We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an excellent location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Save Saved
You added Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
25 Trengganu Street, Singapore 058476, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 290 hotels in Singapore
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is an excellent location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked a Queen room which is so small for 2 people. Besides, the bed is too tight for us. Ee were assisted by an uncle who is very nice and friendly. A Chinese girl receiption was also good,
However, the hotel's service is not really good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, our hotel location is perfect for leisure or business travelers, everything are just within walking distance. However, we appreciate your feedback about our hotel service, we strive constantly to improve our services and we are encouraging our staff to take more initiatives to speak out and find out how to address the needs of our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    220
    144
    36
    19
See reviews for
52
114
138
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antipolo City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked a twin room expecting that the rooms will be small, and made a request during reservation for a balcony room. Their reservation staff were prompt with their emails and informed us that a balcony room was subject to availability but they would surely make note of the request. I was happy to know at check-in that they could accommodate the request.

The check-in was smooth, and we were assisted by an uncle to out room. We were led to a motion-activated escalator to the third floor. Once we were there, he showed us how to work the controls of the aircon, how to open the balcony door and windows, and pointed to a building across the street where we could get great but cheap food.

He also showed us the section of our floor where a couple of couches and a coffee/tea station was set-up. The hotel provides their guests with free-flowing coffee and tea. Just grab a cup, and enjoy, anytime of the day.

The hotel provided towels, toiletries, slippers, safety box, and a hair dryer. The room was cleaned daily, and a couple of bottles of water was provided every day as well. The television was small and had few English channels, mostly news and cartoons. There was an abundance of Chinese stations, which I suppose can be expected. Breakfast was okay too, with a couple of items different on consecutive days. It wasn't the best, but it was satisfying and can easily fill you up until lunch time.

Decor was different, as the entire place was decorated in red and wood. They also had pictures of old costumes near the entrance. The lights were muted all over the hotel, and if your eyesight isn't good your eyes might get a strain. But overall, it goes well with the history of the place as a Chinese opera house. Their wall decorations also reflected this, including explanations of colors, markings and face paint patterns on opera performers. Probably not for everyone, but since my mom is an architecture buff, she liked looking at it, especially trying to figure out which parts were from the original structure. It was too much red for me though.

Location was perfect. Construction was on-going on the street right below our balcony, but there wasn't any noise once we closed the door. It was very accessible as it was a few minutes' walk from the Chinatown MRT station, and a taxi stand and bus stop was located right across the end of the street. The bus stop is also included in several hop-on hop-off tours bus itineraries.

The Chinese Heritage Center was on the other end of the street, and they offer free walking tours of Chinatown every afternoon. It's a couple of hours long, and you will cover all the must-see sights around the area. If shopping is your thing, there are several malls and shopping centers within walking distance as well.

Food will never be a problem, as restaurants ranging from cheap to expensive, from Asian to European to Fusion, are either right outside or a few steps away from the hotel's doors. There's also a 7-Eleven before the end of the street for any convenience needs you may want to buy.

Overall, the Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen met our expectations, and we had a comfortable stay. I wouldn't mind staying again, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and are satisfied with our location, amenities and service. We will definitely share your feedback to the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you at Santa Grand again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We pretty much enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Though initially taken aback by the small room we quickly adapted. Loved the classic imperial decor of the establishment though the carpets could do with a good clean, particularly in the stairways/escalator regions. On the whole staff were friendly and helpful - there are always some exceptions. Our bed was very comfortable, and though the room was streetside it wasn't noisy. It was also wonderful to throw open the shuttered windows in the morning and see the shopping activity in the alley below. Breakfast doesn't rate highly - after one try we decided to eat out for the remaining 4 days of our visit. Can't quibble about the location right in the heart of Chinatown and close to all the places we wanted to visit. With the MRT very close by and taxis available outside the front door, transport was never a problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive services that made your stay memorable. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location is the key factor why I booked this hotel, and amongst all hotels within its vicinity, the price is the most reasonable though I wouldn't consider it cheap due to the size of its room. The room is pretty small even for a single traveller, but I would like to compliment its cleanliness and tidiness.

One thing which pissed me off was the porter who helped to bring my luggage to the room, did not utter a single word throughout the whole time. When arrived at the room, he stretched his hand to signal me to hand over the room key to him. After opening the door, he switched on the air-cond, closed the door and left without saying anything! I have to assume he is dumb! Was he thinking that we cheapo to have booked such a small room from this hotel, and hence, we all deserve to receive such treatment from a porter? It totally spoiled my day and I will never ever return to this hotel. There are plenty to choose from and I will definitely pay more for a good service hotel.

Other than that, everything's else is fine, and checking out is such a breeze!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience during your stay with us. We have since counseled our staff and will continue monitor his performance. We appreciate your kind understanding and patience and would like to assure you that we will work hard to improve our service levels and it is feedback like this that help us to do better.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and we hope to have a chance to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was impressed by the ambience of the hotel with its Chinese imperial-like decor, very pretty and well suited for its location in Chinatown. The staff are excellent, polite and helpful beyond expectation, and especially Christine who is their senior staff -- she was never too busy to entertain my requests for directions. They were like my tour-guides, giving me maps, printed from the internet and guiding me to wherever I wanted to go -- and thanks to them, we could find our way around with ease and never got lost! With its excellent location within walking distance to the MRT station, my family and I did not need to take taxis and that made us save lots of $. Eateries to suit our budget swarm the area so we need not have to worry about needing to spend much $ in classy, expensive restaurants. Places of interest are all nearby like Gardens by the Bay, Marina Bay, etc. Chinatown itself is fascinating, surrounded by numerous gift shops. The hotel room was averagely-sized, clean and all toiletries were provided, even a hair-dryer and bedroom slippers. We came as a family, 3 of us and all toiletries were sufficiently provided, unlike some star hotels where you take a triple room but they only provide toiletries for two and then you'll need to call housekeeping, etc. There is no limitation as to how much coffee, tea or milo I would want to consume as we could just help ourselves to the tea-making corner at anytime Another additional bonus was the breakfast provided for the budget-priced room-rate. It was a Continental breakfast, serving toast, sausages, ham, eggs and some fruits. We thought that it would have been better if there were more fruits and probably lesser meat served. The staff at the morning Cafe were excellent ~ fast and polite, even though it was a busy time for them. Generally, I would say we had a very good experience staying at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, and yes, we would stay there again when in Chinatown, Singapore

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback to the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My mum stumbled across this hotel on Tripadvisor whilst seeking cheap accommodation in Singapore and what a find. I booked 2 nights single accommodation in this hotel with free breakfast and was ungraded to a beautiful double room. Whilst the room was small it was more than adequate for a solo traveller and extremely clean and comfortable. The hotel is in an excellent location right in the heart of China town and close to the MRT. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and make you feel extremely welcome from the moment of check-up. Breakfast was simple but adequate, other meals available from the numerous restaurants within walking distance. Would recommend as a solo traveller.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for recommending us! We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive services that made your stay memorable. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location is excellent, close to the Chinatown MRT station. There are numerous shops, restaurants open late, and places to see in the neighborhood. The hotel itself is nicely decorated, staff was helpful, and included breakfast. Only issue I had was that the room had no windows. No windows meant that I overslept more than I wanted and almost missed breakfast. The room is also quite small, but not an issue for me. As Singapore is a bit on the expensive side, this hotel was a very good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore
Address: 25 Trengganu Street, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#114 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.