We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three strikes, so they are O-U-T” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Bras Basah Road, Singapore 189559, Singapore (Formerly Rendezvous Grand Hotel Singapore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35%off +Free Tour +WiFi
Ranked #40 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Three strikes, so they are O-U-T”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

I stayed here for 4 nights in mid-June 2007, and had booked for room + taxes+ breakfast though one of the Asian based reservation services. I paid in full in advance.

The non-smoking room that I received was on a lower floor that reeked of tobacco: the corridor, the elevator car, and my room too.

All day long, there were foul cooking smells coming up from the kitchen, like boarding house cabbage and beans.

The hotel offered no complimentary bottled water, a first for me even in Singapore hotels. Large sizes of the bottled water on the desk, though, were available for purchase.

The buffet breakfast was unappealing and offered few choices: a meager setting in a town known for food.

Well, that the three strikes. They are now out of my book; I'll stay elsewhere when I return to Singapore.

  • Liked — There was nothing to like about this hotel.
  • Disliked — The inability to obtain a non-smoking room, the lack of bottled water, the poor quality breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    538
    147
    44
    19
See reviews for
154
408
106
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We stayed there for 2 nights on the way back home (Aus) after 2 weeks in Vietnam, We' got 3 deluxe rooms with 145Au$/room.When we checked in, a front desk staff who seem didnt how to smile do the check-in procedure which took quite a long time,when asked " Is there any wrong with our reserves ( We paid our stay already pre-trip) , she just looked up, still no smile and a "NO". That's it, We though we were still in Vietnam!!
Despite that girl, all other staffs are friendly and helpful. The room is big enough for a couple and the closet/ storage' space big enough for our bags( We bought heap of stuffs during our holiday in VN)Room is clean,and the pool is a bonus for my kid due to hot weather in Sing.
The hotel location is perfect since it locate next to Dhoby Ghaut MRT and the Kopitiam is nearby. Wander along the Bencoleen st, we found many eating place with cheap price and good food
Very convenience for an early or a late meal.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

We were in Singapore for 3 days before flying onto Penang and this was the first time. We arrived into Singapore very early in the morning and we were at the hotel at around 09:00. Unfortunately they did not have a room for us until one o'clock. After a little bit of silence i asked whether it would be possible to have access to the gym or swiming pool so we could shower and change our clothes which we were given but might have been nice to have been offered this. When we did check in there was no bed for our daughter who was traveling with us, although the hotel blamed this on our travel agent. The chap that checked us in wasnt going out of his way to help us, he did however provide and additional bed at now extra charge. The hotel is clean, in a good location with a 10 minute walk to the MRT station, Raffles and Orchard Road. Whether it was because of our 15 hours of travelling and day walking around Singapore but the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The rooms are average size leaning towards small. Although I probably would stay here again i think I would try another for comparison.

  • Liked — Location and the bed
  • Disliked — Staff very indifferent
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

We spent 4 nights here in April 2007, and were happy with the accommodation.

Situated at the base of Orchard Road (near Little India), this hotel was within walking distance of several shopping centres, a bus stop and the train station. There was an excellent food court (Kopitiam) across the road, and the Sim Lim IT mall was only a 10 min walk away. The hotel’s concierge were friendly and helpful, and our rooms were clean and well maintained.

Overall, we were pleased with the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

This is a good hotel which lived up to our expectations. We had double room booked on the non-smoking (8th) floor which had great views of the city. The room was spacious and very clean. Breakfast buffet was excellent - a mixture of local and European food. Nearest Metro station is only a 10 minute walk away. We will definitely pay a return visit.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

This hotel is in a good location - not far from one of the metro stops. And also not far from Raffles Hotel (in walking distance). It is at one end of Orchard Road so not right in the middle of things, but it is easy and quick enough to get to Orchard Road by underground train. The hotel itself was very clean, and of a good standard. Very good facilities. We had a double standard room, which was fine, and provided everything we needed as tourists. I wouldn't call it luxurious, but it was certainly above average. Very pleasant stay here. Everything ran smoothly from check in. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with a short (or long) stopover in Sinagpore. There is also an excellent food court nearby (next block along) should you wish to sample some of the local cuisine.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

Stayed at this Hotel in Jan 07
Location ok but rooms very dark and bathrooms not very clean,
Really Need Major Renovation! Leaking ceiling my my room(deluxe room)which took 1 day to fix after complaining few times
Staff not very friendly,Shocking!!!
I will never go back again.

Shivani
Sydney Australia

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality

Address: 9 Bras Basah Road, Singapore 189559, Singapore (Formerly Rendezvous Grand Hotel Singapore)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#43 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a restored colonial building located in the heart of Singapore’s Arts District, Rendezvous Hotel Singapore is inspired by its locale’s vibrant energy and character.As an art-inspired hotel, Rendezvous Hotel Singapore brings together stylish elements reminiscent of its heritage to complement modern masterpieces and create a unique aesthetic style. It is a brand that appreciates creativity and is proud to show it.Primed to be a meeting point where art and creative ideas grow, Rendezvous Hotel Singapore aspires to support the arts and culture through collaborations and initiatives with both students and artists from Singapore and around the world. This is Rendezvous Hotel Singapore, placing you at the art of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Far East Hospitality Management Pte Ltd, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Singapore
Singapore Clarion Collection
Clarion Singapore
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore By Far East Hospitality

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.