We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique but no four stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sultan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sultan to your Saves list
The Sultan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Jalan Sultan #01-01, Singapore 199002, Singapore (Kampong Glam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Boutique but no four stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The taxi drivers don’t know this hotel; therefore I suggest that you print a plan. It is a small hotel which is situated in a lively part of Singapore. The hotel complex consists of four houses that are linked together over a big terrace where a bar is situated. At night jazz music is played and the rooms giving to the terrace are quite noisy.
It is definite not a four star hotel, as the basic installations are missing, such as a breakfast room, a restaurant or a fitness centre. My assigned room on the third floor #315 which is under the roof was without windows. The bathroom was impossibly narrow. The decor is modern and new. The bed is not suitable for older persons as it is put on a wooden platform which allows not access from the sides. The rooms are equipped with a flat screen TV, coffee maker and safe. I did not like the positioning of the A/C directly over the bed, the absence of daylight and the individual boiler for hot water which is far too small (probably sufficient for single use). Wifi is free with an average speed.
There is no breakfast room. Eight tables are put together on the left side in the lobby, which is insufficient for the 64 rooms. The breakfast offer is miserable with two kind of toast bread but no fresh rolls or pastries, only cornflakes, no tropical fruits, eggs can be ordered but if it is just a bit more than eggs, than a supplement of SGD 4.50 is added
This part of Singapore is busy in the evenings with small eateries, spas, massage parlours and conveniences stores. It takes at least 10 minutes walking to the next metro station. The hotel is far off the tourist areas.
Taken into account the hefty price of nearly USD 200.- for B+B, the size of the room, the mediocre BF and the not so ideal location; I would only recommend the hotel for those who like the boutique style.

Room Tip: Not under the roof, not towards the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    87
    46
    11
    6
See reviews for
12
74
22
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great feel. Quite stylish, in an understated way, modern but with some of the history preserved. Room was small but very comfortable, nice furnishings and bathroom. Close to 3 MRT stations and lots of little hawker stalls and restaurants around. Perfect for a couple of nights. It's not five-star but you won't pay five-star rates, and for Singapore this hotel is pretty good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel in a "last minute deal" and it was excellent. Great room and very nice staff. There are several options of restaurant close to the hotel (in the Arab street area) and it is easy to get to the main touristic places. The breakfast and a "cargo elevator" to the third floor were the negative points.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days for the second time in 6 months and it is just as great as the first time. Fabulous service from the staff, included early checkin and late checkout, use of shower room as our flight left very late....great breakfast buffet...lovely room, comfy bed and pillows, great shower, honestly I could go on and on...The hotel is close to Lavender station, easy to get around on buses too. Highly recommended and can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Sultan and really enjoyed. The room was basic, but clean, well furnished, and had everything we needed (comfortable large bed, locked safe, bathroom, hot shower, no bugs, water kettle, tea/coffee, security, nice ambience). The location was excellent - we were close enough to two train stops that are direct to the airport and pretty easy walking distance to the esplanade and raffles hotel area. We mostly took taxis and it was very cheap and quick to get around.

Breakfast was included and "ok." There was only coffee or tea - no lattes or anything fancy. Food is buffet and the options are good, but they make small quantities at a time so get it while you can. They will make more, but it takes a little while and you might not want to wait. Service at breakfast was minimal.

One point of caution though - few people know where this hotel is yet. Take the address with you and tell the taxi drivers that it's in the Arab Quarter - and then narrow it down when you get there. Otherwise we had cab drivers take us to a nearby mosque or refuse to take us or drive around in AQ just looking for the hotel. Heartache can be avoided by simply knowing a little bit more about the location yourself.

All in all - I'd definitely recommend staying here. It's by far the most reasonable hotel we looked at and it met our needs perfectly. Singapore is expensive and ritzy - I doubt you will find better than this in terms of cost for quality and proximity.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room - off the street and not near the bar/club
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is charming - it is has been decorated around a Arab feel and being in the Arab quarter most appropriate. Our first room however, was near an entrance and just below the upstairs open entertainment area. It was really noisy. We asked to be moved and the hotel staff were accommodating and moved us to a room in the middle of the hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated albeit small but that is Singapore. The upstairs bar was lovely although it was difficult to get a drink from the infrequent passing waiters. On Friday night it seemed like the hub for local office people and it became very noisy. I recall one guest complaining about the noise to reception and thought perhaps he had our original room just below the bar.
Breakfast was buffet style and once again it was difficult to get the attention of staff even though it was a small area. There was some disinterest in whether guest were attended to. The reception staff however were very friendly and accommodating. Overall the experience was positive and we would recommend this hotel. It is close to the MRT and about a 20min walk to the Mustafa Centre. We got a special deal which made this more hotel attractive as accommodation in Singapore is expensive and the rooms are small.

Room Tip: Don't get a room either side of the corridors as you can hear people come in and out through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a single room which had a double bed. The room was clean and bed comfortable. The room was quite a bit more cramped than the photos of the single room on the web site, but it was perfectly fine for a mid priced stay in Singapore. The reality is that Singapore is an exciting country, so you shouldn't be spending loads of time in your hotel room any way!

The bad... The rain shower head in my room only part worked which meant the water was shooting out in a jet like fashion rather than rain shower. The hot water switch that other reviewers have mentioned seems to only provide a limited amount of hot water.

No power point in the bathroom, meant that you have to use the hair dryer in the bedroom, but no mirror in the bed room means you can't see what you are doing as you dry your hair.

The hotel is located next to a school and nearby mosque. This is great from a cultural experience point of view, but you will be woken by the early morning call to prayer, which you won't encounter in other areas in inner Singapore. The hotel has a nice jazz bar upstairs with a very relaxed vibe and mix of locals and ex-pats.

If I stayed here again, I'd upgrade to a bigger room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sultan

Address: 101 Jalan Sultan #01-01, Singapore 199002, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#85 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sultan 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sultan is a 64-room shop house style boutique hotel, nestled right in the heart of culturally vibrant Kampong Glam. Faithfully preserved and recreated from traditional Singaporean shop houses; The Sultan retains many beautiful architectural features that hark back to a time in Singapore’s past when Kampong Glam was a bustling shopping and trading district and shop houses were magnificently built with great arches and columns to be used by owners as both their personal residence and their place of business. The distinctive building which houses The Sultan’s main lobby is so prized for its historical and cultural relevance, and architectural beauty, that it has appeared on a 1996 Singapore postage stamp. At The Sultan, you won’t have to give up the perks of modern comforts and luxuries to get a taste of old world Singapore charm.Priding itself on good ol’ Singaporean hospitality, each and every single member of The Sultan family looks forward to making your stay one that is truly memorable. Be it a personalized walking tour through Kampong Glam, or just making sure you get your breakfast just the way you like it, The Sultan family hopes that you find in The Sultan a haven from the hustle and bustle, a refuge from the blazing Singapore heat, a home away from home.The Sultan boasts 64 hotel guest rooms, offering 8 different room types to cater to our guests’ different budgets and needs. No two room in The Sultan are exactly the same, spanning different visual themes, views and spatial set ups, giving our guests a little surprise each time they come back to visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sultan Hotel Singapore
The Sultan Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sultan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.