We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leo Cafe & Restaurant

Leo Cafe & Restaurant
180 Albert Street | #01-19D Albert Court, Singapore 189971, Singapore
+65 6338 2448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 7,378 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Found this restairant via Tripadvisor with great value . Food was fantastic and staffs were extremely welcome. out-door seats were great, especially at night. Staffs would meet all our requests. Great and would come back again

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    44
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“ideal spot for outdoor dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I found this cafe thanks to the reviews on trip advisor. Its location in a quiet courtyard provided a welcome break from the overcrowded streets of Little India. It was nice to be able to sit outside and enjoy a warm evening. The service was excellent and the food was fresh and delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had passed this restaurant a number of times and after returning very hot and hungry from one of my morning sightseeing adventures, I went there for a late lunch.

I received a very warm welcome (and an ice cold glass of water) from Vicki and after taking my order, she sat me at a table closest to the fans and pointed them in my direction to cool me down. Their menu consists of both local and western food and they also offer a variiety of drinks and cocktails at very reasonable prices. Whilst I was waiting for my food and drink, her father sat and had a chat with me. I had a wonderful conversation with him and he was very knowledgable and informative. I found out that he was 70, which quite surprised me, as he looked 10 years younger!! My chicken fried rice with vegetables arrived and it was very tasty indeed. The Singapore Sling went down very well too!!

I went there for lunch every day after that and always found the food and service fantastic and will
certainly eat there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Ontario
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot for a Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a very good dinner at Leo Cafe & Restaurant while on a 3 day trip to Singapore in January. We chose to sit outside, and found both the service and food to be of a very high quality. Not only did we enjoy the location of this restaurant, which was very close to our hotel (the Ibis Bencoolen), as well as being on a pedestrian street which provided fun people watching opportunities, but we also found it to be reasonably priced. We would definitely recommend the Leo Cafe as a place to dine in Singapore!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere in the world
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Nice location, dreadful food! Not worth its ranking by a long way...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Okay. So we tried this place because of it's ranking on Tripadvisor. We have found a lot of nice restaurants that way. But this restaurant is cwrtainly not one of them!

Let's start with the positives. The location is nice, sitting in a nice square with trees and lights. Very pretty. It gets one point for that. And as has been said in other reviews, the service is very good. The staff are friendly, polite and attentive. Another point for that.

But that is where the points run out, because the food was, to put it bluntly, pretty awful. I ordered the butter chicken as I am fond of this dish and it was recommended in the reviews. Well, what I was given was the worst butter chicken I have ever had. In fact, it bore little resemblance to butter chicken. It was very, very sweet (i wonder how many spoonfuls of sugar) and the dominant taste was coconut (which is not an ingredient in traditional butter chicken). It tasted more like a koorma, and a bad one at that.

My Indonesian wife ordered Chicken Opur (Opur Ayam), which is an Indoensian curry. it was also very sweet indeed. She didnt eat much of it....... she said it wasnt very nice.

Maybe we ordered the wrong food. I am not a fan of excessive ginger, so I chose not to order the black pepper and ginger beef dish which is recommended in other reviews. The review is based on the food we ordered, and in my opinion it was well below average for Singapore.

No idea how this place became ranked so highly. But I might try the Indian place next door, the pleasant smells wafting from that direction suggest that their butter chicken will be a lot better than Leo's!

Avoid!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Leo Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leo Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.