We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Singapore Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Singapore Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Singapore Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Clean, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Reached the hotel earlier than allowed check-in time, we were already thinking to leave our luggage there while we would go around exploring the town, but the hotel reception allowed us to check in and within 5 minutes, we were already up in the room on 9th floor.

Booked the premier room via the special club marriott rate, which makes the rate to be one of the more affordable among all the hotel in/nearby Orchard area. Furthermore this hotel is one of the nearest to the Orchard MRT, even though a bit of walking is still required, but the walkway is covered.

The room is squeaky-clean, and most of the furniture seems new. The channel available on the TV is a bit limited, and the quality of the shows/movies for the HD capable LED TV is just too bad. The noise from the street is barely audible from 9th floor and I guess there is some kind of minor renovation on-going as we can hear drilling sound on weekends. The lift is not protected by any kind of key card mechanism, and the evening turn down is not consistent, i.e. present on some days and not done at all during some days. However the room service i.e. cleaning is good. Everything is cleaned and tidied up. Only 2 bottles of water given daily which is not really enough for a couple, hopefully there is a convenience shop nearby.

Plenty of food is available around the vicinity of the hotel during day time, worse case, there are 7-11 and McDonalds nearby as well. Almost all the major malls would have some kind of food court, ION Orchard, Takashimaya, Lucky Plaza (be careful of scammers), and more. The Orchard MRT station could be packed on weekends because lots of immigrants would gather there to shop around the malls there. Quite difficult to find food around there during late night time/midnight, but we did not really check with the concierge as we wanted to explore a bit ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    362
    109
    53
    22
See reviews for
216
257
104
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have stayed here twice now and for the location alone it is unbeatable, inside an oasis of calm and order, step through the glass doors into full on madness of Singapore. Orchard Road is a major cross roads for both traffic and the MTR, from here you can go everywhere, the hotel may not be the biggest or most modern but I just love the layout, decor and the staff. Breakfasts in this hotel have to be the best in the world, there is everything conceivable from every Eastern country, and why shouldn't you have an Indian Curry with rice and a waffle and maple syrup for after. We ate most evenings in the executive lounge as it was included in the package, great selection of meals with free drinks all with a great view down Orchard Road. For an evening great I have to recommend going up to the pool, it's beautifully illuminated after dark and looking up and around at the night skyline is treat for the eyes. It will always be one of the iconic hotels of Singapore, and if you like shopping there can be no better place to start.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel has the best location in Singapore . It is convenient to shopping,underground,etc.The pool here is incredible. The rooms are incredible.They are elegant and yet so comfortable. This is the cleanest hotel that I have ever encountered. The staff is the most professional that I have encountered as well. Strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is my second stay at the Marriott - paid for with Marriott points. The generally available rates for this hotel are pretty high, even for Singapore, and there is probably better value to be had elsewhere.

However, the location of this hotel, just above Orchard MTR station, and adjacent to some of the best shopping malls in Singapore, is unbeatable. Absolutely everything you could possibly want is within about 5 minutes walk, and most can be reached via underground (and air-conditioned) tunnels, which is a blessing when you want to stay out of the heat.

The rooms are of a very good size, with excellent modern bathroom, very good amenities, and all is spotlessly clean - housekeeping in this hotel really is very good.

The pool, on the 5th floor, is an oasis in the city - you could almost forget that you are right in the middle of one of the World's premier shopping areas. The pool is of a very good size, with plenty of lounger space. There is a paddling pool, but those with slightly older children who are not strong swimmers should note that the main part of the pool is of a uniform 1.20 meter depth.

Did not take breakfast in the hotel - this is Orchard road, and there are hundreds of very good and cheaper alternatives very close by. We have (previously) eaten at Wan Hao, the Cantonese restaurant on the premises, and it is very good indeed - one of the stand-outs in Singapore for Beijing Duck.

Provided that you are OK with the rate, this is a really excellent hotel, offering very good service indeed, and you could not be better placed for the sights of Singapore. It's probably slightly better suited to business travel than families, but we loved it as a family, too.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a great view. Rooms on the 5th floor have direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Marriott on Orchard is a great location and very convenient to many attractions and shopping. The room was good and spacious, the bed was comfortable and the food was good and reasonable. I would recommend it due to location to Orchard road.

Room Tip: Buy a cup of coffee at the coffee shop adjacent to the restaurant if you're not getting the buff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location right on the Orchard Road. Just above Tangs and linked with MRT station. Excellent choice to stay, no need to worry cos many choices to eat nearby.
Stayed at twin bedded room with my bday mom, I sent email to ask the Guest Relation Agents prepare a bday greeting card to surprise my mom. And I was also surprised when we checked in, not only a card was set inside the room, but also three slices of assorted cake was put next to the card. It was a really nice experience to have such lovely surprise. Thank you Marriott Singapore for creating memorable bday experience for my mom

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Arrived at hotel in the early hours of the morning. I had booked the hotel through a discount hotel website and clearly the rooms had gotten mixed up. The staff though did not have the decency to inform us about this. Travelling with children mean you have a budget for the holiday. After talking to staff for close to an hour they finally told us of the mix up and showed us the room. Our chosen room had space for only a double bed and they said they would place two single beds either side of the main bed. It was a very tight squeeze! We were all so tired that we decided to keep that room for the night and would discuss with the manager in the morning. When we finally got to speak to the rooms manager he put the blame on us! Clearly the hotel has poor communication between itself and other websites! Never will I be staying here again! Rude and arrogant staff, poor room quality! Ruined my stay in Singapore!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Singapore Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Hotel

Address: 320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#16 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#20 Business Hotel in Singapore
#23 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#33 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The green-roof pagoda is a well-known landmark located at the junction of Scotts Road and Orchard Road. Ideally situated in the heart of Singapore’s bustling shopping and entertainment hub, the five-star hotel is linked to at least four main shopping complexes by an underpass and is directly above the Orchard Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station, which means the rest of the island is but a train-ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Singapore Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singapore Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.