We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel at a central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Singapore to your Saves list
InterContinental Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Middle Rd, Singapore 188966, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #13 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent hotel at a central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

A good hotel at a central location. Rooms are a bit dated but does not stand out to be an issue. Covered access to Bugis mall & MRT is a definite plus point. Below is my review of the hotel.

- Overall Rating 7/10 (1 being the worst and 10 being the best)
- Room Type : Deluxe

(+)
• Nice clean rooms.
• Very comfortable beds and sleep quality was very good.
• Covered access to MRT, Bugis mall and hell a lot of restaurants if you prefer to eat out.
• Breakfast quality was good with a lot of options.
• Very nice, polite, helpful and smiling staff.
• Being an IHG Rewards Club member entitles you to free high speed internet access, fruit basket and welcome drink.

(-)
• The Deluxe room was a bit cramped up for space especially since we had a 3 yr old daughter who kept on running around.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms on higher floors for better views an don't forget to quote the IHG rewards club nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear trippomaniac

Thank you for your review of InterContinental Singapore. I am glad to hear that you and your family had a memorable stay with us overall, and especially enjoyed the comfort of your room and our breakfast offering. We wish you a pleasant week ahead hope that you will continue to consider us your hotel of choice on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,400
    679
    176
    47
    13
See reviews for
478
742
230
615
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you are looking for a fine hotel with a great location, look no further than the Intercontinental Hotel. The lobby is a little more traditional than the ultramodern marble and glass properties, but the rooms are very up-to-date and comfortable. The service is absolutely superb. Even my wife could find nothing to fault with the cleanliness. The breakfast is fantastic, but could get crowded, in which case they open up another room nearby with the same buffet. As for location, it has an entrance directly into a major shopping center. A short walk into the shopping center brings you to the “Bugis” station stop of the metro that conveniently transports you to most sections of the city. The walk to the Esplanade Theaters takes ten minutes. This hotel is what you’d expect of a five star hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear JoelNili

Thank you for your review of InterContinental Singapore. I am pleased to hear that you and your wife had a most memorable stay with us and that the service levels of our staff were able to exceed your expectations. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope that you continue to consider us your hotel of choice when you next visit Singapore. We wish you a great week ahead and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Perfect location, perfect hotel. Everything is first class, from the rooms, to the club lounge to the service. Right in the heart of Singapore, close to all that matters. The service is so good, it is easy to relax and unwind. Also, if you need to have a meeting the meeting room in the Club lounge is great for a small group.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Cal L

Thank you for this wonderful review of InterContinental Singapore. It is such a pleasure to hear that we were able to provide you with a most memorable experience as a guest of Club InterContinental. We do hope that you will continue to consider us your hotel of choice when you next visit Singapore. Take care and have a pleasant week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

i booked this hotel via Expedia to avoid having to telephone Singapore to double check that my booking included a roll away bed. My booking was done over the phone with Expedia and the reservation did not detail my exact booking as verbally agreed as well as all the benefits of the wonderful Club rooms in the Intercontinental (breakfast, tea, canapés AND cocktails). So i had to continue to ask for my reservation to be rewritten so i would not be challenged when out there. unfortunately for me it continued to not actually state the inclusion of the roll away bed - so we were charged an extra £250 for the 6 nights when we left. Expedia denied that their booking included this roll away bed - and the booking therefore cost more via them.
it is an excellent hotel if you book a Club Room with exemplary service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear micr0s0ft

Thank you for your review of InterContinental Singapore. I am glad to hear that you had a memorable stay with us as a guest of Club InterContinental despite your earlier encounter while making your reservation. We wish you a pleasant week ahead and look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very convenient location. Near Bugis MRT station and is 5 minutes' walk to Raffles Hotel (and thus Stamford Place). Quite a number of local reastaurants nearby. For people who want to try the local coffee house style, they would find them within eas reach. Despite its central location, this is a rather quiet hotel. My room's furniture and bathroom are a bit outdated. But on the whole, it's quite good. And breakfast is good too.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Bally1966

Thank you for your review of InterContinental Singapore. I am glad to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and especially enjoyed our convenient location and breakfast offering. I do hope that you will keep us in mind as your hotel of choice when you next visit Singapore. We wish you a pleasant week ahead and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great staff willing to help,the restaurant at breakfast was just amazing, the waiting staff were brilliant. The rooms were very clean and comfortable also the pool area spot on. It was next to the Bugis shopping mall and the subway was nearby. 1st. class, i will definitely stay again,thanks a lot.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms were quiet,as for views, you're in a city after all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear dairocket

Thank you for this wonderful review of InterContinental Singapore. I am glad to hear that you had a most memorable experience with us and enjoyed our product offerings and convenient location adjoining Bugis Junction Shopping Mall and the Bugis train station. As a luxury hotel in Singapore, our staff take great pride in being able to provide you with personalised service to make you feel right at home. We thank you for considering us your hotel of choice and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Singapore. Have a pleasant week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

As a member of the Ambassador Club, I get looked after pretty well at Intercon Hotels, but some better than others. It was my first time at this location and I was very impressed. I had a rate without breakfast, but they added it to my stay for both nights complimentary and included laundry and drinks at the bar, fruit in the room, etc'. All little things that made it a really good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear AndySilverfox7

Thank you for your support as an InterContinental Ambassador and for your review of InterContinental Singapore. I am glad that you had a memorable first stay with us and I hope that it is just the first of many. We wish you a pleasant week ahead and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Singapore

Address: 80 Middle Rd, Singapore 188966, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Singapore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#13 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Singapore, the only luxury hotel in Singapore to preserve Peranakan artistry in a shophouse-style setting, is located next to Bugis Junction shopping complex, Singapore's first glass-covered, air-conditioned shopping street. Descendants of the Chinese traders and local Malay women from as early as the 17th century, the Peranakans blend Chinese art and Malay style harmoniously to create a unique architectural look. Set in the heart of historic Bugis and minutes away from Marina Bay, Central Business District and Orchard Road shopping and entertainment district, the hotel is a unique landmark replete with subtle Peranakan undertones, from timeless furnishing with elaborate carvings to rich tapestry and intricate ceramics. With 403 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites with modern amenities blending seamlessly into the décor as well as a variety of award-winning restaurants, bar and lounge, the hotel is a city sanctuary that delivers an authentic and enriching experience combined with world-class facilities and services for all discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Singapore Hotel Singapore
Singapore Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.