We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Singapore to your Saves list
InterContinental Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Middle Rd, Singapore 188966, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I don't often stay in expensive hotels but decided to treat myself for 3 nights in Nov 2012 and this was perfect. Roomy, clean, with the most comfortable beds and pillows ever. Great deep bath for relaxing, friendly efficient service, and in an ideal location for all of Singapore's central sights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear jazzybabe666,

Thank you for your comments following your stay last month.

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms as well as the convenient location of the hotel.

Kind regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    691
    177
    49
    13
See reviews for
483
754
233
627
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I enjoy staying at the Intercontinental Singapore. I travel here for business and often need a place to work from as well. The rooms are a little older but have been well maintained. The business lounge is well decorated and has a meeting room which you can use. The lobby lounge is expansive and well decorated. From the hotel you can walk undercover to the MRT and then take that straight into Raffles Place. There's a Sakae Sushi behind the hotel for a snack and plenty of shopping within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms nearer to the front of the hotel and not in the older section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear twillenberg,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit.

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed the various areas of our hotel, including the rooms, the Lobby Lounge and our Club Lounge. As you've mentioned, the hotel is also connected to Bugis MRT making it a short commute to most key location in the city.

Once again thank you for your input.

Regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here for one night and it was exactly what I expected. Room was really nice and comfortable. Easy check in, very polite at the desk and provided all the information needed.
When entering the room i was really surprised by how spacious it was. Its rare these days you would get a room like this. Same with the bathroom. That was huge as well.
It was nice and quiet around which meant I got a great nights sleep.

Check out was simple as well, only took a couple of seconds. I didn't have time to check out breakfast.
It was nice and close the office also which meant I could just walk there.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear JNK883,

Thank you for the comments following your recent visit. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed our location as well as the spacious room.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had one night in this lovely hotel. As an Ambassador member I was upgraded to a suite which was fabulous, clean and very well equipped. It is a very classy hotel, the staff are very welcoming and friendly. It is well located in the centre of Singapore. The bar areas, pool and other areas are lovely and very comfortable. Difficult to find any fault with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear TonyW1961,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay, as well as your continued loyalty as Ambassador member.

I was very peased with your comments about the hotel, our facilities and our team that made your stay so memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed recently for 5 nights, following a stay a few months ago. We paid more and stayed in a Shophouse room with access to the Club Lounge - well worth doing. The room was large and beautifully furnished in an Art Deco/Peranakan style. We had free wireless access in the room. The Club Lounge is beautifully furnished - they do complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails. The service there was excellent, with very nice touches: they had heard that my husband had been cleared of cancer and so surprised us with a plate of chocolates, with 'congratulations' piped in chocolate on it - then on our last night, the manager of the lounge left a lovely handwritten note in our room with a small gift. Outstanding customer service.

The afternoon tea in the lobby is lovely but expensive - our only gripe. But highly recommend this hotel. It is located at Bugis Junction so lots of small eateries nearby, as is the MRT (trains are cheap and easy to use), close to Raffles Hotel, Chijmes, the Singapore Art Museum and the National Library.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the shophouse club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sandy H,

Thank you for your comments following your most recent visit.

I was very proud to read that our team in the Club Lounge provided you with outstanding and personalized service. I will be sure to acknowledge Jana (Club InterContinental Manager) and her team accordingly.

Thank you again for your valuable input.

Regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I always stay here since 2003 whenever we are in Singapore. For me, i love the location, within walking distance to chijms, raffles hotel, raffles city shopping mall, and the Sing museum. My husband and my daugter love the swimming pool. It is not too big but, enough. The rooms are spacious. I found the shophouse rooms are beautiful but my husband found them a bit noisy as they are facing shopping mall. For me, no probs at all. Breakfast was okay, i could not find the waffle, my daughter was a bit dissapointed but she was happy with the pancake!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Volksands,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent stay, and for your ongoing loyalty.

I am glad to know that you enjoy our central location, as well as our rooms and facilities. We have Shophouse Rooms that are not facing the mall, so hopefully we can make you and your husband happy for your next visit. Also, do not hesitate to inquire about freshly made waffles for your next visit and one of our team member will be pleased to assist.

Kind regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at the InterContinental Singapore twice in the past two months. It's a hotel that is reliable for its comfort and cleanliness. It's location next to Bugis Junction is ideal and convenient. The only downside was the supposedly free internet (in specific public areas) for Priority Club members. It may have been free but it was also non-existent, the connection was so poor that it amounted to a false offer. I raised the matter with the front desk, they seemed to know about the problem and in the end complaining about it seemed more trouble than it was worth. If the hotel fixes this, it would merit an Excellent rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Tryitoutnow,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visits.

I am pleased to read that we're meeting your expectations in terms of service and comfort. You will be pleased to know that following feedback from travelers like you, we are now offering complimentary WiFi in our guestrooms as well. Basic Wifi is available for free, while a higher bandwidth to download high resolution content and videos is offered at a charge.

I trust this above will make your next stay even more memorable.

Kind regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Singapore

Address: 80 Middle Rd, Singapore 188966, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Singapore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#12 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Singapore, the only luxury hotel in Singapore to preserve Peranakan artistry in a shophouse-style setting, is located next to Bugis Junction shopping complex, Singapore's first glass-covered, air-conditioned shopping street. Descendants of the Chinese traders and local Malay women from as early as the 17th century, the Peranakans blend Chinese art and Malay style harmoniously to create a unique architectural look. Set in the heart of historic Bugis and minutes away from Marina Bay, Central Business District and Orchard Road shopping and entertainment district, the hotel is a unique landmark replete with subtle Peranakan undertones, from timeless furnishing with elaborate carvings to rich tapestry and intricate ceramics. With 403 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites with modern amenities blending seamlessly into the décor as well as a variety of award-winning restaurants, bar and lounge, the hotel is a city sanctuary that delivers an authentic and enriching experience combined with world-class facilities and services for all discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Singapore Hotel Singapore
Singapore Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.