We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercury hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercury Backpackers' Hostel

Save Saved
You added Mercury Backpackers' Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   57 Lavender Street, Singapore 338714, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 183 Specialty lodging in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mercury hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I randomly picked this hostel out of what seemed to be a lot of hostels with not much to choose between them. They all seemed pretty central, all shared the same facilities and all charged around the same price.
The place itself is nice enough. The location is good, just 2 mins walk from MTR station and with shops and restaurants nearby.
It is very clean although I think that would be expected for Singapore, which is a very clean place. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm room, which was very small and windowless but you get what you pay for. For 33 (Singapore) dollars I think this was good value. The shower area was spotless. The wifi worked well. The water was hot.
There was a nice roof garden area with a couple of sun loungers and a hot-tub (not sure if it was working though).
The staff were variable. Maybe it was miscommunication or maybe they were geared towards a certain type of traveller.
I probably wouldn't stay here again. This isn't because they were so terrible (they weren't) but more because in a city with a lot of budget options I would prefer to stay somewhere where the staff were friendlier.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    27
    10
    12
See reviews for
11
10
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

an exceptional property that far exceeded expectations. Close to an MRT station and just 3 stops from central Singapore it had an excellent location with many local shops and eating places. The property is tastefully decorated with a funky vibe and offers a comfortable setting for relaxing. New bookings include a a cooked breakfast served on the roof terrace. Outstanding. Beds and dorms are fantastically comfortable. Staff are uniformly helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4 bed dorm; like me you may be lucky and have it all to yourself. Rooms are windowless so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

we stay here one night before continue our journey to Hanoi. i guess the hostel is newly renovated or built, because of the cleanliness. every locker is equipped with personal auto lock. the room is small, but clean. no breakfast provided during our stay.
the hostel is a walking distance from lavender mrt, hawker, and minimarket.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a private room for 4 persons. Even though the room is quite small but the 2 buck beds are actually great. The staffs are nice and if u don't mind about shared bath room, then..... This is a recommended for sure

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Mercury is merely a short 3min walking distance from Lavender MRT station. You can find a 24-hour restaurant, local bakery shop (discounted price at night with purchase of 3 breads & above) and Antoinette cafe that sells macarons, pastries, cakes etc. We wish to try the desserts but our budget is tight. This hostel comes with all the amenities you need and one can enjoy the sun at roof top while relaxing in the jacuzzi.

The Individual cupboard comes with a special magnetic key tag scan lock, I think it's pretty cool :) Generally a good and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Budget accommodation with 5-star service and facilities! Friendly and kind staffs, clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, laptop with wifi and best of all roof top jacuzzi. The hostel is near to Lavender MRT station which is just 2 stations away from city center. Highly recommended if you're looking for a budget accommodation in Singapore. Definitely would stay again on next visit!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

First, the gorgeous lady at front desk is so nice. she put us in 2nd floor, the hostel atmosphere was friendly, comfort and bright. The hostel is so amazingly clean and comfort, especially the bed is star hotel quality. me and my husband with my sister and best friend stay at private square room, room size was a bit small for four person who carry a baggage, but it's ok.

The locker was awesome, the art and heading lamp of our room look really nice. Too bad i'm too tired to climb up and having jacuzzi time, but i think the jacuzzi look nice up there.

The room was good, but we can hear next door having noisy laugh and party, someone in our right room knock my door and ask me to lower our voice, but i said that the noisy voice come from our left door. so we decided to ask them politely about their noise.thankfully they understand.

The bathroom with attach shower and toilet sanitary was good and clean. there's two mirror, sink, hairdryer and water kettle. There's five bathroom in 2nd floor : 3 shower box, and 2 toilet (one toilet had an attach shower).

only take 1-2 minute to catch Lavender MRT, bus stop and foodcourt (there's so many certified of halal food). i suggest to try 'Ayam Bakar set' at kopitiam, indonesian booth, taste so great and the price was so so. only take a few minutes to BUGIS by MRT.

such a Great place to stay in budget.

we fall in love to this hostel, definitely will come back to stay! <333

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercury Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 57 Lavender Street, Singapore 338714, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 183 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mercury Backpackers' Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel is the largest backpackers' hostel in the vicinity of Lavender Street, Singapore. The hostel is new, comprising 4 1/2 storey building painted Orange, symbolizing "Bright & Lively". The hostel can accommodate 90 patrons, its entire premise are fitted with security cameras and is fire safety certified. The hostel stuff are in a brand new condition and rooms can accommodate 3 to 6 persons. The rooms are designed with different themes. Special rooms are created for Families and Female patrons. All bedding set used is equivalent to the standard of 4-5 stars hotels. Wooden bed frames were introduced to reduce noise. Patrons are issued with individual cupboards for safe-keeping of their belongings. Cupboards come with a special Magnetic Key Tag scan lock. Reading light, shelves and charging sockets are also provided. There are plenty of shared showers & toilets on every level as well as hot/cold water. Washing basins have Hair-blower devices. Coin-operated washing machine is also found within the vicinity. Vending machines for Cold drinks are sited at the reception area. We provide Warm & Hot water and free used of our microwave oven. The hostel reception is operated 24 Hours. Our friendly staff can help with your Questions & Queries. There is phone-intercom service to reception on every level. The premises have 'WIFI' and unlimited FREE internet access available, extra computers were also catered. Bonding area was introduced for interaction on all levels. The most attractive feature of the hostel is the 6 person's Relaxation Jacuzzi Pool on designed roof-top garden, Sun-Tanning beds and BBQ equipment are also available. We may have the best accommodation, security system and facilities provided but it is most important for us is to provide the best service to ensure you have the best, cosy, clean and comfortable stay with us during your visit. Mercury Backpackers' Hostel Rooms Details: Per Bed Space, Mixed Dorm/ Female Dorm - Shared Bathroom (Shared Double Bunk Bed, in 4 or 6 Bedded Room) Entire Room - Triangle Room, Mixed - Shared Bathroom (Room for 3 people - 1 double bunk bed & 1 single bed) - Family Room, Shared Bathroom (Room for max. 2 Adults & 2 Children's - 1 Queen Size & 1 Single Bed) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Mercury Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercury Backpackers' Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.