We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ardennes Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Ardennes Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ardennes Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jalan Klapa, Singapore 199323, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pretty good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Good value hotel.

Positives:
- great location and easy to get to from airport by taxi or even MTR are two stations are less that 5 mins walk away
- free wifi
- fantastic, friendly staff and service
- rooms good and given fresh fruit and water in room
- great coffee in morning, free breakfast
- great value
- swimming pool above the bar

Negatives
- rooms don't have much natural light. So dark had no idea if day or night
- breakfast is good if you like fry ups

Would return. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
30
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was the second hotel that we stayed in while on our vacation in Singapore. I had high expectations from this property as its rated 4 star on Booking.com. But to sheer surprise it was a real pain to even find this hotel. We got down at Bugis station and asked the locals and taxis about the hotel and the street it was located on, but none had any idea. Took us more than an hour to finally locate this hotel and check in.

Pros: Clean room, friendly staff.

Cons: Location, expensive, not a very fancy hotel to be rated as 4 star, tiny swimming pool, very limited choice for breakfast.

At this price, one can get better hotels in Singapore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a staycation at this little hotel located right in the middle of Lavender and Bugis road. Was given the black suite though I had initially booked for the floral suite. Even after I argued with the reception, the staff just simply refused to change to my original floral suite for me as they had given my room to another occupant. This really spoiled my day.

Other than the rude service given by the hotel staff, this hotel is pretty worth staying if you love privacy and do not mind the service provided, since they do not have much occupancy units here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Ardennes is a well located 15 room boutique hotel. The interior is quite stylish and even though the room is small, it is neat and adequate. Given that Singapore hotels are expensive, this one is at the lower end of the range for those that claim to be 4 star. The property is only 5 minutes walk from Bugis Junction and there are several interesting bars and cafes on the same street, Jalan Klapa (Malay for "Coconut Street"). The hotel even has a nice looking pool on the second floor, but I cannot imagine it gets much use because it is tiny and located directly outside a couple of guest rooms.

That is the good part.

Now the problems. Firstly, the breakfast is totally inadequate. There is no choice - either you accept a plate with a weird vegetarian combination of a pancake, scrambled eggs and a hash brown or you get nothing. There is a single piece of fruit on offer. Hello? What is wrong with the "cook" buying a packet of bacon and some sausages on the way to work???? And how about some bananas, which you can buy around the corner for next to nothing??? This is sheer laziness on the part of the staff and management and lets the hotel down badly.

Secondly, it appears that the staff lie (or have been told to lie by the management). I asked for a late checkout - a very routine request in Singapore because many of us have evening flights and one which is almost invariably granted. However, the response from the front desk was "No, we are fully booked". Well boys and girls, in this age of the internet that's fairly easy to investigate and the very first site I went to - Agoda - showed that there was in fact at least one room still available.

So the correct response to my request for a late check out should have been "No - we can't be bothered" or "No, it doesn't suit us".

I can live with the substandard breakfast. What I cannot abide is being lied to. Shame on you.

Room Tip: There probably is not a great deal of difference given there are a total of 15 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We´ve stayed in the "black" executive suite and that was gorgeus. We stayed for 3 nights so the room and bathroom was great for relaxing after expending all day visiting Singapore. The only regret was the breakfast, everyday was the same and it would have been nice to have some more variety.
It´s an small hotel, which makes it quiet and wtih many nice details that makes you feel like in a higher star.
It´s well located, and you can find many places to eat around. THe buildings of the area have all 3 floors, and that in Singapore you will appreciate, . Just one tip, if you take a taxi, just remeber to take a card so that the driver can know how to find it.

Room Tip: It´s well known that in Asia all the rooms are small, so if you can take a suite, you will hace spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

For the prices I payed, there is no convenience. Too small room (suite) and not cleaned sheet.
I think it would be better considered a medium 3 star hotel than a 4.
The only positive thing is that is nearest the nice Bugis zone and not so far (8 minutes walking) from the subway.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

cheap hotel but very nice room, it's a low rise hotel, accessible bec it's between two MRT station. SInce it's a bit walking distance to MRT station you can ride a bus going there for 2-3mins. there's convenience store and easy for taxi to find it. The breakfast is good.

We stayed at the ground rooms, room 101, dont stay below rooms bec you can hear footsteps from the stairway made of wood, though they have elevators I am not sure why many people use it. nice frontdesk, very accomodating

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ardennes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardennes Hotel

Address: 11 Jalan Klapa, Singapore 199323, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#137 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ardennes Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Ardennes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ardennes Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ardennes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.