We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but it's at a great location and the hotel has character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen to your Saves list
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
25 Trengganu Street, Singapore 058476, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No frills but it's at a great location and the hotel has character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location of this property is very central and close to the MRT. This is important since the extensive MRT network in Singapore takes you to most of the places of interest cheaply and efficiently. The building itself used to be a theatre for the Chinese opera, so it reeks history and character. The rooms however is very small but it's clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. I had the room in the upper floor that comes with a balcony that faces Temple Street. It was a great spot to watch the busy street below. The staff are friendly and knowledgable. The room comes with complementary breakfast which was average. But the dining area was clean, comfortable and the people manning it were warm and friendly. It was also nice to have breakfast while watching the shops in Chinatown opening its doors for business.

I will definitely come back here in future.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and are satisfied with our location, amenities and services. Thank you again for sharing with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    294
    197
    51
    28
See reviews for
78
159
167
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great location. At the heart of Chinatown, right on Smith street (which turns into a food street in the evening). Subway is 3 minutes' walk away, and downtown shopping area is just 2 subway station away. There are some restaurants, coffee shops nearby that open throughout the night till early morning. Single room is tiny and spartan. Saw a cockroach in my room, but the room is clean otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and pleased that you are satisfied with the hotel location.

As regards our cleanliness standard, we have since stepped up the pest control activities in order to maintain the quality of the environment. It is through such feedback like yours that we can continue to improve and serve our guests with a high standard of service and hygiene.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvior. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

First impression was this is an amazing place. Even tho I had to drag my 20kg bag up a flight of stairs by myself. There are also no lifts. Just escalators.

If U want a quieter room, get those without a window, the downside: room is dark... Maybe a little like a jail. Could do with more lights! Or you could think its romantic.. To be positive about things!

If u like a hotel because of its decoration, you could choose this one as it features a great hall for opera, now the reception. Otherwise, stay some there else, and just walk in to visit. Rooms are small. If u are claustrophobic, I do not advise u to choose this place at all.

Walls are thin too. So u might either either make complaints or be complained about.

Breakfast consist of cereals and hard boiled eggs, with some over boiled sausages and ham thrown in. Imagine a few days of this... Pineapple and watermelon also served. To be fair, tea+milk from the machine is good. Breakfast in served from 7-10. Would be better for professionals if they start from 6am.

Entrance is from either side of the hotel, smith street or temple street. Smith is a hawker food street from 6pm to 10pm. Meaning great food choices, but the street is closed to cars. There would be a clean up at 2am. Hope u are not a light sleeper!!

Hope this review is helpful. Overall, I loved the decorations... And to be able to be part of the nostalgic experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience the ambience of Chinese New Year in Chinatown and pleased that you have spent an enjoyable stay with us.

As regards of escalator in the building, it is part of the architectural conservation. As you know that Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is a historical building and with the conservation guideline, all original structural and architectural elements shall be retained and restored. We hope for guest understanding and appreciation of the architecture and structure of this traditional buildings. However, guest in need of assistance with luggage can seek assistance from our bellhop or front desk staffs.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I booked a double superior room with balcony through Agoda and stayed one night here on New Years Eve 2013. Room rate was a bit inflated for NYE but included free wifi, drink and breakfast.. I was happy with the price - the room and location was worth it.

The location of the hotel is just brilliant - amongst the action of China Town and walking distance to everything of merit. The hotel actually overlooks one of the main eating sections of China Town and is only minutes to the MRT.

The architecture of the hotel is really special and the entrance lobby will impress - its saturated in colour with red lanterns, dim lighting, dark wood features and high ceilings - it feels opulent, but not uncomfortable or ostentatious.

My room was on the top floor with French shuttered doors that opened out onto a semi-private balcony overlooking the cityscape and markets below.

The room featured high ceilings, floorboards and had a comfortable simplicity in terms of decor. It wasn't a huge room, but it was very clean and more than generous for one and perfectly adequate for couples.

The bathroom was a step-up style - wet bathroom as is typical for many Singapore hotels, and was fully enclosed with no window. It was fine, clean, but nothing to rave about, and had all I needed and everything worked. The air-conditioning was effective and the room was quiet, secure and overall very comfortable.

There are two entrances to this hotel, and once the markets nearby and food street are in full swing the hotel could be hard to find at night. I did a day scope and worked out where it was, but I can imagine at night it could get confusing as one of the streets it borders is closed to traffic. So, print out your hotel receipt and look at your map as the hotel borders the main drag of China town - taxi drivers had no problem locating the hotel - but depending on the time you arrive you may need to walk down a street or lane way with your suitcase as immediate front access may not be available.

The hotel is located on 25 Trengganu Street - it can be hard to see street signs in China town, but here is a great food tip - turn left out of the front door on of the hotel on Trengganu Street and take a first right onto the main road and head to Maxwells food court Hawker Centre.This place is NON- touristy - cheaper than what's on offer below and around the hotel and has fabulous food - it's where the locals eat.. and less than a 3 minute walk away. You could eat well here day and night for under $10.00 SD. Beers are cheap too.

Overall, very happy with my stay and I would stay again and recommend to others. Those who seek a really quiet room may be best suited elsewhere, however, even on new years eve day, I still had a great sleep and enjoyed the proximity to everything.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with private balcony are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for recommending us and write us a wonderful review! We are glad to know that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Please check out our official website for best available rates. Thank you again for sharing with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great looking hotel offering all the things you'd need on a travel, wifi, small safe and complimentary water bottles in your room.

The single room is small, (I had the corner, doesn't get smaller), but the bed is long enough for Europeans. TV works, storage space for clothes is adequate.

Bathroom is alright for usual use, just the shower is poor design.
You will either wet the toilet or the power plugs for your shaver.

Service is good, rooms are cleaned daily, they even printed my e-ticket on the trip back.
Of course the location is priceless. Right in the middle of everything, you can be at Sentosa or Orchard in 10 minutes.

So if you are on a budget looking for a little extra, this is a good choice for the city explorer.

Room Tip: Try not to get a corner room, or rooms facing Trenggnu Street, they will be the loudest. Top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and compliments! We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and are satisfied with our location, amenities and services. Thank you again for sharing with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good location with bus stop and metro station nearby, coffee shop and restaurant just otuside the hotel

Morning breakfast included in the room rate, are simple with toast/jam/butter and sausage/eggs/beans/fruits/coffee/tea/juice with friendly serving staffs

Room are small which are typical of Singapore hotel, 3 storeys with escalator and staircase, had request for a quite standard room which are given, come with a free bottle of water daily and bath gel/tooth brush, also a pair of paper slipper and safe desposit box, one thing are the toilet seat which are only about 12" facing the toilet wall which unless you are very skinny then you will need to sit sideway just to use the toilet seat

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad to know that you liked the hotel location. Indeed, the hotel location is perfect for leisure travellers and food lovers.

We recognize some of the hotel rooms are small especially toilet while we do have larger rooms available. If a spacious room is a guest’s preference, we will try our best to accede to their request and we would be pleased to recommend the room types for our customers.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming back again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Right in the centre of Chinatown. Tiny, decent layout. Funky space... Lots of red.

I visit Singapore a lot and sometimes just need a room for a late arrival or early departure... And don't want to disturb friends. I like this hotel as it doesn't have a "by the hour" feel and it's under a hundred dollars on travel sites. Don't stay here if you need daylight, or are going to be choosy. The rooms are small and the bathrooms smaller. It's cheap workmanship but clever (enough) design.

I would be disappointed if I paid a lot, expecting a boutique hotel. Think more "capsule hotel".

The have another Santa Grand a few doors away so cabbies get confused. Bothe face Temple Street. The other Santa Grand is also funky. Lots of velvet, not so much red.

Room Tip: Ask on check in for a run down on differences
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your patronage at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and pleased that our hotel corresponded to your expectations. Indeed, Santa Grand is the right hotel for business and leisure travellers in search of comfortable rooms with unique character at affordable rates.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you back with us again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Address: 25 Trengganu Street, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.