We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant in park setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alkaff Mansion Ristorante

Alkaff Mansion Ristorante
10 Telok Blangah Green, Singapore 109178, Singapore
6510 3068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 7,382 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza & Pasta, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Characterised by its colonial architecture since 1918, Alkaff Mansion sits atop Telok Blangah Hill surrounded by lush greeneries and overlooking the unending pastures of a 19-hectare park. Offering an escape from the city, the restaurant serves up authentic Italian cuisine amidst the soothing atmosphere of a tranquil garden setting.A pair of ornate fountains, a romantic roofed gazebo, an outdoor terrace and a Grand Marquee on the mansion's courtyard dot the approximately 97,000 sq ft premise. Representing the epitome of destination dining in Singapore, Alkaff Mansion Ristorante promises only the best of a memorable dining experience.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant in park setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Once a private home, this 2 story restaurant with open center and lots of small private rooms is lovely. Food was very good as was service. Special treat was a show the monkeys put on along the garden walls.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong kong
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Worth the taxi ride to this hidden gem - set amongst the trees the restaurant is an old restored mansion. The food is good. The portions are large so if you intend to order several course, order entree and not main course portions. I had the pumpkin ravioli as an appie - extremely rich sauce. Lamb chops were cooked perfectly. The warm chocolate pudding cake was a very rich, dark chocolate. One of the best I've ever had. We ordered two courses then split a dessert and were quite satisfied.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Tricky to Rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Celebrating my husband's birthday. The building is gorgeous - as is the setting. It wasn't raining so the long flight of entry stairs was not an issue but I could imagine it being a bit nasty in a tropical downpour. I'm not sure if they have any kind of access for people with mobility problems.

Service was very good. Warm, friendly but professional.

The food - hmm. A little hit and miss, to be honest. My husband had the cold pasta with oysters. You need to really like oysters to enjoy this dish. I had the papadelle. It was really nice - I enjoyed it very much. It does have a slightly strong cinnamon taste but I liked it anyway. Husband had the ravioli - very strong mushroom/truffle smell. He enjoyed it but said it wasn't spectacular. I had the fish which was served on a bed of ratatouille. The fish skin was not crispy - didn't bother me - I don't eat it anyway. The fish was every so slightly overcooked and the ratatouille was, well, ordinary.

Desert - we ordered the semi-freddo to share but ended up with the chocolate fondant cake. Something got lost in translation but we couldn't be bothered sending it back but I'm sure they would have rectified the problem professionally and without fuss. It was our choice to not to bring attention to it.

It was my husband's birthday and I would have thought at least someone would have wished him a "happy birthday" but none did. Not even a candle stuck in the dessert. I did make the reservation via their online reservation facility "Chope" and noted the special occasion on that booking form. Maybe I should have called ahead and asked them to make a bit of a fuss. I couldn't do it once we were there cos that would have just been sad.

Prices were not too scary.

This is a fine dining setting, with almost fine dining service but the food - not quite so fine dining. Nice, palatable but fantastic - no. So it's a tricky place to rate.

Would we go back? Actually, probably we would. The setting is so lovely and very romantic and the service was very good. We just wouldn't be going back for the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, reasonable food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Restaurant location is unique, and exclusive. Ambience is great with the jazz band. The stairs leading to the restaurant is not quite friendly, as it is not sheltered and can be a problem when it rains. Service is satisfactory. Food wise, it depends on what you order though. Appetizer of mixed cold cuts, burrata cheese is ok, my pasta with seafood tomato based is so-so while my husbands' slow cooked short rib is excellent !! So it is rather hard to rate it ! Dessert is also reasonably good but not exceptional. On a whole pricing is considered reasonable at SGD750+ for 7 person for Appetiser/soup/main/dessert and a bottle of Prosecco.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great brunch but a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went there with some friends for brunch and really enjoyed it. The food was excellent, there were many choices. The options were maybe a little obvious (Italian apetizers) but I really loved all of them, so no complaints. The cooking stations and the warm dishes served to the table were also great. Probably cannot keep up with the brunches in the big hotel chanes but the ambiance is really nice and it is not too crowded. I was just a little disappointed that I had to pay the same price for the non alcoholic option than the champagne option and then even had to pay for my water. Thats just sad. Also a little too many children around for such a nice ambiance.

But I guess what counts was great: Food and service

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alkaff Mansion Ristorante also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Alkaff Mansion Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alkaff Mansion Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.