We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good compromise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Bay Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Telok Blangah Road | (Hotel entrance via Temenggong Road), Singapore 098828, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very good compromise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

There are some wonderful hotels in Singapore but they are very expensive, the better the hotel and location the higher the price. The Bay is not the best hotel in Singapore by a long shot but it is a very good compromise between price and location. Other hotels that are at this price are in places you don't want to stay The Bay although on a busy, noisy main road is a short walk from Vivo City, Harbourfront, the ferry terminal, and Sentosa Island. A footpath behind the hotel leads up to Faber Park, a lush green space with great views of the city. There are a couple of good places in the park to have a bite to eat and a sundowner and you can catch the cable car down to Sentosa for more great views. Rooms are quite small but have everything you need including a complimentary mini-bar which is a first for me. If you just need a base and somewhere to sleep the Bay is great if you need lots of space then its not for you. Rooms at the front overlook the road so can be noisy until the traffic dies down. If you want to go to bed early ask for a room that looks over the park behind. The staff are worth a mention because they are incredibly friendly and helpful especially the front desk.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the park are much quieter, all rooms are small by comparison to other hotels in S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    196
    118
    43
    37
See reviews for
70
131
36
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Excellent hotel in great location and reasonably priced. Across the road from entrance to Sentosa and ViVo City shopping center.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Rooms are small but really how much time do you spend in the room

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms only a little more expensive but a little bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I needed somewhere to change clothes prior to my wedding, and this was the closest to home (except a few semi-brothels with rooms by the hour). Even though I had paid for an upgrade, the room I was shown to was tiny - too small even to fit the handbasin into the shower room/toilet. They claimed it was the biggest they had - but when I explored another floor I saw a larger room with its door open. I complained, and manged to bag one of the larger rooms - but there still was no wardrobe or even proper hanging space for clothes.
Size apart though, this is a decent hotel, convenient for transport links and well equipped with the usual hotel amenities and friendly and helpful staff. In notoriously expensive Singapore, reasonable value.

Room Tip: One side has a sea view, but is noisier. Part of the rear overlooks a Muslim graveyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I cannot believe very small room. And not space put down your luggage. The bedroom very dirty I request change the room. I have a place to go sightseeing receptionist suggested that I take a taxi because this place is more inconvenient, and then try to go actually not difficult. The room very proof sound insulation I'm not consolidation this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: I cannot believe very small room. And not space put down your luggage. The bedroom very dirty I req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one week. Location is great. The hotel is close to VivoCity and HarbourFront station, so I can easily go shopping and find something to eat at VivoCity, or go to Sentosa.

Although the room we stayed is small but it is enough to us, not to mention the minibar that is refilled every day. WIFI is free. It is good in the morning but didn't work well at night. Breakfast is wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Book directly from their web site. Got upgrade to a better room ( that's what we've been told)
It's still a small room for many people, you cant keep opening the luggage in room if you need to walk around, but i am ok with that.
we checked-in at late night around 10pm, was worry the food court in Vivo city will be closed. But we've been told by the nice reception girl, there has a outdoor food court next to Vivo city.
Food not very nice but still ok at the late night.
Very close to Vivo city, it just take me about 5 mins walk including wait for traffie lights.
If you are not too picky about the room size, and want to save over SG$100 ( compare to resorts in Sentosa ), it's a good hotel to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed in the Bay Hotel for 7 nights. It is close to the subway station (connected to two subway lines) and one can travel to most of the attractions of Singapore on the subway. It is also a short walk across the bridge to Sentosa Island. The Vivo city nearby has plenty of excellent restaurants. I don't think one can ask for a more convenient location. The staff were all very helpful and I am very satisfied with the service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bay Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Hotel Singapore

Address: 50 Telok Blangah Road | (Hotel entrance via Temenggong Road), Singapore 098828, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Hotel Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Bay Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.