We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Chinatown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Save Saved
You added Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
25 Trengganu Street, Singapore 058476, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Chinatown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The location of the hotel was great in the middle of Chinatown. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The room was modern and clean, but very small. Possibly the smallest hotel room we've ever stayed in! The breakfast room was quite small and a bit overcrowded with people and some of the food might have been finished if you weren't there early enough. All in all, the hotel was good value for money and we would recommend this hotel for a nice stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and recommended us! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay wiht us.

We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast room, we will be increasing the seating capacity for breakfast to cater for its popularity, and will consider adding the opening hours should there be a need.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    260
    162
    43
    21
See reviews for
61
137
150
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice location, very near mrt and night markets in Chinatown, Lots of restaurants around the area to dine, Unique interior decorations, cozy bed, accomodation staffs, satisfactory breakfast and the room was a little bit crampy and doesn't have a window but I would stay again here on my next visit.

Room Tip: choose a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments. We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad that you liked the location, our breakfast and the Opera-style decoration. Unfortunately, the hotel room is small, and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and full day complimentary coffee/tea and free WIFI.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is decorated with the theme of traditional Chinese opera, for which I like it very much. The location is really good, it's only 5 mins' walk to the Chinatown MRT. Crew in the hotel are warm and helpful. Also, there's cafe and tea free of charge outside the room. The breakfast is okay for me(a little bit brief for some of you, I guess). Room here is small, while enough for me as a solo traveller. In addition, the lighting in the lobby is harmful to your eyes if reading newspapers. I'll stay here the next time I travel in Singapore.

Room Tip: If possible, demand a room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad that you liked our Opera-styled hotel designed.

At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

We appreciate your valuable feedback about the lighting in the lobby, we will look into the points that you raised personally and make the improvement.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadivisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The place its so perfect for vacation, near mrt , hawker food and souvenir shop, but the room was small and the breakfast doesnt variant.

the hotel people are friendly, and i dont have any difficulties when check in, also on the last day i can put my luggage in hotel so that i have extra couple hours to buy souvenir near hotel.

For extra tips tell the hotel you wanted to go to changi airport one day before youre depart so that the hotel call the airport to pick you up at the hotel, if you prefer bus than mrt

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliment. We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, the hotel room is small, and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and full day complimentary coffee/tea and free WIFI.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We really look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

It's an interesting hotel, lovely decoration and ambiance.
It's in a perfect location - good, cheap food all around the hotel, 5 mins walk to Chinatown MRT station, 10 minutes to Clarke Quay.
I was disappointed by the breakfast - buffet of cereal & fruit, toast, eggs, ham, beans, chicken, sausage. I expected at least some Asian dishes (congee?).
Staff were good - polite, friendly and helpful.
Wi-fi fast and reliable, good choice of channels on flat-screen wall-mounted tv.
Would go back.

Room Tip: My room ('Warrior') was small but OK as I was travelling alone. If you like space get a a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your patronage at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. We are delighted to know you had enjoyed your stay with us. At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and are sorry to hear that our breakfast did not meet your expectation. Your feedback will serve as a good basis for us to work on improving the offer.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

The room I stayed is very small and have no window.
So it's good for bagpackers or people who are sleep only in hotel.
But the location is great!
Many things enjayeable in China town and easy to acces to Clock Qay and Raffles Place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, the hotel room is small, and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and full day complimentary coffee/tea and free WIFI.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

First impression was good. very nice location. But as soon as arrived there, bellboy (don't know exactly if he is bellboy. could be security) wasn't kind at all, (first time to feel wasting tip)
When I enter the room, Oh my god. How small room it is! And what made me surprised is that there was no soup!! How could the hotel(which is called 3 star hotel) not provide a soup?
Beside.... the room was absolutely noisy. I don't know what they did outside, I couldn't barely sleep!! Breakfast is just same as Backpackers hostel's. I don't want to go back this hotel. NEVER!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation during your stay. We agree that the bellhop’s service can be improved and we have since counselled him. Unfortunately, the hotel room is small, and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and full day complimentary coffee and tea and wi-fi are available. You feedback on breakfast and soap will be considered.

The streets in Chinatown can be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambience in this heritage area, it can be troubling for travellers like you, which we are sorry to hear about. Our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Address: 25 Trengganu Street, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#121 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.