We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A medium 3 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ardennes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ardennes Hotel to your Saves list
The Ardennes Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jalan Klapa, Singapore 199323, Singapore (Kampong Glam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
roma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A medium 3 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

For the prices I payed, there is no convenience. Too small room (suite) and not cleaned sheet.
I think it would be better considered a medium 3 star hotel than a 4.
The only positive thing is that is nearest the nice Bugis zone and not so far (8 minutes walking) from the subway.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    17
    3
    7
See reviews for
5
41
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

cheap hotel but very nice room, it's a low rise hotel, accessible bec it's between two MRT station. SInce it's a bit walking distance to MRT station you can ride a bus going there for 2-3mins. there's convenience store and easy for taxi to find it. The breakfast is good.

We stayed at the ground rooms, room 101, dont stay below rooms bec you can hear footsteps from the stairway made of wood, though they have elevators I am not sure why many people use it. nice frontdesk, very accomodating

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Well, although I put 4-stars for this hotel, I must tell that there are two minor problems with this hotel; first, the taxi driver from the airport did not know that this hotel is exist!! I mean, how can a taxi driver doesn't know about it? Because of this, we got off at Bugis Junction and were forced to walk to the hotel as we didn't have any other option. That was our first trip to Singapore, we were barely blind with everything, luckily I noted the hotel adresse and remembered the route from Bugis to the hotel from google map.
So, after almost half an hour, we arrived at the Ardennes, and feel happy with what we see, the hotel is nice, clean, comfort, modern even tho it was small compare to other hotel.
However, we were quite surprise to find that the breakfast was not in buffet style. They only have omelet, sausages, some fish chips *I guess*, and coffee, milk, tea, or juice. Surely you may ask for more portion if what they gave you is not enough for you, but they don't have anything else to offer in the morning. The restaurant itself is small if it's not tiny, but the ceiling is quite unique; while having your breakfast, you can see the sky through a transparent ceiling which is actually a swimming pool. I didn't see anyone swimming during my stay there, but I think it would be quite an experience as well if you want to try it.
For the room, I found that it was so clean, comfortable, and practical. The bathroom consist of shower cabin, a toilet, a wash basin and some amenities provided for free. You also have hairdryer in the closet, you can make your own coffe and tea as well, the flat screen tv is nice, the bed is bouncy, me and my husband really enjoyed our stay. The Ardennes located adjacent to Kampong Glam, Arab and Haji Lane, you can walk to Bugis street. We walked up to Orchard, Mustafa, Clark Quay, and SIngapore Flyer, it was nice, but for those who can't bare the heat, I won't recommend to stroll down the street after 10 AM, luckily, the MRT Bugis is only 300-400 meter away from the Ardennes, so there won't be any problem.
Otherwise, you can ask the friendly hotel staff to reserve a cab which will show up right in front of the hotel door *yes, the door, because the Ardennes is located in the lane, not street*... The staff booked me a cab to the airport as well and it came on time. I also had a problem with my credit card, but the staff gave me an option and it was really heplful indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Room is ok, location wise its located between 2 MRT station. Kinda bum if you want to walk right or left, although its only 5-8 min walk.
Amenities also in par with any other 4 stars hotel. however, taxi driver got difficulties to find the location

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I chanced upon The Ardennes one day and thought the exterior was particularly inviting. Made a booking for their suite on agoda, was allocated Flora II on the second floor. The lift works interestingly, for the handicapped in particular - I needed to hold the button until the floor was reached if not risk it hanging in mid-air. Taking the stairs could be a better option.

For starters, they are shorthanded, the receptionist doubles up as the f&b manager as well. Room was clearly unoccupied for a while, the aircon took quite awhile to warm up.

See through bathroom which was cool but the size of their so-called "suite" is too small! No windows, as expected. Bed was comfy thankfully.

Breakfast was just omelette, wedges, sausages with bacon. A choice of beverage but really average.

If anything, the recep kindly extended our checkout time by an hour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I chose this small hotel from Agoda and was really happy with it. Loved location being an easy walk from Bugis rail and Plaza Centre, and Indian Market and food area, also a great local Chinese cafe around the corner, one of the boys at the hotel directed me to, l found the staff to be helpful, though breakfast not great. Room well appointed a bit noisy,with street outlook, but would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Request room with window off the street,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here for four nights and were glad we did.

Lovely modern rooms with nice bathroom, all very clean. Our room opened up onto the small pool area which was nice. Pool had glass bottom which was the roof of the restaurant.

Location is very close to transport, shopping, restaurants and massage right outside the door.

You get served a cooked breakfast each morning which was nice but it would be good to have the choice of a cold fruit and toast type selection also.

Yes, rooms are small but offer very good value in an expensive city for decent accommodation.

Friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you can, book a suite for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ardennes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardennes Hotel

Address: 11 Jalan Klapa, Singapore 199323, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ardennes Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ardennes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ardennes Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ardennes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.