We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Singapore to your Saves list
InterContinental Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Middle Rd, Singapore 188966, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Have read a lot about this Hotel so on my visit to Singapore this time, I wanted to experience it myself; it surpassed my expectations. The team are probably the best trained team that I have ever experienced. From check in to check out, they made my stay an experience to remember. The rooms were very clean and well presented.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear William C,

Thank you for your review of InterContinental Singapore. I am glad to hear that you had a most memorable stay with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We are proud of the team that we have, who work tirelessly to create the perfect experience for all our guests. Thank you for acknowledging their efforts and we look forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Singapore again in future.

Best regards

Denise Seah
Distribution & Online Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,561
    764
    192
    51
    15
See reviews for
522
833
251
685
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Ok I get it, Singapore is the most expensive place to live according to BBC. It is now more expensive to live in Singapore than Zurich, can you believe that? Wow.

So anyway, where was I? Oh yea, the review. Here it is:

Pros
- Location is superb, bugis lrt is just right under the hotel
- The bugis mall is next to the hotel
- Decent service, it IS a 5 star hotel, so service MUST be decent right?
- The National Library is next the the hotel, I didn't had time to venture but that must be a Pro right?
- The house cleaning folks were nice and friendly, I have a weird habit of chatting with house cleaning folks. You must be nice to those that clean up after you. I believe in this.

Cons
- Beds are so so soft (I like my bed hard, please refer to my other reviews). I have a bad back and I cant sleep well on soft beds.
- For the price, the breakfast is so MEH. I expected more and so much more.
- My room was okay, I dunno for the price I expected more.. It was so MEH /shrugs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear CE123,

Thank you for your review of InterContinental Singapore. I am sorry to hear that your sleep experience was not as ideal as it should have been. Should we have the opportunity to serve you again in future, do let us know of your requirements of firmer bedding ahead of time and we will do the necessary to ensure that your comfort is met. Thank you also for your feedback on our breakfast offering. Please do write us at singapore@interconti.com with any specific feedback you have on your breakfast experience so that we may take steps to improve upon it for the benefit of all our guests. Thank you and we wish you a pleasant week ahead.

Best regards

Denise Seah
Distribution & Online Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is in a great location and easy to get to from the airport by MRT. My wife had stayed at the hotel previously and had really sung it's praises so the expectations were high and we stayed here on a stop off. The hotel was perfect and lived up to expectation. The welcome and service is second to none. The rooms are luxurious, spacious and perfect to relax in the comfy beds and having pillow menu was an extra bonus. The pool and facilities are fantastic, great views from the rooftop pool and the best breakfast we have ever had. The concierge also kindly organised a taxi back to the airport for us. Will definitely stay here again due to its great location when we next visit Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Tim S,

Thank you for your continued support and this review of InterContinental Singapore. I am glad to hear that you and your wife once again enjoyed our hotel's convenient location and general facilities, as well as the service that you received from our staff. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back on your next trip to town and the InterContinental Singapore.

Best regards

Denise Seah
Distribution & Online Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

As other reviewers have said, it's in a good location, the staff are very welcoming and pleasant, the rooms are a good size and we are enjoying an all too short stay in Singapore. Would definitely return to this Intercon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Langalenie,

Thank you for your review of InterContinental Singapore. I am glad to hear that you had a memorable experience with us and enjoyed our rooms as well as the service that we have to offer. We thank you, also, for keeping us in mind as your choice hotel in Singapore and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Denise Seah
Distribution & Online Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend before I had to work in Singapore and then Hong Kong for a week. We found the service exceptional and friendly across all staff. The room was good, very comfortable bed and bathroom . Loved the high power hair dryer. Internet access reliable and fast. Well positioned for exploring. Enjoyed the Olive Tree for the buffet dinner

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear jackirmic,

Thank you for your review of InterContinental Singapore. I am glad to hear that you had a memorable weekend with us and appreciated the friendly service of our staff, your well-appointed room and having reliable internet access. It is also good to know that you enjoyed your dining experience at Olive Tree and that our convenient location allowed you to better explore Singapore's sights. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Singapore in future.

Best regards

Denise Seah
Distribution & Online Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is hands down the best business class stay I've ever had. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left the service was above and beyond. Nothing too much trouble, the staff were always delighted to be of service. I can't quite put my finger on what it is, but it was great and I'd stay again without question. Great shopping next door at Bugis Junction and a brilliant central location. Pool is a little overlooked by taller buildings, but hey, its Singapore!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear bunyip_dreaming,

Thank you for your review of InterContinental Singapore. I am glad to hear that you had an excellent business stay with us and enjoyed our central location as well. It was our pleasure to have been able to ensure that all your needs were met and we look forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Singapore, be it for business or leisure, very soon. Have a wonderful week ahead.

Best regards

Denise Seah
Distribution & Online Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

A hotel I will consider returning to if in Singapore. The location was great, very close to a MRT station giving us access to the city. Lots of cheap shopping close by and plenty of places to eat.
The benefit of a club room was great, it gave us access to the lounge which was a great place to relax with very attentive staff. The room was comfortable and clean with a very powerful shower.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear BrigitteTK,

Thank you for your review of InterContinental Singapore. I am happy to hear that you would consider us your choice hotel to return to on your next trip to Singapore, and that you especially enjoyed our convenient location connected to the Bugis train station as well as the services and attention that you received as a guest of Club InterContinental. We look forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Singapore again soon.

Best regards
Denise Seah
Distribution & Online Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Singapore

Address: 80 Middle Rd, Singapore 188966, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Singapore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#16 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Singapore, the only luxury hotel in Singapore to preserve Peranakan artistry in a shophouse-style setting, is located next to Bugis Junction shopping complex, Singapore's first glass-covered, air-conditioned shopping street. Descendants of the Chinese traders and local Malay women from as early as the 17th century, the Peranakans blend Chinese art and Malay style harmoniously to create a unique architectural look. Set in the heart of historic Bugis and minutes away from Marina Bay, Central Business District and Orchard Road shopping and entertainment district, the hotel is a unique landmark replete with subtle Peranakan undertones, from timeless furnishing with elaborate carvings to rich tapestry and intricate ceramics. With 403 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites with modern amenities blending seamlessly into the décor as well as a variety of award-winning restaurants, bar and lounge, the hotel is a city sanctuary that delivers an authentic and enriching experience combined with world-class facilities and services for all discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Singapore Hotel Singapore
Singapore Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.