We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended. For Hobbits.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Bay Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Telok Blangah Road | (Hotel entrance via Temenggong Road), Singapore 098828, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Recommended. For Hobbits.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

First warning: don't stay in this hotel with a colleague or a friend. Why? Because the bathroom isn't opaque enough especially when you're taking a shower.

Second Warning: There's really no room. This isn't boutique; it's pillbox.

The only redeeming quality? Great beds. Comfy pillows. Near vivo city, which is a decently sized mall in Sentosa. The bar is complimentary.

Would i recommend it? Sure, if you're single and under 4 feet tall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed the bedding experience, great location and minibar service.

Our Deluxe Queen room, at 23 - 26 square metres, is a good size and appeals to most of our guests who have stayed in them; good, also, for two persons. We are in the final phase of rolling out bigger rooms and they are expected to be ready soon.

Please check back with us for new developments. We believe, with our strong USPs, you will have reason to stay with us on your next trip when our bigger rooms are ready. We look forward to having you again.

Regards
Bay Hotel Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    143
    95
    37
    35
See reviews for
53
98
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

One of the worst Hotels I've stayed. Upon check in, the room was not ready, I had to wait along with many other people who are waiting for their room. The room we got was the one facing the cemetery and express way which was freaky. The pool was small and the surroundings wasnt clean (Old towels and tiger beer cans on the floor) Other than that, the room was ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.

We regret that we could not facilitate immediate check-in due to the fact that the hotel was experiencing high occupancy and with guest extensions causing room turn-around to be delayed.

Bay Hotel is located on a rich heritage site that is Telok Blangah – home to the Temenggong and the royal family that gave British the rights to be in Singapore.

Sited next to a Malay heritage site also gives us great pleasure to celebrate Telok Blangah’s history. The historical mosque that is the Masjid Temenggong Daeng Ibrahim is an interesting piece of history that points to Singapore and Malaysia’s intimate relationship prior to independence.

Home of the royal family of Temenggong Abdul Ibrahim, this is now a mosque. The mausoleum is now home to the royal family of the Temenggong. Once upon a time, the European colonial powers had significant influence in the Malay archipelago – the likes of Dutch and Portuguese. It was with that interest in mind that Raffles, a British trader representing the British government set foot in Singapore. He signed a treaty with the Temenggong which gave the British rights to establish a trading post in Singapore. With that, the Temenggong and his family moved to Telok Blangah and the royal family lived there since. With close to 200 years of history to its belt, the heritage site is a good jumping board to explore other facets of pre-Raffles history and places of interest in Singapore, e.g., Kampong Glam, Arab Street, Haji Lane, Geylang Serai.

We take cleanliness and hygiene very seriously and will be extra vigilant that we maintain high standards in the public areas to ensure there are no old towels and beer cans lying around places like the pool, for instance.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused from the late check-in and really look forward to serve you better in future.

Regards
Bay Hotel Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Here's the good point. The location is near vivo and sentosa. Here's the bad points. Check in takes 3 hours. Low efficiency in housekeeping. Not enough manpower. Overall experience: Not coming back again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We regret we could not facilitate immediate check-in at 2pm due to our hotel experiencing high occupancy rates and also with guest extensions causing room turn-around to be delayed. We will work with our Front Office and Housekeeping teams to make structural changes to decreasing the turn-around time and enabling earlier check-ins in future.

We apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to providing you with a more esteemed experience on your next stay with us.

Bay Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Well, we bought a deal staycation at Groupon and decided to give Bay Hotel a try on our weekend. Great location we thought. Room is clean, but compact. We waited for 1 hour to check in. And the best part was that the room was ready, the service staff did not bother to inform us though we are sitting right in front of it. It's really a ruined day for us. What kind of a hotel takes 2 hours to prepare for check in. If a hotel demand u to check out at 12, and check in at 2, you jolly well make sure your customers check in by 2. Full of nonsense. We arrived at 230 to check in. The staff told us that the room will be ready in one more hour. Well done Bay hotel, and I don't want to even mention that the view faces a Muslim cemetery, I'm not a superstitious person but think about your customers. Should you have design your hotel in a different way? It's possible, just that you guys are not able to think for your customers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.

We regret that we could not facilitate immediate check-in due to the fact that the hotel was experiencing high occupancy and with guest extensions causing room turn-around to be delayed.

Bay Hotel is located on a rich heritage site that is Telok Blangah – home to the Temenggong and the royal family that gave British the rights to be in Singapore.

Sited next to a Malay heritage site also gives us great pleasure to celebrate Telok Blangah’s history. The historical mosque that is the Masjid Temenggong Daeng Ibrahim is an interesting piece of history that points to Singapore and Malaysia’s intimate relationship prior to independence.

Home of the royal family of Temenggong Abdul Ibrahim, this is now a mosque. The mausoleum is now home to the royal family of the Temenggong. Once upon a time, the European colonial powers had significant influence in the Malay archipelago – the likes of Dutch and Portuguese. It was with that interest in mind that Raffles, a British trader representing the British government set foot in Singapore. He signed a treaty with the Temenggong which gave the British rights to establish a trading post in Singapore. With that, the Temenggong and his family moved to Telok Blangah and the royal family lived there since. With close to 200 years of history to its belt, the heritage site is a good jumping board to explore other facets of pre-Raffles history and places of interest in Singapore, e.g., Kampong Glam, Arab Street, Haji Lane, Geylang Serai.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused from the late check-in and really look forward to serve you better in future.

Regards
Bay Hotel Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My short staycation with friends at Bay Hotel was great. Happy with everything and the location is excellent. Just across the street from Vivocity and you can literally see Sentosa from the hotel. Had dinner at Rumah Rasa in the hotel and the meals were tasty. The waiter by the name of Jarren was very friendly, helpful and attentive, making great recommendations and ensuring everything was in order. Jarren certainly went above and beyond, and raises the bar for service standards in Singapore.

Great food, great service, and comfy rooms. If you're visiting Singapore and looking to stay somewhere slightly further from the hustle and bustle of Orchard Road, or if you're a Singapore resident seeking a nice staycation that gives you easy access to Sentosa without paying exorbitant prices for rooms at Sentosa Island itself, Bay Hotel is a great choice!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed a night and was glad it was only a night here.
We had a deluxe room which faced the malay cemetery and part of the expressway. The direction of the room window was in such a way, we would definitely be able to have a nice sun bath in the morning, just by lying on our bed.
The room itself is rather small with very much just a small corner to shower and another corner where the toilet bowl sat. The shower and toilet bowl area were separated. Enclosing these private areas was a frosted glass. The wash basin and a large mirror shared the spot where coffee making facilities were available.
The shower area.. Took us some time to figure out how best to shower, dry and dress ourselves. There was no where nor nothing for us to hang our clothes or even a towel! No doubt, we could hang our toilet on the metal rail attached on the outside of the sliding door.
What we loved? Was the flat screen, Toshiba TV. 14 channels, with a few cable channels (HBO, AXN, MTV, discovery channel, CNN).
An elongated pool was found on the 6th floor of the hotel, facing the forest. One look at the pool and, I decided not to take a dip. The water looked uninvitingly dirty.
Included in our stay package was a buffet breakfast in the lounge on the first floor.
My first comment to my friend was, "Feels like we are in some food court.." The tables were crammed together and the staff, were a little inefficient in cleaning up and replenishing the necessary utensils. We had to 'steal' the sets from another table.
Food wise, nothing exceptional. Food spread was, disappointing. Best thing I took? Was the single option of frosted cornflakes with a splash of full cream milk.
Sad to say, other than the hotel being in a good location, just opposite/5mins walk from Harbourfront Mrt (NEL), I wouldn't actually make this a choice hotel.
Probably good for single travellers on a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Our Deluxe Queen room, at 23 - 26 square metres, is a good size and appeals to most of our guests who have stayed in them; good, also, for two persons. The metal rail attached to the bathroom stall is possibly the best place to hang clothes and towel during one's shower. We are in the final phase of rolling out bigger rooms and they are expected to be ready soon.

Bay Hotel is located on a rich heritage site that is Telok Blangah – home to the Temenggong and the royal family that gave British the rights to be in Singapore.

Sited next to a Malay heritage site also gives us great pleasure to celebrate Telok Blangah’s history. The historical mosque that is the Masjid Temenggong Daeng Ibrahim is an interesting piece of history that points to Singapore and Malaysia’s intimate relationship prior to independence.

Home of the royal family of Temenggong Abdul Ibrahim, this is now a mosque. The mausoleum is now home to the royal family of the Temenggong. Once upon a time, the European colonial powers had significant influence in the Malay archipelago – the likes of Dutch and Portuguese. It was with that interest in mind that Raffles, a British trader representing the British government set foot in Singapore. He signed a treaty with the Temenggong which gave the British rights to establish a trading post in Singapore. With that, the Temenggong and his family moved to Telok Blangah and the royal family lived there since. With close to 200 years of history to its belt, the heritage site is a good jumping board to explore other facets of pre-Raffles history and places of interest in Singapore, e.g., Kampong Glam, Arab Street, Haji Lane, Geylang Serai

Breakfast can get very busy but we do our best to double up the service and will looking into staffing issues. We make it up by having a very comprehensive selection of continental and Asian breakfast treats.

We will also look into the problem of the pool and rectify the problem soonest.

We look forward to welcoming you at our hotel very soon.

Bay Hotel Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Things I Like:
- The room looks new and clean.
- The buffet breakfast has a good spread.
- The hotel is walking distance from Vivocity and Sentosa

What I did not like:
- My room on the 5th floor was right next to the flyover; hardly any privacy.
- Noise from the traffic and also the corridor (sounds like service staff and other guests) disturbed our sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor possible (Level 10 being the highest), and facing Sentosa. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and we are thrilled that you love our hotel in more ways than one.

Our windows are double glazed and we do our best to ensure that there is minimal noise. We will certainly inform our departments re. this situation and ensure that our team as well as guests are conscious of other guests' need for a tranquil stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Bay Hotel Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Hotel Singapore

Address: 50 Telok Blangah Road | (Hotel entrance via Temenggong Road), Singapore 098828, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Hotel Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bay Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.