We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one-nighter in Singapore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Singapore to your Saves list
InterContinental Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Middle Rd, Singapore 188966, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #13 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great one-nighter in Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Comfortable, spacious and elegant room. The service came with a smile. We had room service which was good and the buffet breakfast was excellent. The location is great, walking distance to Bugis Junction and a short taxi ride to the portside boardwalk. While it was one of the most expensive hotels I've ever stayed in, it is also one of the most beautifully presented. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear internetbt,

Thank you for your comments following your stay last month.

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, as well as the facilities and service offered.

While Singapore in general isn't the most affordable destination, from the 14th of November, you will be able to book any InterContinental Hotels & Resorts in South East Asia at up to 30pct discount.

We look forward to welcoming again very soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    664
    172
    47
    13
See reviews for
471
726
228
594
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The InterContinental in Singapore is seemingly overlooked in favour of the "famous names" but undeservedly so in my view.
The service and anticipation of one's needs (without thinking of them in advance) by all staff is exceptional and rarer these days than a decade ago. But here it is exemplary.
The old style part of the hotel is elegantly designed and immaculately kept. It was a pleasure just to be in such surroundings and the Club Lounge is excellent albeit that at lunch time provisions are rudimentary but maybe this is for a reason.
The "Shophouse" wing has been recently refurbished and is worth the experience of selecting a room here (see some room choice notes, separately). Rooms feel spacious, with high ceilings, and are well equipped albeit with a slight technical blip on getting my iPod to work which was fixed within minutes of a phone call.
The hotel is set amongst the bustle of the shopping malls, shops, restaurants and hawker food stalls of Bugis providing an easy vista on, and blending-in to, local Singapore life; a step-out from the back entrance of the hotel immediately into an air-conditioned mall! In my view this ambience beats the "tourist trap" ambience of Orchard Road or Clarke Quay and the Singapore River or the business district. A meal at the local Bugis Hawker food court for $S3.50 is probably as delectable an experience as a $S60.00 meal in a local mid-market restaurant and certainly better than tourist-trap eateries.
The area is full of culture - museums, sights, colonial architecture etc. - giving ample scope to be fully occupied for several days and within a 10 minute taxi or MRT ride to other parts of the city.
In a word: Ideal!

Room Tip: The refurbished "Shophouse" wing rooms are worth the additional request and cost. On the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sogoesit,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to read your comments about our newly renovation Shophouse rooms. We have indeed put a lot of thoughts and efforts to maintain the authenticity of the building, while offering all the amenities and services you expect.

I was also happy to see that you made the most of our location, perhaps our Concierge team can help you discover some of the other hidden treasures nearby, such as Haji Lane and Kandahar Street near the Sultan Mosque.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for three nights on the club level. Hotel is in a very convenient location next to a busy mall but is able to maintain a very calm and relaxing atmosphere. The concierge, I think it was Mr Peter Kan, and all staff in the club lounge were outstanding. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Lantau007,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent visit.

I was pleased to read that our facilities and services impressed you. I was very proud to read your mention about Peter Khan. As one of our most loyal and senior team member, Peter is an icon and true reflection of the level of service we pride ourselves with. I've passed on your commendations already to him.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very elegant lobby with white marble everywhere and grand restaurant. Greeted warmly by porter at entrance who opened taxi doors and assisted with luggage. Check in agent was friendly and unlike other IC properties recognized our PC Platinum status even on an award stay and upgraded us to a Jr Suite which was a nice treat. Internet not offered in room but free on 1st and 2nd floors, also offered BOGO drink at bar and dinner in restaurant though we didn't partake. Location is great connected to Bugis mall and MRT station for easy connections to airport or city sites.

Decorations in room are elegant but understated, we found it nice to not be so over the top gaudy like a Las Vegas room. Mentioned at check-in this trip was for our anniversary and we were sent a nice tray of treats along with fruit and water which was so thoughtful.

Rates for this property are generally high and having had a great experience also at the HI Orchard City Centre would consider his hotel again along with the aforementioned HI.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear JefflSU,

Thank you for the feedback about your most recent stay and for chosing InterContinental Singapore to celebrate your anniversary.

We do take great pride in recognizing our most valuable Priority Club members and therefore, I was pleased to learn you were impressed with the additional benefits we provided you with.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

From the greet at the gate straight off the aircraft to the smooth and efficient transfer thru to our air con limo was a wonderful firsthand impression of our stay

Being a club member has its advantages

The decor is fabulous...colonial, light airy with stunning floral displays, the lounge with the vaulted pattern ceiling with chandeliers is elegant and yet not too formal but a relaxing spot for high tea or a cold drink....

Buffet breakfast was varied and constantly refreshed, such variety. One of the best experienced.

We stayed in a club king room which was was spacious, bathroom massive with one of the best showers. Pressure good and didn't flood the floor!!

Club Lounge and staff were great.

Staff are excellent. An example - took our 2 yo to Lounge for a drink... The staff couldn't be more helpful and he was the centre of attention. In fact he even joined the piano player for a tune...

The concierge was very knowledgeable And helpful.

While there the 3 of us were struck down be a virus and spent 24 hours in bed. The Duty Manager couldn't have been more helpful in assisting us. Comforting when you're sick with a 2 year old away from home.

Very much a five star experience at all times.....highly recommended.

Room Tip: Limo from airport is not cheap but when you get off a long flight and there's someone waiting fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear mobogo,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you appreciated our Club Lounge, despite being down with some illness. I'm very proud to learn that our team went above and beyond your expectations to deliver a memorable stay.

Best regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

As you would expect fromIntercontinental, the rooms are very comfortable, the staff are very helpful and facilities are lovely. I particularly like the pillow menu so that I can get a pillow that I like (it really does make a difference). My only complaint is the charge for in room wifi. I am a Priority Club member so I get free wifi in the lobby but when I want to check my emails after dinner, it is a pain having to come done to the lobby or be charged a userous rate for wifi in my room. Your room rates should more than cover this convenience as there are many lesser hotels that manage to build this in. It is a pity to have to complain about this as everything else was wonderful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear larabe6,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. I sincerely appreciate your comments and will take your suggestions about Internet into consideration as we aim to constantly improve our offering.

Kind regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saudi arabia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I highly recommend Intercontinental Hotel Singapore. The attention to details to the service I get there is unmatched. A great welcome with escort to elevator after check-in, during the walk to the elevator I get a brief introduction to what I am offered during the stay.

Hotel’s swimming pool and Gym are great with very good equipment and welcoming staff and trainers. Although I noticed it’s a bit busy in many times during the day as it’s operated by a third party company and allows non-hotel resident patrons. No in-house SPA.

Rooms are simply decorated, great class though, allowing for maximum space in any room type. Bathroom is always nice in many room types I enjoyed before. Rooms are equipped with nice electronics, Wifi signal is strong and at good speed. You can hook more than one device under one user (some Singapore hotels charge internet use per day per device!)

Breakfast buffet was fresh with great selection. Your room doesn’t include Breakfast? Nothing to worry about, the hotel is linked to a mall (that is linked to bugis subway station) with superb food options that suites any budget. In this hotel you are minutes away walk from Bugis street market, the biggest street market in Singapore, where you can find some bargains. If the weather is nice, you can walk for about 10-15 minutes to Arab Street, a great area to know Arab’s history in Singapore, a major part that creates, with other cultures, Singapore’s amazing multi-cultural present.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Belanger, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear suntop80,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit.

I was please to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, from our central location to the facilities and the comfort of your room.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Regards,

Michael Belanger
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Singapore

Address: 80 Middle Rd, Singapore 188966, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Singapore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#13 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#20 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Singapore, the only luxury hotel in Singapore to preserve Peranakan artistry in a shophouse-style setting, is located next to Bugis Junction shopping complex, Singapore's first glass-covered, air-conditioned shopping street. Descendants of the Chinese traders and local Malay women from as early as the 17th century, the Peranakans blend Chinese art and Malay style harmoniously to create a unique architectural look. Set in the heart of historic Bugis and minutes away from Marina Bay, Central Business District and Orchard Road shopping and entertainment district, the hotel is a unique landmark replete with subtle Peranakan undertones, from timeless furnishing with elaborate carvings to rich tapestry and intricate ceramics. With 403 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites with modern amenities blending seamlessly into the décor as well as a variety of award-winning restaurants, bar and lounge, the hotel is a city sanctuary that delivers an authentic and enriching experience combined with world-class facilities and services for all discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Singapore Hotel Singapore
Singapore Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.