We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the Best Residence in Singapore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Forest by Wangz

Save Saved
You added The Forest by Wangz to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Forest by Wangz
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   145A Moulmein Road, Singapore 308108, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off BAR
Ranked #1 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Probably the Best Residence in Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Excellent place to stay, a real home from home feel and very peaceful.
The staff are excellent always greet you by name and made our stay a real pleasure. They all knew Singapore well and were pleased to offer advice on attractions and how to make the most of your stay and explain travel options.
The room was well equipped with a King Size Bed lots of pillows and cushions, plenty of wardrobe space for an extended stay. The large flat screen TV with DVD player was great for watching a movie or preparing a presentation. The small kitchenette was well equipped with a large fridge/freezer, small microwave/oven, toaster, kettle, hob unit and ample knives,plates,cups, glasses etc. Great breakfast with wide choice to suit most tastes. There is a complimentary scheduled shuttle service with pickups during the week and also at weekends and public holidays. The swimming pool, gym and roof top terrace are great places to relax. Location is a five minute walk to the nearest MRT and shopping centres with restaurants , supermarkets etc. We would definitely stay here again and through recommend The Forest by Wangz as a great place to stay in Singapore.

Room Tip: Rooms can be linked if you have a large group, advise the management of your requirements. Some sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Neil H,

Thank you for writing this detailed review and we are glad you and your wife had a wonderful and homely experience at our serviced residence.

All of us look forward to your return and please take care till we meet again.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
78
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This residence hotel and it's helpful staff made our first-time stay in Singapore a pure pleasure. It was just what the other reviews led us to expect. However you must be planning a stay of 7 days or more and, of course, you can stay much longer. In fact, on our first day there, we met a gentleman that was already in his 8th month in residence!!!

First and foremost, the entire staff was most accommodating!! Just one example is that our flight arrived in Singapore very early in the morning, and they allowed us to secure our bags until our room was available for check-in.

Also when we asked about information in relation to any particular attraction, they produced information and even supplied some of their own recommendations.

The Forest provided many other little touches that we appreciated during our 2 week stay such as:

1. Room curtains that were heavy and light-eliminating so we could get our rest and adjust to the new time zone.
2. Security card access to reach the upper floors.
3. In-room safe for your valuables.
4. Several adapter plugs were already placed into the room sockets.
5. Ice cube trays filled and 2 large bottles of mineral water were already chilled.
6. Kitchenette had sufficient utensils and dishes (including stemware).
7. Rooftop sitting, conversation, and viewing area was lovely.
8. Breakfast buffet with a good variety of items, including fresh fruit. Gideon makes wonderful pancakes and omelets.
9. Auto-on lighting when the closet doors were opened.
10. DND (do not disturb) light and Clean Room light switches for the maid service.
11. Location that was within walking distance (10-15 min.) to two malls and the MRT.
12. They provide business cards with the hotel address so that we could communicate easily with taxi drivers.
13. It was good to have the laundry room available in the basement (SG $5 for washer loads & free dryer).
14. Free in-room internet was very much appreciated and helpful.
15. Once again, the staff was most congenial. Everyone from front desk, dining room, and even gardeners were friendly and welcoming. They went out of their way to be helpful.

In conclusion, we will be staying here again when we return to Singapore, and will recommend it to anyone planning a longer term stay in Singapore.

Room Tip: Even our street-side room was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Rick S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write such a detailed and positive review. The team appreciates your generous compliments and are happy to have made your two weeks away from home a pleasant one.

All of us have enjoyed your company as much and look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future. Please keep well till we meet again.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Forest for a week with our 13mth toddler in an executive apartment. The facilities and staff are very 'baby friendly'. They provided a cot and feeding chair on request. The room was equipped with a small kitchenette, which allowed me to prepare simple meals for our baby. The hard floors throughout ensured that we could keep it clean with our food throwing toddler. The living area is separated from the room via a glass sliding door, which meant that we could move the baby cot into a separate sleeping area at night.

The staff were very thoughtful and enjoyed the presence of a baby. The attention to detail in both the facilities and the service was second to none. Thanks to Aisha, Aikee, Gideon and the staff for a memorable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear VivienW21,

Thank you for such a pleasant review. All of us have enjoyed you and your family’s company as well and look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent a week at Forest by Wangz recently and loved it. The staff couldn't be more friendly, patient and thoughtful. The rooftop was wonderful - perfect for a glass of wine after a hard day's work, but we also had meetings up there as quite often we had it to ourselves.
The Forest by Wangz is the only hotel that I've ever stayed at that provided powerpoint adaptors; a really thoughtful gesture. Breakfast was lovely - best fruit salad bar I've seen in a hotel for a long time. The design and decor is modern, lovely and fresh. Beds were so comfortable, I slept better than I do at home! Pool was fabulous and generous in size. Most of all, we felt completely relaxed, and comfortable in the knowledge that we were being looked after. (This is great when you're hard at work and a bit stressed out.)

Room Tip: Our room was facing the street behind Moulmein Rd and was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear AnskyWinslow,

We are glad you managed to find much-needed rest on your recent business trip and appreciate your generous compliments. May we have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Forest by Wangz has become my "go to" property in Singapore. The staff could not be nicer, the location is really my kind of place, and it's a great value in Singapore. The units have kitchenettes and there is a nice grocery store just down the road at Union Square, so the option to cook in a little is something I enjoy. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are modern and stylish. The pool is wonderful and the workout room is functional. he rood top lounge area is a great place to relax if the weather is not too oppressively hot and humid. The breakfast is very nice and includes eggs cooked to order. I really can't say enough nice things about this place. I can only hope the reviews don't mean it's harder to book in the future!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear handlebarmike,

Thank you for your review and the positive affirmation of our service and facilities. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and will certainly do our very best to accommodate you during your future visits. Till we meet again.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here three weeks, and often wondered what to write about a hotel that has many wonderful qualities and one serious flaw, I decided that it's impossible to overlook the flaw , since it detracted from my stay, and could be a deal breaker for others. I

First, to give credit where it is due, all the great things said in other reviews - about the hotel's warm and caring staff, its good location, and its high quality facilities are true.

But this hotel's hot water problem does not seem to have been mentioned elsewhere. And it is significant.

At least in suite 406 is that there is never enough hot water for one's morning ablutions. If you need a good hot shower first thing to have a great day ahead, you be left wanting at the Forest by Wangz.

There is a design flaw in the hot water system which leaves one with two minutes of hot water, then a minute of cold, then a few more minutes of hot water. This seems to arise from having distributed the hot water heating amongst a number of small units that are interconnected around the building. When one unit runs out, it takes time for the reserve from another unit to arrive.

Staff of the hotel and the hot water equipment company spent two different afternoons working on the problem in our first week. It made for an improvement, but not a solution. Since it's a design flaw, rather than an equipment failure, this problem is here to stay. It's such a shame, as everything else about our stay was excellent.

If only they could fix the hot water, I'd return here again and again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Human44,

We do apologise once again for the unfortunate hot water situation you encountered during your stay but are comforted to know you enjoyed your stay otherwise.

The maintenance team has managed to rectify the problem and we have yet to receive similar feedback from other residents since then.

Please take care of yourselves back home and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Words cannot express what joy it is to stay here! We are currently half way through our trip and "Da Forest" MAKES the holiday (anything else in Singapore is just a bonus).

From the super friendly staff, the the luxurious rooms, house keeping, decor, service, roof top terrace... the list just goes on.

We have a total of 3 rooms (studio, executive and premier) and they are all fantastic! (premier is the best and I would highly recommend spending the few extra dollars).

Our group also arrived at some um-Godly hour to checkin and the staff were waiting for us all ready to go - cannot believe how friendly and efficient they were at 4am!!

I wish every city and country we have ever travelled to had a "Forest".

Thank you to all the staff for creating such a fun and friendly atmosphere - will definately be back (and I never stay at the same place twice, so that really says something).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear KimbaKake,

Thank you for such an encouraging and positive review. We are equally honoured to have served you and your party and wish you safe travels for the rest of your holiday.

Please take care till we meet again.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Forest by Wangz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forest by Wangz

Address: 145A Moulmein Road, Singapore 308108, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#1 Business Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Forest by Wangz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FOREST BY WANGZ is an exclusive 38-apartment boutique serviced residence offering flexible short term and monthly stays in the heart of Singapore. Ideal for the expatriate on project assignment or relocation, the residence is located just a short drive from the vibrant Orchard Road, the financial district and medical research hub at Novena.Offering comfortable, modern style accommodations including a separate open plan style living and dining area with a fully-equipped kitchenette, the residence also has excellent leisure facilities such as a fitness centre, an outdoor infinity-edge lap pool and a rooftop garden with spectacular cityscape views.Residents at THE FOREST BY WANGZ are pampered by a dedicated team providing attentive and discreet service as we invite all to stay inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Forest by Wangz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forest By Wangz Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forest by Wangz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;