We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mean staff. Not friendly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Absolute Thai

Absolute Thai
313 Orchard Road | Inside 313@Somerset Shopping Centre, Singapore, Singapore
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,475 of 7,410 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mean staff. Not friendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch during short stay in Singapore. Staff is not friendly and took 30 min to take order even though it were not busy. Try some other restaurant. Food was ok ok only.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Absolute Rubbish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have seen this place many times and as our first choice lunch venue had quietly shut down, we fancied "Asian" and decided to give it a try.

I should mention at the outset that having lived in Bangkok for three years, we know what Thai food should be like. This is nothing like Thai food, and if I took a Thai there he would be insulted to this poor excuse for his national cuisine.

Thai food is a balanced assault on your tongue: sweet, salt, sour and spicy. Every dish we had was bland, bland, bland and bland. Even the steamed rice was hopeless and tasteless.

The only good thing I can say is that it was mercifully quick and cheap.

Never again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great Location...and That's It!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I finally got a chance to try out this tiny restaurant situated at a very strategic location within 313 Somerset. The ambience is lovely with loads of opportunities for people-watching, and there were a variety of seats and tables to choose from. The fried rice with chicken pieces was a tad oily, and could do a slight draining of the oil. The dish I ordered took a while to arrive from the kitchen, so one wishes the servers would come over and tell me. Overall, slightly above average, both in food quality and service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Expensive but not super”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Vermicelli salad was too sour so it was not good. Mango salad was good. Black pepper beef was not good. Asparagus with shrimp was ok not special.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubrique, Spain
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Thai food on Orchard Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Tom Yam soup was hot and the Green Curry and Duck Noodle Soup were both fine and not expensive. A small bottle of beer will set you back more than a fiver! The free iced water is topped up as often as you want it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absolute Thai also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Absolute Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absolute Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.