We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inattentive staff, average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jumbo Seafood Riverside

Jumbo Seafood Riverside
30 Merchant Road #01-01/02 Riverside Point | #01-01/02, Singapore 058282, Singapore
+65 6532 3435
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #478 of 7,254 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Inattentive staff, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

There's always a queue, so be prepared to wait. We wanted to have chili crab, frankly there are a lot of places but Boat Quay tends to be more touristy than this. The staff came to take our order way past 20 mins of us being seated. The crab was good, slightly less sweet than other places- which is good. But try the black pepper crab which is better. The staff forgot to serve us the steamed buns, which we could see we're lying on the counter for 10 mins. They served it cold, and when we said they've been lying there for a long time, they said ' well it's here now'. !! Really terrible service. The food at Jumbo is generally good, the prawns and squid and other seafood items are worth a try. But there are many Jumbo's in Singapore, try not to go to this one at Riverside Clarke Quay. You'll have a better experience elsewhere. (No Signboard Restaurant has just opened in Central close by to this Jumbo- it's much better).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    189
    87
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Chilli crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great atmosphere. Chilli crab a must albeit a seasonal price paid per kilo weight - we seem to think it was 56$ per kilo & each crab was a kilo !. Side orders of sweet buns ( small ) or rice a good idea but it all depends on how hungry you are ....
Must book & don't be too late as after 9.00pm they sztart to clear the tables away !!!!!.
Good luck

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good but a bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had a girls' night-out on Thursday. One of my friends booked a table for six a few days in advance but when we arrived, we realized the staff had mixed up our reservation. Luckily my friend had taken note of the reservation ref number so we managed to get a table by the river.

The restaurant was very busy on a week night but the staff taking order and serving were friendly and helpful. However some of the staff appeared to be from PRC and conversed in Mandarin which we could understand but may pose a problem for non-Chinese speaking guests as their command of English was not very good.

We ordered chilli crab which was served in a pan with lots of gravy, not too spicy nor sweet with steamed and fried man-tou (buns) to mop up the gravy. However both crabs were too big at around 1.1kg to 1.2kg each so the crab dish itself cost nearly S$130 excluding ++. At $56 per kg, this was considered very expensive. When my friends wanted 2 crabs, we didn't realize that we would be given crabs that would weigh over a kg each. Well we know better, in future just order 1 crab should be enough as we had 6 other dishes. Alternatively ask for smaller crabs. I enjoyed the boiled live prawns as we could taste the freshness of the prawns. This dish came with a dip of chilli and soya sauce. Other dishes we ordered were baby kailan fried in garlic (simple and tasty), deep fried baby squid, fried youtiao (fritters in cuttle fish paste) fried just right and not soggy, venison with spring onions and fried mee goreng which was a bit too sweet. The total bill came to around S$300 including peanuts, 2 bowls of rice, tea, towels, service charge and taxes. It was a bit on the high side because of the crabs and prawns.

The Riverside branch of Jumbo is centrally located near Clarke Quay MRT station and The Central shopping mall. Do ask for a table by the river to dine alfresco style. The view along the river is lovely at night. There are pubs and drinking places across the river at Clarke Quay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“The place for Chili Crab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Chili crab is a must if you visit Singapore and Jumbo sea food is the place to eat it. . We went to the one by Riverside Point. It's conveniently located downtown, but the East Coast one has a nicer atmosphere. Remember to book in advance... Order the fried buns to dip in the sauce. Baby Kailan is also nice. If you are more than two, add a Pepper Crab.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food. A little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were told we had to try Jumbo Seafood when we were in Singapore so we took a taxi one night and went to Riverside Point (opposite Clarke Quay). We hadn't booked so was very lucky to be able to get a table (for 8 people). The chilli crab was really good - had a good kick to it. Definitely order the fried buns to soak up the remaining chilli crab sauce. You should also try the fried baby squid. The meat was good - if we were to go back to the restaurant again (next trip to Singapore), I probably would not order meat again (or I should say I would order less because the lamb cutlets were very expensive). Overall we were glad we tried Jumbo. The staff were attentive and made the experience very enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumbo Seafood Riverside also viewed

 

Been to Jumbo Seafood Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumbo Seafood Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.