We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but suffocate and noisy room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Riverside

Save Saved
You added Fragrance Hotel - Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059663, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location but suffocate and noisy room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel:
The room is very small without window. We feel suffocated when staying in this hotel. The room floor is wet all the time, i guess it is because no window in the room and causes air flow problem. And also it is very noisy during the midnight. The cleaner vacuum the floor at 11pm something which affected our sleep.

Location:
The only one good point staying in this hotel is good location which only take you 5-10mins walking distance to MRT station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Riverside, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I wished to explain that you had booked your stay in the Superior Room and that only our Deluxe Rooms come with windows.

Regarding the noise issue by our Housekeeping Staff, I must apologise for this matter. My Duty Manager had since briefed the staff concerned not to perform any cleaning activities during the night that might caused disturbance to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    134
    85
    35
    26
See reviews for
45
114
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I booked one night in advance at a reasonable rate but then had to extend to three nights so at last minute paid £100 room only before i got there. The room was horrendous w no window and freezing air con. Turned it off and all was soaked in condensation. The mattresses are PLASTIC. Coated so unbelievably horrible to sleep on, sweaty and slippery. I was given a window room for 2nd and 3rd night also breakfast, either juice or tea not both! Tiny bathroom but ok. Good pool in sun but only 4 chairs for 100 rooms. Caters for mass tourism and much slamming of doors and shouting in the early hours.
The staff were really good and helpful.
The location is excellent.
However, the over riding memory will be the vile synthetic smell that pervades the whole place, it made me feel ill each time walked in . It hangs on your clothes and is altogether revolting.
I have to say I found it a totally depressing place and I would never go back ....ever!

Room Tip: Don't get a windowless cell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Room is new, small, but clean and have very cool air cond. Location is just a cross walk from Central Mall Singapore and 5-minutes walk from clarke quay area
Free breakfast is also delicious, choice: english breakfast, mee siam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice and clean hotel with a pool on the roof, but very small rooms (we could hardly open our suitcases) and even smaller bathrooms which lack of shower tray, or shower curtain, so after one takes a shower everything, the floor and the toilette gets completely wet.
For a little upgrade you get rooms with window and basic breakfast (choice out of 3-4 set meals) served in the bar next to the hotel. There is a strong parfume smell throughout the hotel, which may disturb some people, who have allergy to aromatic smells. Great location, about 15 min walk from Marina Sands bay attractions, 10min from Quai bar street and the river.

Room Tip: When upgrade is offered at the reception it is worth to pay a little extra for a window-ed room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelspruit
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

front desk good, all clean, small room no windows but expected, location excellent, walk to clarke quay and to china town. close to subway.
dont pay extra for the breakfast, it is half the size and has things missing from the menu they show you. i heard guests complaining.
as i said good value for location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were looking for a good place to stay preferably at not a crazy price, which is something this place mostly delivered. It is perfectly adequate but by no means amazing.
The rooms were the smallest of our whole Asian trip but they were clean and modern. No amenities in the bathroom besides some all purpose liquid. The sink was tiny and the place is noisy so do bring earplugs.
Internet was crazy expensive and it was weird we had to pay before we checked in.
The location is good and we mostly walked.
The best thing about the place is that they have a pool, which was nice but the gym cannot be called a gym at all. It is a tiny room with a treadmill and an elliptical that is barely 4 sq.m and is so hot as it is glass and directly under the afternoon sun.
Overall not a friendly lace but adequate if you are staying for 1 or 2 nights as we were.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Riverside

Address: 20 Hong Kong Street, Singapore 059663, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#151 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#151 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Riverside 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fragrance Hotel - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.