We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, well located, lots of charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Singapore to your Saves list
InterContinental Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Middle Rd, Singapore 188966, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent service, well located, lots of charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel after having spent a week in a hospital in Singapore due to an accident. It was a fantastic stay. The rooms were really nice. The parquet wooden floors and decoration gave the room a lot of charm. Definitely a great idea of getting rid of the usual carpet floor in hotel rooms. The service was great, anywhere you went in the hotel. My arm was in a cast and the hotel staff went out of their way to help me. The buffet/Italian restaurant was pretty good. Have not tried the other ones. Finally, the location is quite convenient. Adjacent to a new shopping centre, walking distance from the Marina and a short (cheap) cab drive away from Orchard Road. Definitely going back there on my next trip to Singapore.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Shophouse rooms which have recently been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGManagement, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us at TripAdvisor and share your experience with other travelers. We sincerely do apologise for the response delays. We are monitoring all the TripAdvisor reviews very closely in order to ensure that we could deliver better service and hospitality to meet our guests needs and desires.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully,
Matthew Lim
Director of Guest Experience and Operational Excellence
matthew.lim@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,420
    690
    177
    48
    13
See reviews for
482
750
232
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East of England
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed 6 nights as part of a combined business and leisure trip. We had two different reservations that were properly reconciled when checking-in. The Hotel has a very central location within walking distance of restaurants and museums, and in addition porters are efficient at getting taxis if you need to travel further. The Business King rooms are reasonably spacious and well furbished, in a rather traditional style, with marble bathrooms and separate shower booth. This booking offer includes wireless internet (multiple devices), two pieces of dry cleaning per day (non-cumulative) and breakfast. In addition our week-end booking included late check-out at 4pm, convenient for the evening flights back from Singapore. All this has been thoroughly explained at check-in, which was friendly and efficient. The hotel boasts a swimming pool with sundeck, and has a well-equipped fitness room with both treadmills and weight machines. Large choice of breakfast (local, English, continental) with good dimsums and plenty of fresh fruit (including juice and smoothies). Check-out was equally efficient. The only minor problem had to do with charging a deposit from the debit card used for booking, which failed despite the card being perfectly valid: after a couple of e-mail exchanges the Hotel agreed to charge the deposit at check-in (which in reality was a simple authorisation). I've seen this problem in another Hotel in Singapore, so it may have nothing to do with the Intercontinental.
Overall, great value and service: highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGManagement, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us at TripAdvisor and share your experience with other travelers. We sincerely do apologise for the response delays. We are monitoring all the TripAdvisor reviews very closely in order to ensure that we could deliver better service and hospitality to meet our guests needs and desires.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully,
Matthew Lim
Director of Guest Experience and Operational Excellence
matthew.lim@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This review is well overdue - I have stayed at the intercontinental in Singapore over 12 times in the last few years and on every visit, the quality of service, the attitude of the staff, the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms and the general ambience and luxury of the hotel itself is second to none.
The shophouse rooms and premier rooms are highly recommended and paying extra for access to the club lounge and the superb service therein, is also worth its weight in gold. I dont normally call out staff for special praise but Matthew and Anne in the club lounge are an absolute credit to the hotel and always a pleasure to see.
This review may sound a little 'gushing' and generally I do tend to be fairly candid and frank but when a hotel is exceptional it deserves to be praised - this hotel and its staff are exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGManagement, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us at TripAdvisor and share your experience with other travelers. We sincerely do apologise for the response delays. We are monitoring all the TripAdvisor reviews very closely in order to ensure that we could deliver better service and hospitality to meet our guests needs and desires.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully,
Matthew Lim
Director of Guest Experience and Operational Excellence
matthew.lim@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed a night on way to Sydney from London. What a great spot to stop. We caught the MRT from airport direct to hotel... SGD2 per person! Checked in at 9 am and they were kind enough to let us access our room immediately. The club lounge topped off the experience... The staff cant do enough for you and the food is amazing! Breakfast the next morning was also amazing. Will stay again next time and have told others to do the same.

Room Tip: Choose a club lounge room... Absolutely worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGManagement, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us at TripAdvisor and share your experience with other travelers. We sincerely do apologise for the response delays. We are monitoring all the TripAdvisor reviews very closely in order to ensure that we could deliver better service and hospitality to meet our guests needs and desires.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully,
Matthew Lim
Director of Guest Experience and Operational Excellence
matthew.lim@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china spring, tx
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

i stayed for 4 days and had a great time. nice comfortable beds. staff is very helpful and security keeps unwanted visitors out. nice bar and great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGManagement, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us at TripAdvisor and share your experience with other travelers. We sincerely do apologise for the response delays. We are monitoring all the TripAdvisor reviews very closely in order to ensure that we could deliver better service and hospitality to meet our guests needs and desires.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully,
Matthew Lim
Director of Guest Experience and Operational Excellence
matthew.lim@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

InterContinental located in the heart of the city, excellent place to meet up with friends and families to dine in at the Chinese Restaurant Man Fu Yuan which the food is of good value and quality, service staff are polite and friendly, going extra miles service to assist elderly customers. BBQ suckling pig, Peking duck a must to try, dim sum though not much variety, quality are good and tasty, value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGManagement, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us at TripAdvisor and share your experience with other travelers. We sincerely do apologise for the response delays. We are monitoring all the TripAdvisor reviews very closely in order to ensure that we could deliver better service and hospitality to meet our guests needs and desires.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully,
Matthew Lim
Director of Guest Experience and Operational Excellence
matthew.lim@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Intercon is a great location ... good WIFI, shopping, coffee places etc. biz centre is good. food i had a little tuff time and there were very limited veg hindu options in maincourse...over all good place to be on biz tour...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGManagement, Manager at InterContinental Singapore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us at TripAdvisor and share your experience with other travelers. We sincerely do apologise for the response delays. We are monitoring all the TripAdvisor reviews very closely in order to ensure that we could deliver better service and hospitality to meet our guests needs and desires.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully,
Matthew Lim
Director of Guest Experience and Operational Excellence
matthew.lim@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Singapore

Address: 80 Middle Rd, Singapore 188966, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Singapore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#12 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Singapore, the only luxury hotel in Singapore to preserve Peranakan artistry in a shophouse-style setting, is located next to Bugis Junction shopping complex, Singapore's first glass-covered, air-conditioned shopping street. Descendants of the Chinese traders and local Malay women from as early as the 17th century, the Peranakans blend Chinese art and Malay style harmoniously to create a unique architectural look. Set in the heart of historic Bugis and minutes away from Marina Bay, Central Business District and Orchard Road shopping and entertainment district, the hotel is a unique landmark replete with subtle Peranakan undertones, from timeless furnishing with elaborate carvings to rich tapestry and intricate ceramics. With 403 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites with modern amenities blending seamlessly into the décor as well as a variety of award-winning restaurants, bar and lounge, the hotel is a city sanctuary that delivers an authentic and enriching experience combined with world-class facilities and services for all discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Singapore Hotel Singapore
Singapore Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.