes for the shuttle, we took a taxi, costing $12, had a very quick and efficient check in with David, who upgraded us to a larger room, wonderful. Even had a television in the bathroom, a lovely relaxing soak.We walked across the overpass to the shopping centre, it was great to stretch our legs after a long flight. Looked like there were quite a lot of eating places in the centre, they looked nice, they were very popular with Singapore shoppers. We headed back for a pre-dinner drink and I must admit I enjoyed my Singapore slings.Reception had an early morning taxi waiting for us after a very enjoyable sleep.We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear NswAustraliaDidi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, and making us your preferred choice of accommodation in Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you and your partner have enjoyed your stay with us; and you are satisfied with our location, rooms, and services rendered by our team.

Our hotel is, indeed, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Grand Mecure Roxy twice now and will always return there. We have family in Singapore so need a good place to stay. It is a very convenient hotel out of the hustle and bustle of the city. Transport is so handy you can travel quickly to any destination in Singapore. Just take one of the many buses that stop outside for a ride into the city or go to Eunos Station & connect with any MRT line. Try a bus ride into the city at least once to see all the things you miss on the underground MRT! For easy travel buy an MRT card called 'EZlink'. The card is re-chargeable and you can use it on all public transport. Buy at any MRT station or one of the many little shops that display an EZlink sign.
The hotel has several restaurants, we have tried four of them and found the food to be very good in each. It is opposite Parkway Centre, a large shopping centre with multiple shopping and eating choices.
You can take a short walk to East Coast Park for a great walk along the foreshore. Hire bikes or skates. Early in the morning see dozens of groups of local people doing Tai Chi etc in the grassed areas of East Coast Park.
The hotel has a very nice swimming pool with plenty of seating and a bar/restaurant right nearby.
There is a guest laundry, handy for those staying with children. It is close to the airport and there is a free bus shuttle service which we always use when leaving the hotel. Book with the Concierge.
All staff are very friendly and accommodating. I fell ill during my last stay and was looked after very well with a meal bought to the room without extra charge.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both Superior and Deluxe rooms which overlooked the pool area. The only differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Jane L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, and making us your preferred choice of accommodation in Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you and your partner have enjoyed your stay with us; and you are satisfied with our location, hotel facilities, swimming pool, dining options, complimentary airport shuttle services, and services rendered by our team.

In particular, I am delighted to know that our team took great care for you as you were not feeling well during your stay at our hotel.

Our hotel is, indeed, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

Getting around Singapore from the hotel is not an issue, as there are public transportations readily available in front of our hotel. We are glad that you, like most of our guests, have found our complimentary shuttle services useful.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We arrived at the hotel shortly after check-in time around 2.15pm on Good Friday. The queue in front of the front desk was very long and wasn't moving fast (every guest was held at the desk for about 10 minutes). In the beginning we did not understand why, but when, about 40 minutes later, we reached the desk we were informed that there were no rooms ready (the check in clerk told us that many people slept in due to Good Friday; we understand that such things may happen, however the hotel should be prepared and avoid 40-minute queues at the front desk). We were offered a smoking room, which we declined, and were then informed that we should go for a walk and come back at 3.30pm to get the room. We weren't happy at all by this, since we had wanted to take a shower and go in the city, but went to eat something at the food court in front of the hotel.

When we got back at 3.30pm the room was ready and we were given a voucher for a drink at the bar (valid only for that day) and they informed us that we could take advantage of late check-out upon departure (i.e. keep the room until 5pm). We thanked the staff for this and asked whether the late check-out could be prolonged until around 6.30-7pm (given that our flight was at 11pm, we didn't want to get back to the hotel at 4pm to check out at 5pm and be at the airport at 6pm; it would have been great to have the room until 7pm). The clerk informed us that we should have to talk to the manager the following day. We did this, but the front desk manager wasn't accomodating at all and we were informed that a check-out later than 5pm would incur a fee of 100 SGD plus taxes. We explained again that we really appreciated the offer of late checkout, however this was of no value to us, since it would force us to get back to the hotel way too early (it was like offering a nice steak to a vegetarian, surely a nice gesture but of little value to the person in question). This brought to nothing and so we decided to check-out before noon and give up the late check-out. The manager at least agreed to prolong the value of the drink voucher until our final day.

The room itself was very nice, newly renovated with a nice bathroom. The hotel is located outside of the city, but there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel with several lines which makes it easy to travel around the city. The hotel also offers shuttle services to the airport (throughout the day) and to other locations, although these latter with reduced times.

We would give this property 4 stars, but we decided to reduce it to 3 stars given the massive queues at check-in (which, by reading other reviews, don't seem to be an exception) and the stubbornness of the front desk. The next time in Singapore, we will probably look somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear GioVale20,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you are satisfied with our location, newly refurbished rooms, and complimentary shuttle services.

Our hotel is, indeed, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

I have duly noted the elements of your review, and wish to sincerely apologize as we were not able to accommodate you timely in your room. I also very much regret the hesitation of my colleagues at the Front Office to assist with the extension of late departure from 5.00pm to 7.00pm.

Please allow me to explain that whenever possible, we always try to accommodate to our guests’ request for early arrival or late departure. Unfortunately, late departure is a very challenging predicament for Singapore Hotels due to the high level of occupancy.

You can rest assured I have immediately reviewed the elements of your review in details with our Front Office Manager for improvement; and that the level of service you have experienced does not correspond to neither our standard nor to our expectations. We hope that you will not remain on this experience; and will remain confident in our full commitment to provide the required level of service expected by all our customers.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've been using the Roxy for many years on business trips and during the last couple of stays, have noticed how tired the hotel is looking in comparision with many of its competitors. There is some form of refit programme in progress but for me, its a little too late.
The staff are always friendly and helpful and its a good location midway between the city and the airport. There are plenty of local eating options on hand which is a great plus.
From a personal perspective, staying here a week at a time is no longer an attractive option when there is so much choice (despite being an Accor Gold card holder).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear CambridgeClimber,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your business stay with us; and you are satisfied with our location and services rendered by our team.

Our hotel is, indeed, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

We have well noted the elements of your review regarding the condition of the hotel. It is with much pleasure and excitement to share that we are nearing completion for our hotel upgrading program; and all our guests will be able to experience and enjoy our new rooms soon.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Address: 50 East Coast Road, Roxy Square, Singapore 428769, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Singapore
#48 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#55 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy 4*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Roxy is an ideal hotel for a business trip or holiday in Singapore. A haven from the bustling city amidst the heritage charms of historic Katong, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city centre, Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo, the Marina Bay area and Orchard Road. Enjoy fantastic shopping at Parkway Parade on the doorsteps of the hotel or a great day out at East Coast Park with beaches, recreational facilities and renowned seafood restaurants. Only 10 minutes from Changi Airport with complimentary shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel Singapore
Grand Accor Roxy Hotel
Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel Singapore
Mercure Singapore
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.