We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but a bit far from the city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Grand Hotel East Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Grand Hotel East Coast to your Saves list
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
171 East Coast Road, Singapore 428877, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but a bit far from the city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, good breakfast, not too pricy, friendly staff, also nicely located in an area with a lot of shops, restaurants and a small mall, but you have to take a 15 min bus ride to the city center. Other than that a good hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive services that made your stay memorable.

In regards to the location of the hotel, we are indeed situated in a Peranakan heritage precinct which aims to introduce Singapore’s unique culture and tradition to visitors. Our hotel to the main city may seem a little bit far for some travelers, however there is a free shuttle bus at the Katong shopping mall to MRT station, alternatively we will ensure to have sufficient taxis at your disposal.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    143
    71
    14
    5
See reviews for
68
98
33
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed on two occasions in July . A very pleasant hotel and close to local shops and small restaurants . We found the rooms quite small but adequate , nicely decorated and very clean . We found the staff were more than pleasant and very helpful at all times which I think is really important and one of the reasons why we would definitely return to hotel in the future. Rene K

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive services that made your stay memorable. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Santa Grand. Definitely not your typical tourist location but if you want to be in the middle of the local community in the East Coast with easy access to shopping, the sea and plenty of restaurants, this place is a good choice. We were on the top floor which seems to have been recently renovated. The room was a corner room so it was comfortable and larger than the standard ones. The other rooms I saw on our hall appeared quite small.

The staff at the front desk were consistently helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included but uninspiring. However, that is not enough of a drawback to deter you from staying here. It's an easy bus ride to the Dakota MRT and you can then explore greater Singapore. Overall it was a great stay for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive services that made your stay memorable. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Peramakan restaurant is very nice. We went there for lunch. They serve great nonya food. The chicken curry was very nice and so was the little pancakes dessert with banana sauce. Don't remember the name but was quite interesting.

When we went there there was the hong Kong rugby was staying at the hotel. I believe the chef was very flexible to serve non-nonya food for the team.

Nice place to go for nonya food.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about PeraMakan Restaurant at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast. We will definitely pass your valuable compliments to the team of PeraMakan Restaurant. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you back at PeraMakan soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We made a short overnight stay at Santa Grand East Coast on our way to Yogjakarta. Because we had to take an early morning flight, we decided to pick a hotel close to the airport. Access to this hotel is not very convenient (no subway nearby, only bus and taxi), However there are many eateries nearby. The room is so small that space is quite marginal for two persons to stay, especially the toilet. There are limited choice for breakfast. Wifi is free but the speed was slower than other hotels I stayed in Singapore on this trip. We paid S$160 (tax inclusive) for this 3-star hotel which is comparatively expensive consider the room is small and distant from downtown. We will probably avoid this hotel again unless we have to stay close to the airport and there is no other alternative.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation in some areas.

We recognize that some of our rooms are small. If a spacious room is a guest’s preference, we will try our best to accede to their request and we would be pleased to recommend the room types for our customers subject to room availability. Experience of our guests’ is first priority for all of us and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products and services consistently.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us here. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a clean hotel and friendly near by many foods place have western and asian, shopping center also have many foods and night life place this a long road very near to the hotel,
the hotel is near to the beach about 15min walk and long beach you can cycle next to the beach and airport too. can caught to every where is easy

Room Tip: I have stay in a single room and a double room the single bed is good but the double room is 2 bed b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and are satisfied with our location, amenities and service. We will definitely share your positive comments to the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you at Santa Grand again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

very clean and beautiful location ,and the staff is very very kindness.thank you for everything. in the next time i want stay here. in next time i want swimming at the rooftop pool. thank you for Ms.Mery Tan!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your valuable compliments on Mary has been passed on to the top management to recognize their effort. We are sure that she will be even more motivated in maintaining a high level of customer service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and look forward to serving you again very soon.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Grand Hotel East Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel East Coast

Address: 171 East Coast Road, Singapore 428877, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#71 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Coast area, Santa Grand Hotel East Coast is nestled at the heart of Katong, well known for its Peranakan heritage and culture. The hotel is also within the larger Joo Chiat area, which was designated as the national heritage conservation area by the Singapore Government with the intention of preserving its rich history, culture and architecture. This Peranakan themed boutique hotel aims to introduce Singapore's unique culture and tradition to visitors, just like its predecessors at Santa Grand Hotel Bugis, Santa Grand Hotel Little India and Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown. Santa Grand Hotel East Coast is built on a 2-storey conservation frontage backed by a 5-storey building. Guests will feel welcomed in the lobby, decorated in bright Peranakan colors, that comes with comfortable seating areas and a business center. Rooms come in four different designs, themes and colors that guests will feel the freshness and variety each time they stay with us. A roof top swimming pool and Jacuzzi offer guests a chance to relax in a tranquil environment with a bird's eye view of the low-lying housing architecture symbolic of the Joo Chiat heritage. Bright colors are used on design of the hotel, similar to the patented sophistication seen in the homes of the Peranakans, creating a warm and inviting ambience and leaving guests with fond memories of the stay. Be it for leisure travelers or travelers on business trip, Santa Grand Hotel East Coast is the place you want to stay in to immerse in a uniquely Singapore culture. Take a walk around the area and you will be amazed by the large variety of food to choose from. A definite must-try would have to be the famous Katong laska, well-liked by Singaporeans and visitors alike, this signature dish can be counted as one of the most popular favorites in Singapore! For outdoors, the hotel is near the popular East Coast Parkway where guests can exercise or just relax amidst the cooling breeze along the Singapore coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel East Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Grand Hotel East Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.