We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ordinary and over priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Singapore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Balestier Road, Singapore 329926, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very ordinary and over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is an oddity in the location it is in as practically the whole of Balestiar Road are packed with budget hotels. I suppose it tries to be a mid range hotel but as I have stayed in both the budget hotels and at the Quality Hotel, I can compare the difference.

The rooms are ok and so is the service for this mid range hotel but the other parts of the hotel don't really matches up.

The breakfast buffet is a let down. It is practically factory manufactured mass produced fast food, You can tell by the packaging when the service staff tops up the food. Because the hotel booking system mostly includes breakfast, like in my case I couldn't book a room without breakfast so I am force to avail myself to the buffet breakfast each morning. Hence the place during the morning is pure pandemonium with so many guest trying to find seats and it spills over to the adjacent bar lounge. You don't get shown to your table, you have to fight for one. And the food quickly finishes and the staff cannot top up fast enough. I suggest the hotel offer room rates without breakfast to solve this issue.

Secondly, there is a popular public restaurant on the first floor, so during lunch and dinner and especially weekends hotel guest would be fighting with that restaurant patrons for lifts, car parks, elbow room in the lobby etc.

And thirdly this hotel appears to cater to a mass market Thai, Chinese, Vietnamese tourist, so there are always hundreds of tourist in the morning (breakfast) and certain times of day when they check in and out. I have no issue with this but the lobby is not big enough to cater to so many and when it clashes with that public restaurant. The carpark lift comes straight to the lobby too.

It is not near to any MRT but if you know the bus system you will be fine.

I find the published room rates on the hotel booking sites on the high side, 50% higher than the budget hotels. I think it should only be 25% higher. The wifi is also weak and is worse than the budget hotels, so business travelers or even backpackers beware. I can't even watch youtube

Hence, I do not suggest business travelers to use this hotel. But is ok for tourist who wants free buffet and there is a bus to take them around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Quality Hotel Marlow.

I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with with you stay in this hotel.

We have upgraded the internet service from 23rd June 2014. Guests may now enjoy free WIFI with higher bandwidth for up to two devices anywhere in the hotel.

On days when the occupancy is high, the cafe can be very crowded. I have forwarded you concerns regarding the breakfast buffet to the F&B department.

We take all feedback seriously, we are constantly trying to improve ourselves.

Warmest Regards
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    57
    82
    32
    18
See reviews for
38
45
20
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
東京
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

部屋は1ベッドで悪くはなかったです。コーヒー紅茶無料でポットあり。シンク、バスタブが高いので背の小さい人には使いにくい。シャワーの水が外に流れ、床は水浸し。ハウスキーパーのおばちゃんが超怖い。タオルをくれと言ったら、部屋にあるだろ!と怒鳴られた。ないからくれと言ったと言ったら、うるさい!と。。。フロントもチャイニーズのスタッフは不愛想。小ばかにした感じ、インド、スリランカ系は穏やか。朝食はまずい。何食べてもまずい。ネットは有料。
よかったのは、オーチャードからの帰りは免税店前から#124のバスで一本。10分~15分でホテル前に到着。便利。タクシーなら10分、12ドルくらい。ノビナ駅まで15分弱。日中は歩きたくない距離。ホテル周辺はホーカーズ、コンビニなどあり、駅にはフードコートとスーパーあり。

the house keeper wasnot good,front staffs were also not good. the room is not bad,but itis depend on the floor. breakfast was soooooooooooo bad! wifi is charged. near the hotel,there are foodcourt and supermarket at the Novena sta,convenience store is located 1block.
from Orchard,take the bus about 15mins,to go orchard is not good,take more mins.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for allowing Quality Hotel Marlow to be your host during your current visit to Singapore. Your feedback is much appreciated and is very valuable to us. I am very disappointed to hear that your visit is not going as successfully as we would hope. The housekeeping and F&B department have been informed of your feedback. We are constantly improving ourselves so as to provide better services to customers with varying needs. You may contact me to let me know the details. The staff from the Front Office have also been reminded to uphold the service standards at all times.

It is our sincere hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

Warmest Regards,
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel for 4 nights and the Hotel has really good rooms with good facilities and a very helpful staff. The rooms are very well made up and have a premium feel. We reached a bit earlier than the check in time and the Hotel staff was courteous enough to give us the room earlier as it was available. The room was with a good view of the street.

The location of the Hotel is about a km away from the nearest MRT station (Novena/ Farrer Park). The area around the hotel is good with many shops for provisions and chinese eating joints along the road.

However for Indians,espescially vegetarians, there are few options in food. Only vegetarian option in breakfast would be bread and bland fried rice or corn flakes. Vegetarians looking for a heavy breakfast may want to avoid this hotel as even the hotel menu does not have any vegetarian options and it is difficult to find vegetatian food around the Hotel along Balestier Road. However there is a good Indian restaurant along Balestier road at Balestier Plaza known as Tandoori Corner, but you need to walk for about 2 bus stops to reach that place. Vegetarian Indian food witha variety of options would be available only at Little India which is around 2 kms from this place. Wifi is available on a paid basis and has good connectivity. TV has 10-12 channels. Hotel has a small swimming pool but we did not use it. However kids in other groups found it good.

Overall stay was very pleasant as the staff is very helpful and polite and rooms are very good with good facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

To cater to the needs of Indian vegetarians, we have included dishes suitable for Indian vegetarians.

We have improved our WIFI connectivity and now guests connect two devices at the same time.

We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Singapore.

Warmest Regards,
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

First of all the service is terrible, the staff at the check in counter does not even look at your eye when talking to you, not to mention a single smile. No eye contact at all for the whole check in and check out process. Cant speak English well, suspect from Mainland China
Noted fungus stain the blanket! this is unacceptable
Up to you if you still want to stay in this hotel...I had said my words

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Keen Hoe,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have investigated the matter and spoken to our staff regarding the right service attitude.

The housekeeping department have also been informed of your feedback. They have taken the necessary action.

Warmest Regard
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Considered the price we paid (S$ 100 per night) we had good value for money.

It is an adequate and fairly comfortable hotel. Space was suffucient for Singapore standards. Shower was perfect, but bathroom could use some more towels.

Soundproofing is quite good. Breakfast has limited choice but enough for a good breakfast to start the day.

Closest metro station is appr 15-20 walk. Taxi to/from downtown is appr. S$ 10.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings to Quality Hotel Marlow. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you found our services to be valued for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Quality Hotel Marlow soon.

Warmest Regards,
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KualaLumpur
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Comfortable room, great staff, pretty popular among tourists from Vietnam and China. Breakfast could certainly be improved...it's also a bit of walk to get to the nearest Metro, however the bus stop is next door and have buses to the closest Metro station, Farrer park

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the ground floor can hear the loud music coming from the Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

We have informed the F&B department regarding your feedback.

Your feedback is very important to us as we continue our focus to improve our accommodation and services. We appreciate your business.

I hope to welcome you again the next time you travel to Singapore.

Warmest Regards,
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days and 3 nights with my family. They provided us with 2 comfortable rooms with a very nice city view. The staff was so understanding and helpful. Though its location is a bit away from the MRT, the nearby bus stops compensated for that. The breakfast buffet was nice and had a quite variety. Room size was a bit small but I suppose it is much better than many other hotels in Singapore. The cleanliness is good and the room service was very efficient. The beds were comfortable and provided a good sleep quality. We enjoyed the stay and definitely will stay again if I visit Singapore.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in Quality Hotel Marlow Singapore.

I look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Singapore.

Warmest Regards,
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Singapore

Address: 201 Balestier Road, Singapore 329926, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Singapore
Singapore Quality Inn
Quality Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.