We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but beware” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Riverside

Save Saved
You added Fragrance Hotel - Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059663, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location but beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The small space is what everyone will expect for Singapore hotel.
What we didn't expected it's the room's humidity! Without any windows & ventilation, every humid from the bathroom flow into the bedroom. I left my notebook for one day and it was all damped when we came back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    128
    81
    35
    25
See reviews for
41
111
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very close to MRT and Clarke Key. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The roof top pool provided some great views of singapore and a great place to relax after a day of exploring. Would definitely stay they again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were happy when we arrived at the hotel even though the lobby was small and there were a few steps to carry our bags up the stairs, because this is a central hotel and it's new. We were thrilled when the receptionist told us that we had been upgraded. When we entered the room, it was small, which was expected in Singapore, but didn't expect it to be that small that there was no space to open our luggage except on the bed. The wardrobe was so small and only with 3 hangers which were stuck onto a bar which you could not take them out. You can't even hang your pants because they only had the ones for the sleeves/shoulders. Then in the shower room, there is no place to put your toiletries at all. You had to hang your towel outside the shower room. So I rang the receptionist to ask about the upgrade and she said that we had been upgraded from a superior to a deluxe. I asked what's the difference because by now, I cannot imagine anyone will pay that kind of money to stay in a smaller room than we had. Her reply was a deluxe had a window. So I pulled the curtain and right in front of my room is a block of buildings which I can see what's happening in their rooms. So I quickly close the curtains. But wait there's more. I was woken up by noises from my neighbour peeing. If you've seen Austin Power when he was thawed after being frozen for several years, he had a long and interrupted pee, it was like that. I don't know whether to laugh or be angry. Then there were noises of people moving things, housekeepers pushing their trolleys, and it goes on. I woke up at 2am and couldn't sleep, guessing what those noises were. Well, instead of getting angry, I decided to take it as a fun exercise. I couldn't cancel the room because it's booked through a non-refundable agreement.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Clean, but very small room. Hard double bed suited me. The bathroom was of "wet room" style & was also tiny. Ideal for a solo traveller as 2 in the standard double room was cramped (especially for 4 nights). Internet available at $20.00 per day. Breakfast at attached bar/café also available at $20.00, but not much choice available. The hotel is ideally situated across the road from Clarke Quay and the MRT so eating venues & transport are very handy. You are also within easy walking distance of Chinatown. The hotel's 6th floor pool was nice. Staff were friendly and attentive. Overall, the location was perfect, the hotel was very clean, but be prepared for tiny rooms.

Room Tip: There are larger sized rooms available, but I cannot comment on them as I did not see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

the location is just perfect, you can walk to Chinatown, Merlion Park, Esplanade and of course you can spend the afternoon walking along the riverside, which also near, and enjoy the sunset. The staff was good, the one that cleaning the elevator was the friendliest one, he smile, he make a conversation, and he seems to always clean the elevator everytime i meet him. The hotel itself is clean, small yet confortable enough. i spend all my day and night outside so i did not visit the gym or pool and can not said anything about those. My packages was include breakfast at the Gourmet Bistro next door and i love the french fries! If my next year plan come real, i'll stay again here for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luleå
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great location, close to most of central Singapore. Rooms were really small and had sort of a moldy smell after leaving the AC off for a few hours. Toilet was really small with a shower almost over the toilet seat. There was a nice pool on the roof with a nice view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The location is perfect, very near to Metro and City Centre. Rooms and bathrooms are quite small without windows however rooms were clean, soft beds, clean sheets. There will hardly be any space if you are not travelling light.There are plenty of cheap restaurants nearby, so suggest that instead of using room service. There is a roof top swimming pool and the customer service was really good , when we requested for a room change they helped us out without any fuss. Will definitely return in case of travelling to Singapore in future.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Riverside

Address: 20 Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059663, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#152 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#152 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Riverside 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fragrance Hotel - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.