We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a difference and worth the effort if you don't mind the noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen to your Saves list
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Trengganu Street, Singapore 058476, Singapore (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hotel with a difference and worth the effort if you don't mind the noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights. Definitely worth staying there for a short time as a cultural experience. We were lucky enough to have a 3rd floor balcony room. Just a tip though - don't expect any spare room - very tiny room and bathroom but very clean and staff very friendly. Great hotel with a tonne of history. It was a chinese tea house and chinese opera theatre built in 1887 with heritage listing. Right in the heart of China town and overlooking the pedestrian food thoroughfare. Beautiful indian temple and buddhist temple in the same street worth a visit.
We were lucky enough to have a ghostly visitor in the night - a lady decked out in chinese theatre costume. Woken in the night to find her standing there! Don't be scared though, tired in the middle of the night - may have just imagined it! But this was before we knew it was a theatre. But atmosphere was friendly not sinister. Very noisy from the street and pigeons could be heard in the rafters but the second night we slept very well as used to the noise.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the experience for a short stay - glad that we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    324
    220
    57
    35
See reviews for
91
182
177
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

It's very hard to find convenient location hotel near MRT with a local lifestyle in Singapore. Chinatown is the best choise for budget tourists. These hotel is closed to food street just only a few steps and 2-3 mins walk to MRT. It's suitable for tourist who are looking for bed, bath clean and safe-save. I spend only one night alone with single room. It's not good for taking a shower as it's very very narrow - - but to be fair it's under my budget and I only need a clean room, bed and bath, for out-going all day trip. I prefer the hotel in Chinatown from good food, good price shopping and very convenient MRT, that's all. One thing that dislike is that the hotel locates on food local street, thus at night it has a loud.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is a converted old Chinese opera house. The furnishings in the communal parts of the hotel are reminiscent of these old performing times with information boards, old pictures and musical instruments. The rooms are small but functional with a good wet room and bathroom amenities (including toothbrush, razor and shower gel amongst other things).

The major selling point of this hotel is it's location. It is only a 5 minute walk to the Chinatown MRT which connects you with the rest of the island. There are 2 entrances (the old front of house and the old performers entrance) with the main entrance opening into 'food street'. This does not get too rowdy so even if your room is situated on this side of the building you won't have a sleepless night.

Room Tip: If worried about noise, ask for a room at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

While the location isnt bad, the room was very dingy and dark - despite my request for a window. The red paint across the hotel makes it even more grim and unwelcoming. Ideally need a fresh paint - white or any light colors to liven up the hotel.
The worse is the bathroom - which is really just a toilet with a shower head on top and a tiny basin next to it. I am petite so I cannot imagine how anyone slightly bigger than me could have managed using the toilet - literally had to sit sideways.
In short, despite a 10% discount coupon, I would not recommend this hotel or return there again.

Room Tip: Internet is the ONLY major Plus point - It is really a hotel for campers - but pricey at that. Thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimbaran, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

2ND stayed during Chinese New Year 2014, paid lesser than SGD100/night but got an excellent 3rd floor room with balcony, this time paid SGD120 but almost got a room WITHOUT windows? Front desk explained that rooms rates fluctuates but proposed to upgrade to room with balcony for SGD30 extra which i refused.

nonetheless, one of the helpful staff got me another room without balcony but with windows. really appreciated that.

again this time they assisted to keep my Duty-Free drinks in their chiller as room does not have 1.

overall room comfortable, staffs friendly & brilliant location....

I WILL BE BACK!!!

Room Tip: ask for 3rd floor rooms with balcony facing Smith Street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The rooms are small, but functional and clean. The location is great though. We were just in Singapore for a couple of days and didn't spend much time at the hotel so it was good for our needs. If you want luxury then pay double at one of the fancy hotels.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms have no window. We went for light over quiet and didn't suffer from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Best part was the location and easy access to metro. The staff was courteous and helpful. The rooms are small but clean and the surroundings are lively. its a good place to stay as most of the locations are easily approachable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Address: 25 Trengganu Street, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.