We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in a modern, cozy setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Forest by Wangz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Forest by Wangz to your Saves list
The Forest by Wangz
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   145A Moulmein Road, Singapore 308108, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF
Ranked #1 of 302 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great service in a modern, cozy setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose Forest By Wangz as our earlier booking in another hotel had issues and had to be cancelled in the last minute. Since we did not have time, we simply chose the top rated hotel by TripAdvisor - Forest By Wangz - and we were not disappointed!

The staff in this cozy, modern place is absolutely wonderful and make it all worthwhile - we landed up at the hotel by 7 AM very tired (after a 5 hour wait at the old KL airport) and we were welcomed to our room though we were 7 hours early of the check-in time! (please do not expect for this to be the norm - that will be a huge disservice to the staff at Forest).

The studio room was small - in fact, a bit cramped (about 300 sft) - but had everything there. A kitchen with 2 burners, a microwave oven, a toaster and several types of vessels and cutlery - all of top quality and excellent condition. The music system was a nice addition and we used it quite a bit. The king size bed was comfortable. There was an additional sofa as well. We had free Wifi, free local phone calls and free breakfast for all four of us.

We have two boys - one who is 12 years old (grouped as adult in Singapore hotels). Most hotels we had contacted earlier had issues in allowing the four of us to stay in one room - they either wanted us to take up a 1-bedroom unit and purchase an additional bed or take up two separate rooms. However, at Forest, they left this entirely up to us, which was great!

The breakfast was absolutely fantastic -the spread was great and the staff cooked a variety of egg-based items, pancakes, waffles and hash-browns. The breakfast area was very nice and the whole experience, perfect.

The roof top lounge along with the garden is extremely relaxing with some lovely furniture and the city views. The swimming pool looked inviting, but we did not have the time to enjoy it.

The location is fantastic being very close to the MRT, shopping district and the city center.

But what tops the experience is the exceptional service and the genuine warmth of the staff. They were always available and helpful.

Two aspects that tourists to Singapore may be concerned about:
- being a service apartment, there is a minimal stay requirement of 7 days
- the cost is close to that of several glitzy, high end hotels. As tourists, if the prices are comparable, there may be a temptation to stay in large, grand hotels than in a smaller place such as Forest

Having said that, ultimately, as tourists, we would also like to come back to a cozy place with friendly staff and a comfortable room. The fact that the building is large or has a grander reception area should not really matter. It did not matter to us!

We would definitely go back to Forest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Ramesh-Vini,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It always warms our hearts to read such positive reviews like yours.

Please allow me to clarify that not all Studio apartments have a sofa fitted in them. And while each apartment does allow a maximum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 children (aged 12 years and below), there is limited space to add an extra mattress in the Studio so we strongly recommend families with older children to stay in the One-bedroom apartments instead.

All of us have enjoyed serving you and look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    24
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
68
96
17
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Forest was an amazing experience. I stayed there for 3 weeks for a business trip and everyone made me feel like home. Great service, location and room. I recommend it to everyone who wants to avoid big hotels in the city center of Singapore and wants something more intimate!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear M2M38,

We are glad to have made your overseas business assignment and first visit to Asia a pleasant experience. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your return in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Forest is a wonderful small hotel with great amenities and very genial and helpful staff. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment the taxi pulled up and all the staff looked after us so well during our visit. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and found this to be cool, quiet and with great contempory decor. Having a kitchen is good for a break from eating out and we enjoyed the balcony for a drink and read after a day out. Terrific rooftop garden area and guest lounge and great breakfst where we were given a choice of hot food each morning. The hotel is in a very handy location - MRT and shopping centre is only 10 mins walk away and shady of a morning. It was just like living in your own apartment in Singapore. We loved the Forest experience and can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear headgero,

We are delighted that you felt right at home in our serviced residences and have enjoyed our facilities and amenities.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom executive room, which has a small living area with full kitchen and bedroom separated by a sliding glass door. The living room has a small couch and large TV with DVD player. The kitchen has everything you need to cook, along with a washer/drier. There is a nice patio with table and chairs off the living area. The bedroom is small, but there is enough storage space under the bed (in drawers) and in a mini closet. The bed is really comfortable and there is a second flat screen TV mounted high on the wall (it is a bit too high). The bathroom is also small, but has ample storage space and yummy-smelling Moulton Brown toiletries. The room has wi-fi, a LAN line, safe, and bathrobes. The welcome note and munchies were a nice touch, especially because they happened to be some of my husband’s favorite snacks.

The hotel is in a really nice residential neighborhood just outside the city center. It is only a five minute walk to a shopping center / grocery store and the north/south MRT line. The hotel also offers a daily shuttle in the mornings to several locations in the city.

The room rate includes a continental breakfast each day except Sunday with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, and pastries. We really liked the coffee/espresso/tea machine and water cooler in the lounge that is open all day.

The courtyard pool is a nice space to cool off and relax. There is a small gym overlooking the pool with a Lifecycle treadmill and elliptical machine, free weights, multi-purpose weight machine, towels, and bottled water. There is a large TV, but it is so high on the wall that it is tough to see on the cardio machines unless you tilt your head back.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. On the way out one day we mentioned that my husband was recovering from dysentery. While we were out, the staff left electrolyte drinks, bananas, and a get well note in our flat.

The Forest by Wangz is a great choice if you seek a flat where you can settle in, cook, do laundry, and get to the city center with relative ease.

If you would like to read about what we did in Singapore, please visit our travel blog, www.latitudeb.com/singapore/.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear ross_terry,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and for the recognition of our service. We are very happy to know you had a memorable experience and look forward to your return in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked Forest by Wangz for a week's hilday in Singapore and it proved to be absolutely perfect. The apartment itself was spotless, well equipped (inc washing machine/ dryer - much needed), and very well serviced on a daily basis. Make sure you get one with a balcony, I'm not sure if all the rooms have them but I don't think so. From the moment you arrive the staff are tremendous. The breakfasts are very good and Gideon is great to talk to first thing in a morning. The staff simply could not be bettered. With the amenities they have, the welcome they give, and the way they go out of their way to help you - we could not envisage staying anywhere else if we go back. First class.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear GeoffH2013,

We are delighted to read of your favourable experience at our serviced residences. All of us thank you for your generous compliments.

Indeed, out of the three apartment categories we offer, only the One-bedroom Executive and One-bedroom Premier apartments come with a balcony.

It has been a great pleasure hosting you at our property and we hope to welcome you back again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We've stayed in a lot of hotels over the years but Wangz would be the most outstanding in terms of the incredible personal service provided by the friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble and there were numerous unexpected touches which all went towards making it a fantastic experience.
The breakfasts were a real highlight and a great way to start each day.
The hotel itself is superb - contemporary, comfortable and intimate - it felt more like a resort than a city hotel.
The location was also great, a little out of the city centre but walking distance to the local mall and MRT station.

Room Tip: Frankly I doubt there's a bad room, a balcony would be a nice indulgence but is not essential un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Gunnrz0377,

We are proud to receive such high accolades and on behalf of the team, thank you for your generous compliments. It has been a pleasure having you as our resident and we glad to have provided you with a memorable accommodation experience.

Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I can absolutely recommend this hotel in every way! The rooms, the staff, the pool, the roof top area, the complimentary breakfast & location were all wonderful. My husband & I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Studio rooms are ample for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear 943CLR943,

Thank you for your positive recommendation and we are glad you enjoyed your experience at our serviced residences. All of us look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Forest by Wangz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forest by Wangz

Address: 145A Moulmein Road, Singapore 308108, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#1 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#1 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Forest by Wangz 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FOREST BY WANGZ is an exclusive 38-apartment boutique serviced residence offering flexible short term and monthly stays in the heart of Singapore. Ideal for the expatriate on project assignment or relocation, the residence is located just a short drive from the vibrant Orchard Road, the financial district and medical research hub at Novena.Offering comfortable, modern style accommodations including a separate open plan style living and dining area with a fully-equipped kitchenette, the residence also has excellent leisure facilities such as a fitness centre, an outdoor infinity-edge lap pool and a rooftop garden with spectacular cityscape views.Residents at THE FOREST BY WANGZ are pampered by a dedicated team providing attentive and discreet service as we invite all to stay inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Forest by Wangz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forest By Wangz Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forest by Wangz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.