We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, average rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Bras Basah Road, Singapore 189559, Singapore (Formerly Rendezvous Grand Hotel Singapore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35%off +Free Tour +WiFi
Ranked #40 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location, average rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

In the middle of everything; walking distance to all shopping, Raffles, Singapore Flyer and Gardens by the Bay. Bus stop outside.
Good assortment for breakfast but not very smart organized so there was a lot of walking back and forth. Nice outdoor pool but as construction of new buildings seem to happen on every corner in Singapore, so is the noise. Bring ear-plugs if you would like to relax.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian W, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear UllaBella018,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Rendezvous Grand Hotel, we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Like you have mentioned, many of our guests find our excellent location at the heart of the city a great convenience as many of the key attractions in Singapore are within walking distance from our hotel. Currently, due to the construction of a new MRT line near the hotel, it might be noisy during the day. The hotel management would not be able to interfere with the construction work, but we are working very closely with the local authority to minimize noise pollution. We seek your understanding and we will do everything within our capabilities to bring comfort for our guests.

As we are embracing new changes under a new management team, please look forward to exciting new features at Rendezvous Grand Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for a renewed experience.

Warmest regards,

Christian Wolny
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    539
    147
    44
    19
See reviews for
154
409
106
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Hotel was good to stay, with good dining facilities and nice service. It is quite near to the strategic locations in Singapore, but should have a better access to the Taxis, which are quite difficult to get here on road side, unless you pre-book them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian W, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear gomcoite2,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review. We deeply appreciate your feedback and guest satisfaction is always our top priority. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with Rendezvous Grand Hotel.

Like yourself, many of our guests are very satisfied with our excellent location at the heart of the city. Many of the key attractions and business centers in Singapore are within walking distance from our hotel. We are also looking at ways to reduce the taxi waiting time for our guests, which tend to be long during work peak hours. However, you can always approach our friendly concierge should you require any taxi booking.

As we are embracing new changes, please look forward to exciting new features at Rendezvous Grand Hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you back for your next stay soon.

Warmest regards,

Christian Wolny
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on route to Sydney. The staff were courteous and friendy. We were in Club Level room and were supposed to have our own lounge and dining area on our bedroom level, but there had been a flood (you could smell the damp) and so we were given complimentary drinks/meals in the bar - which was OK for what we wanted. our room was lovely, with a bowl of fresh fruit when we arrived. Not a lot of atmosphere though, mainly business people working over a glass of beer or wine. Ate lunch in restaurant on one day and the sme applies. Average food. Breakfast was self serve cafe style, but quite a good choice of foods available. Good location for sightseeing and taxi's always readily available outside door. Would stay here again if travelling same route.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian W, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Jazzyquiz,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Rendezvous Grand Hotel and we are happy to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable.

In view of your feedback, we have spoken to our teams to improve F&B offer and Club Guest experience. In the meanwhile, we would always propel ourselves to provide the best experience for our guests.

As we are embracing new changes under a new management team, please look forward to exciting new features at Rendezvous Grand Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for a renewed experience.

Warmest regards,

Christian Wolny
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was booked at room 1003 over looking the MRT Subway construction but the noise outside was tolerable. The pool was small but very relaxing and quiet, not much sun there because of the building, but very peaceful. I stay 5 nights instead of two nights, because Singapore was having huge Christmas 2012 sales in every department stores, this was a shopping paradise for me.. Most of my stay was extremely enjoyable because Singaporean are polite and speak fluent English, so no hassle to be understood. The Rendez Vous offered an excellent bed quality, after Malaysia and the many filty hotel I stayed in, I could finally sleep in a comfortable bed without any bugs, and cockroaches. It was pure delight with quality white 100% cotton linens as if you were back home. However, The room was too small with far too many bulky furniture, little space to do paper work on the desk and practically no space to walk in the room. The plasma TV should have been placed somewhere else on a wall but not on the working desk. The interior decorator designer has so much to learn and it's obvious, he never travel around the world like I did, otherwise he will have made the room ''zen'' instead of filling it up with bulking furniture taking the all area inside the room. , designer was not very clever as to understand that people have suitcase and belonging, so by the time you arrive with luggage, there is not much place left to put suitcases and bags because the room is too small and not well designed. having say that, the room was clean everyday of my stay, plenty of clean good laundry smell white towels and abundant free amenities but not of high quality. I am very spoiled because many Boutique Hotels and Western Group Hotels in Asia have better quality bathroom products, such as Body Shop, L'Occidane, or even Bulgari at Hyatt and Four Seasons. The products use at Singapore boutique Hotels are even better and the rates are lower! Rendez give amenities like everyone is a tourist from from China. The House Keeping staff were the best, always friendly and helpful.but the front desk staff was laughable, so impersonal, and behaving like robots when you asked them questions! Two young girls at the front where really nonsense, not interesting at all and giving fake plastic smiles. The Indian Front Desk Manager and Superior was so helpful and the real Hotel deal. You could see he know how to interacting with people and knows how to socialize. Not the rest. My room was without breakfast and when i quarried for the price for breakfast, i was given a ridiculous fee, even I was a guest at the hotel! So better cross the street and go eat at Kopitiam with an array of stall serving food of all Asian regions for a fraction of the price and probably even better traditionally cooked anyway. I had the buffet dinner at Rendez Vous Coffee shop, it was like turning up in a zoo. Full of Chinese family, loud and poorly behaved, zooming in-and-out of the buffet display tables like starving refugees. Taking the best sea food as soon as it was refilled from the Kitchen staff. i never had a chance to eat crabs nor fish or shrimps. The Singapore people have disgusting table manners and eat like pigs. They find enjoyment in surfing mobile phone all the time while eating. If if like to see what is family reunion and dinning manner is all about, perhaps a hotel buffet dinner is not the place to come. The Coffee shop staff were more like 'remover' of all half emptied left over food plates, Instead of offering quality service to its hotel guests. The staff are just p[art timer without experience. I noticed many foreign hotel guest being squeezed between large tables full of local Chinese teenagers behaving like in a school canteen. No manner and no concern to people around them while dinning. The hotel make the place look a cheap cafeteria and the management is not trying to change such attitude, so the tourists have to take the brunt and watch one of the ugly side of Singapore. I visited the coffee shop a few time for coffee and it was much calmer between lunch and dinner, friendly staff and good service. Avoid the place at buffet time, it a zoo and so uncivilized. a few time, I came home late and the Bras Basah street entrance main door was closed 'for security reasons' Excuse me? Why do you close the door of hotel guest wanting to enter from the Bras Basah street area? If you have inept lazy security guards, replace them, but don' call yourself a four star hotel and look doors. You are a four stars hotel, not a an army camp. Anyway, those are the eye-sour of my stay, but room-wise, it was excellent and i will come again to stay at Rendez Vous, should i visit Singapore again..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian W, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear David D,

Thank you very much for choosing Rendezvous Hotel as your preferred hotel during your visit to Singapore. Your feedback is highly valued and we thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience.

We would look into the issues you have mentioned and improve ourselves to provide the best experience for our guests with genuine care and personalized service. Rest assured that it will be inculcated in staff on the utmost importance of customer service where guests have come to expect.

As we are embracing new changes under a new management team, please look forward to exciting new features at Rendezvous Grand Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for a renewed experience.
Warmest regards,

Christian Wolny
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Due to the construction of bencoleen station, the area around the hotel is not a pleasant experience.
The first time I arrived at the hotel, it looks ok for the price of sgd 250 that I paid for.

The room, it is pretty small and compact. It is recommended for those who are not planning to relax at the hotel. The mattres is extremely hard, the hardest bed i have ever slept on. Again totally would recommebd this hotel for those who have back problem.

The bathroom is clean. Unfortunately with the amenities, they did not provide slippers in our hotel.

The airconditioner is extremely cold. Even though we set it to 29 degree celcius. It feels like its 19 degree celcius.

The service of this hotel is probably not the best but then again it is a 4 star hotel, you can not expect o get 5 star treatment. I have asked 3 times in the afternoon for newspaper, in the end i received the newspaper the next morning.

I would recommend this hotel for people staying in singapore for business or travelling with friends.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian W, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear cforchic,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review. We deeply appreciate your feedback and guest satisfaction is always our top priority.

We would look into the issues you had mentioned and improve ourselves to provide the best experience for our guests. The construction site beside the hotel is for the upcoming MRT station which is under the management of Land Transport Authority in Singapore. The hotel management would not be able to interfere with the construction work, but we are working very closely with the local authority to minimize noise pollution. We seek your understanding and we will do everything within our capabilities to bring comfort for our guests.

As we are embracing new changes under a new management team, please look forward to exciting new features at Rendezvous Grand Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for a renewed experience.

Warmest regards,

Christian Wolny
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at The Rendezvous Grand Hotel as a Singapore Stopover on route to NZ. Going out we had room 1017, this was Ok but not as nice as room 615 on the return journey. I would advise asking for the 6th floor. Overall this is a very friendly and welcoming hotel which I would have no hestitation in recommending, it is central for seeing most places and the hop on hop off bus provided 'free' for clients of Singapore Airline stopovers is a 'must use' the info is provided in the pack they give you at ground transport at Singapore Airport (level 3). You can go most places using this bus and I especially recommend a visit to the botanical gardens. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The pool if needed albeit small is very nice. We did attempt to have an evening meal in the restaurant but I cannot recommend the hotel for food, it did not impress us, I would go out, there are many eating places in the vicinity. Tea / coffee in your room, its a good place to stay.

Room Tip: 6th floor (615 is good). Despite on going work (not connected to the hotel and beyond their control...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian W, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Marianne818,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience at Rendezvous Grand Hotel. We deeply appreciate your feedback and guest satisfaction is always our top priority.

Our excellent location at the heart of the city has definitely brought convenience for our guests. Many of the key attractions in Singapore are within walking distance from our hotel. We thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Christian Wolny
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Rendezvous recently on a 3 day business trip. As everyone has already stated, it's main asset is it's perfect location downtown next to all the malls and attractions. Another one is their personnel at the reception and conciergerie, who were courteous and professional.
My room was nice. The pool was nice as was the gym, but that's about it. Nice. Just nice. I can't help but feel that for what it's supposed to be, it was nothing really special. Add to that the restaurant where the breakfast is served, which just seemed like a cafeteria with nothing noteworthy on offer, I walked away thinking that it could be a lot better than what it is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian W, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear ElQuerido,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review. Your feedback is highly valued and we thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience.

We are constantly improving ourselves to provide the best experience for our guests with genuine care and personalized service. We are delighted to hear that our concierge and front office staffs had made your stay with us enjoyable but rest assure that we would continue to work on creating the special guest experience at our hotel.

As we are embracing new changes under a new management team, please look forward to exciting new features at Rendezvous Grand Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for a renewed experience.

Warmest regards,

Christian Wolny
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality

Address: 9 Bras Basah Road, Singapore 189559, Singapore (Formerly Rendezvous Grand Hotel Singapore)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#43 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a restored colonial building located in the heart of Singapore’s Arts District, Rendezvous Hotel Singapore is inspired by its locale’s vibrant energy and character.As an art-inspired hotel, Rendezvous Hotel Singapore brings together stylish elements reminiscent of its heritage to complement modern masterpieces and create a unique aesthetic style. It is a brand that appreciates creativity and is proud to show it.Primed to be a meeting point where art and creative ideas grow, Rendezvous Hotel Singapore aspires to support the arts and culture through collaborations and initiatives with both students and artists from Singapore and around the world. This is Rendezvous Hotel Singapore, placing you at the art of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Far East Hospitality Management Pte Ltd, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Singapore
Singapore Clarion Collection
Clarion Singapore
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore By Far East Hospitality

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.