We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service at a hotel I have ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Singapore

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Middle Rd, Singapore 188966, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off Room Rates!
Ranked #13 of 290 hotels in Singapore
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best service at a hotel I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was here on a business trip for a week. The hotel is amazing. It is very clean, the rooms are luxurious with very comfortable beds, nice sized bathrooms, great views, amazing food - frankly it is worth every penny and then some.

The hotel staff is ready to serve, the concierge is beyond amazing, and the hotel is situated right next to a mall and very close to the train. I will only stay at this establishment in the future.

Room Tip: Pay for the breakfast ahead of time, and enjoy every bite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Amanda B

It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in being a 5-star, luxury hotel in Singapore and your comfort is of the utmost importance to us. We will be looking forward to welcoming your back to the InterContinental Singapore. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,177
    564
    147
    42
    13
See reviews for
366
634
202
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Of course you don't expect any surprises from chained hotel like this. The decoration is classic colonial / Nanyang style. Room is spacious and service is very good. Location was a bit far away from the main attractions in the city centre but nevertheless well connected with MRT station - when arriving, simply exit MRT and walk through the shopping centre.

Room Tip: when arriving, simply exit MRT and walk through the shopping centre, rather than through the hot hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear EvertonianSunny

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with your room and the service of our staff. We look forward to you visiting Singapore and staying us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in early september. Our room was incredibly quiet and comfortable with a great bathroom. Good internet and fast. We used the gym which is well equipped and the pool only had the 2 of us in it on the afternoon we swam. Great location with easy walking to many of the local attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear AndyFuller

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to make full use of the amenities that InterContinental Singapore has to offer. There's lots to see and do and our convenient location offers you the option of either walking to arts institutions situated nearby, or taking a short ride to Orchard Road, the Marina Bay area and many other attractions by way of the connecting Bugis train station. We hope that you will be planning a return trip to Singapore, and when you do, keep us in mind as your hotel of choice. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I am a frequent user of Intercontinental Hotels. This one is not so good. In fact the worst. Perhaps Asian standards are slipping. The rooms are old as well. Service in restaurant was OK.
The front-desk is exceptionally rude and slow.

Room Tip: Try and get upgrade but not easy even if hotel half-empty and even for Platinum/ Ambassador frequent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear CH6666,

Thank you for the review of your most recent stay. I was sorry to read that your visit was not up to your expectations and that we have failed to deliver on the usual high standards InterContinental Singapore pride itself with. I encourage you to contact me at singapore@intercontinental.com and share the specific details of your experience as we continue to strive for excellence.

Sincerely,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongguan, China
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Decent enough location (away from most of the hubbub), neatly stylish without going OTT on the decor, fairly priced, excellent facilities and service. All in all I would stay here again - certainly in preference to the entirely unsatisfactory rabble of other tarted-up boarding houses such as the Amara, the Copthorne or the Innotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear LanPing

I am glad to hear that you have had a pleasant experience with us here at InterContinental Singapore, and would consider us a choice accommodation for your next visit to Singapore. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment then. Have a great week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

In the 10 or more years that I’ve been traveling to Singapore two or three times a year, I’ve stayed in many of its fine hotels, but about four years ago, I was so delighted with the InterContinental, that I now automatically select it as my destination hotel. This was my second visit this year. Since I’ve posted many reviews detailing all the things I like about the InterContinental, I just want to mention something I was especially struck with again this trip: the employees, mostly young, are not only competent and eager to please, as well as being very friendly, but they actually seem to enjoy assisting and serving the guests. That’s something that’s not so easy to find in today’s travel world.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalSin, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Bangkokexpat

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when you visit Singapore. I am glad that our service standards have met your expectations and I trust that our Shophouse rooms are to your liking as well. We look forward to your next visit with us and hope that it will be even more enjoyable than the last. Have a great week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked this hotel as a mystery deal on expedia.com. The rate was $AUD216 for one night in August 2013. We were coming back to Australia from Thailand, via Singapore, thought this hotel would be nice for the last night of our fabulous Thailand holiday. WRONG. Should have realised when I called from Bangkok to advise them we would be checking in very late, close to midnight because of a late flight. I had to call 4 times, because each time the front desk would not answer the phone. The switchboard operator was less than friendly with each call.
We arrived after midnight as the flight was late. We asked for a late checkout the next day as our flight to Australia was not leaving until 10.30pm. We were told we could only get a late check out if we paid a half day. We agreed, thinking half of $216 is $108 so we would do that so we could have the room until 6pm. The clerk did not quote the rate. Off we went to our below average room for a 5 star hotel. What a joke. The room was tired and small. Just scraping 4 star. View of a shopping mall. Not very nice. At least the bed was comfortable and the shower stayed hot. Glad we were not thirsty, a soft drink from the mini bar was $SGD8.00!! Rip off!!!
Fast forward to check out at 5.45pm next day - clerk prints an invoice and charges us $SGD235 for the extra 6 hours in the room!! MORE THAN OUR ROOM RATE. When questioned we are told the rack rate is $400 so we are charged half that plus taxes. WHAT A RIP OFF. No one said we would have to pay rack rate at check in. No amount of discussion would change this rude woman's mind, she would not call the manager either. We left absolutely horrified that we had stayed in this basic hotel for less than 24 hours and been ripped off for $451.
Once back in Australia, I contacted Intercontinental and expressed my dissatisfaction with this situation. A very nice person from the UK replied as follows: "Thank you for contacting us about your stay at the InterContinental Singapore. I apologize that you were overcharged for your stay. I can understand how inconvenient this would be. Since billing is handled directly at the hotel, I have forwarded this request to management. They will be in touch with you within 48 hours.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and do hope your next stay will live up to the standards you have come to expect when staying at one of our properties."
This led me to believe they understood the mistake and would issue a credit - I mean, she said I was overcharged! NOT SO. Please read the response I then received from the arrogant manager, Jana Kwasnik in Singapore:
"Thank you very much for choosing to stay at InterContinental Singapore during your recent visit.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I very much apologize for our team members who were not able to communicate with you clearly in regards to the late check out policy. As much as we value our guest, we do not double sell the rooms if we have late arrivals or early arrivals in case there maybe a change in our guests' plans.
Therefore, we offer a Half Day charge for late check outs till 6 pm and a Full Day charge anytime after 6 pm based on the rate we have available on the day itself. The rate you were offered by Expedia was a special promotional rate at the time you booked.
Nevertheless, I believe your frustration and dissatisfaction came across due to the miscommunication by our staff not about the rate. We sincerely apologize and hope to welcome you back in the near future. It would be a pleasure to personally look after your reservation.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance."
WHAT A LOAD OF RUBBISH.
So be warned fellow travellers, get quotes for late check outs in writing. Don't book using external web sites like expedia - the clerk on check out asked if we had booked with a third party web site and when we said yes, the tone changed, we were treated like aliens. AND don't ever stay at the Intercontinental Singapore unless you have money to burn and enjoy being ripped off and spoken to rudely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Julie B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent visit. I am sorry to hear that your experience at the hotel was below expectations and I understand that you are in contact with our Global Guest Relations team as well as our colleagues at the hotel level with regards to your concern. Once again we apologize for the frustration this has caused as hotel pricing is fluctuating daily.

Kind regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Singapore

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Singapore Hotel
Intercontinental Singapore Hotel Singapore
Singapore Intercontinental
InterContinental Singapore
Address: 80 Middle Rd, Singapore 188966, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Singapore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#13 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#13 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#16 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Singapore 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Singapore, the only luxury hotel in Singapore to preserve Peranakan artistry in a shophouse-style setting, is located next to Bugis Junction shopping complex, Singapore's first glass-covered, air-conditioned shopping street. Descendants of the Chinese traders and local Malay women from as early as the 17th century, the Peranakans blend Chinese art and Malay style harmoniously to create a unique architectural look. Set in the heart of historic Bugis and minutes away from Marina Bay, Central Business District and Orchard Road shopping and entertainment district, the hotel is a unique landmark replete with subtle Peranakan undertones, from timeless furnishing with elaborate carvings to rich tapestry and intricate ceramics. With 403 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites with modern amenities blending seamlessly into the décor as well as a variety of award-winning restaurants, bar and lounge, the hotel is a city sanctuary that delivers an authentic and enriching experience combined with world-class facilities and services for all discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.