We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks modern, disrespectful guests” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercury Backpackers' Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercury Backpackers' Hostel to your Saves list
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   57 Lavender Street, Singapore 338714, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% OFF
Ranked #128 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Looks modern, disrespectful guests”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Rooms are 4-6 dorm rooms, we got a 4 bed dorm with bunks. The rooms are extremely small, not enough room for 2 rucksacks let alone 4, two of the three lockers inside the room where not accessable because they where wedged between the bunks and the wall.
Breakfast is included in the price, there are two different options on alternate mornings served by an extremely nice staff member.
The Rooms themselves are clean, although there was a creature living in one of the bed frames eating the wood! Because of the paper thin walls, both night and morning was extremely noisey with hearing other guests in neighbouring rooms along with their doors and lockers. On one attempt we spoke to the front desk who seemed offended that there would even be noise! Every night between 2am and 3am the guests on the floor above us would come in from their jobs (we found this out by someone who was staying here long term) like elephants. We where also woken up at 8.00am, after a sleepless night, to the guests bed above us being changed because he had checked out that morning.
There are four showers, all cleaned throughout the day as well as the toilet and sinks.
There is free wifi across building as well as three computers in reception. When wanting to go on a trip, the staff where helpful in giving directions.
Overall it was quite overpriced and promised so much

Room Tip: Top floor to avoid noise with the long stay guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    34
    13
    19
See reviews for
16
10
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Handy location just around lavender train station.
The place was really clean any time, the beds were comfortable and the staff was just outstanding. Also loved the jacuzzi on the rooftop and free breakfast.
Thanks a lot guys, you made our stay in Singapore special.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

It was hassle to get on the train to go back to hostel after late night shopping. It is located around residential area, so was quiet but not many ppl on the street when we went back to hostel around 11 pm. Bathroom and shower booth were not clean. No lift, it was hard to carry the big bag to 3rd floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Dormitory style. 4 or 6 to a room. I was given 4 to a room. The room was so small you have hardly any room to turn. It comes in bunker style - 2 double deckers. On each floor there is only ONE toilet and THREE showers to service about 40 people. Can you imagine a situation when you have a bad stomach.

You have to walk up to 5th floor every morning for your two pieces of toast with butter and jam, a spoonful or two of baked beans, a hard boiled egg and coffee/tea. And may you be blessed if you are occupying a room on the higher floors as there is no lift, no one to help with your luggage.

Rate is S$33 per person per night. Two doors away is a hotel which charges S$118 per night. So if you are with a friend it is wiser to stay in this hotel (nothing to shout about but it's better than this backpackers outfit). It will work out to S$59 per person in the hotel vs S$33 at this hostel

EXTREMELY noisy
l

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We haven't had any reservations in Singapore, and kind of just ran into this, but we could've hardly done better!
The hostel is clean, comfy, well equipped, the staff are very nice and attentive. We stayed for three days (two nights) in a room for four. Room is a bit small, but quite nicely decorated. We loved the hot tub on the roof top. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Now, hostels should be clean and comfortable, cheap and have a good atmosphere. But what these folks offer for (at the time) SG$27/pp (excl. breakfast) is not yet printed in the backpackers’ dictionary. To be honest, if it hadn’t only opened a few weeks ago, it’d be a wonder that all the 15 or so other places in the area were still in business. (Note: we checked out most of them, and they were all quite expensive but mostly in a pretty shabby state!)

Comfortable beds in small (max 6 beds), spotless rooms with ample electricity sockets and electrically secured lockers per bed; all are air conditioned, some have window wash rooms with better facilities than most budget hotels will offer; hot/cold drinking water dispensers; laundry wash/dry machines (coin operated) and hanging area; communal cooking facilities (though not extensive); WiFi; Internet workstations in lobby; 3 minutes walk from the Lavender MRT station; 5 minutes walk from various local restaurants (“coffee shops”) serving excellent food; a common area with large flat screen TV on each floor; breakfast on the roof garden (not included in our price as it wasn’t available then; a JACUZZI on the roof top as well as deck chairs and a charcoal BBQ for guest use. Let’s see, have I missed anything?

Well, I can tell you that the manager is very proud of the business and he was constantly inquiring about any problems or suggestions we could identify. He was particularly interested in feedback on the orthopaedic pillows they selected for the beds, which have a special shape and should maintain perfect comfort. Well I can tell you that we were very comfortable indeed! And when we asked at check-in whether they had any rooms with windows, they not only put us in one but also made sure we had the room to ourselves as long as possible (in our case all week).

Yes, Mercury is a phenomenon and we would recommend it to any traveller wholeheartedly. Our first afternoon in Singapore is spent in a hot tub on a roof top, several high rise buildings surrounding us, and it was just what we need to recharge after a strenuous journey and will remain a very fond memory. To crown this, we find that we can easily manage Singapore on a tight budget, with the hostel costs under SG$30/pp (excluding breakfast) and all the tasty Chinese food at the coffee shops priced between SG$5 to SG$15 for generous servings.

Room Tip: Many rooms are closed but all have air conditioning. If you like air circulation like us, ask if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I randomly picked this hostel out of what seemed to be a lot of hostels with not much to choose between them. They all seemed pretty central, all shared the same facilities and all charged around the same price.
The place itself is nice enough. The location is good, just 2 mins walk from MTR station and with shops and restaurants nearby.
It is very clean although I think that would be expected for Singapore, which is a very clean place. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm room, which was very small and windowless but you get what you pay for. For 33 (Singapore) dollars I think this was good value. The shower area was spotless. The wifi worked well. The water was hot.
There was a nice roof garden area with a couple of sun loungers and a hot-tub (not sure if it was working though).
The staff were variable. Maybe it was miscommunication or maybe they were geared towards a certain type of traveller.
I probably wouldn't stay here again. This isn't because they were so terrible (they weren't) but more because in a city with a lot of budget options I would prefer to stay somewhere where the staff were friendlier.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercury Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 57 Lavender Street, Singapore 338714, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mercury Backpackers' Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel is the largest backpackers' hostel in the vicinity of Lavender Street, Singapore. The hostel is new, comprising 4 1/2 storey building painted Orange, symbolizing "Bright & Lively". The hostel can accommodate 90 patrons, its entire premise are fitted with security cameras and is fire safety certified. The hostel stuff are in a brand new condition and rooms can accommodate 3 to 6 persons. The rooms are designed with different themes. Special rooms are created for Families and Female patrons. All bedding set used is equivalent to the standard of 4-5 stars hotels. Wooden bed frames were introduced to reduce noise. Patrons are issued with individual cupboards for safe-keeping of their belongings. Cupboards come with a special Magnetic Key Tag scan lock. Reading light, shelves and charging sockets are also provided. There are plenty of shared showers & toilets on every level as well as hot/cold water. Washing basins have Hair-blower devices. Coin-operated washing machine is also found within the vicinity. Vending machines for Cold drinks are sited at the reception area. We provide Warm & Hot water and free used of our microwave oven. The hostel reception is operated 24 Hours. Our friendly staff can help with your Questions & Queries. There is phone-intercom service to reception on every level. The premises have 'WIFI' and unlimited FREE internet access available, extra computers were also catered. Bonding area was introduced for interaction on all levels. The most attractive feature of the hostel is the 6 person's Relaxation Jacuzzi Pool on designed roof-top garden, Sun-Tanning beds and BBQ equipment are also available. We may have the best accommodation, security system and facilities provided but it is most important for us is to provide the best service to ensure you have the best, cosy, clean and comfortable stay with us during your visit. Mercury Backpackers' Hostel Rooms Details: Per Bed Space, Mixed Dorm/ Female Dorm - Shared Bathroom (Shared Double Bunk Bed, in 4 or 6 Bedded Room) Entire Room - Triangle Room, Mixed - Shared Bathroom (Room for 3 people - 1 double bunk bed & 1 single bed) - Family Room, Shared Bathroom (Room for max. 2 Adults & 2 Children's - 1 Queen Size & 1 Single Bed) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mercury Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercury Backpackers' Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.