We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going the extra mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Forest by Wangz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Forest by Wangz to your Saves list
The Forest by Wangz
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   145A Moulmein Road, Singapore 308108, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
State of Bremen, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Going the extra mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It was my first visit to Singapore and I booked the Forest based on the recommendations I read here on Tripadvisor and I could not have made a better choice. The welcome upon our arrival was extremely friendly and the staff were amazing throughout our complete stay of 7 days... always going out of their way to help us and make us feel welcome. The hotel rooms are nice and clean, the pool perfect to cool off after a day of sightseeing and the roof top terrace was just the best place to relax with a drink in the evening. There are plenty of restaurants and a supermarket close by to make up for the lack of restaurant or room service. A MRT station is also close and makes access to everything very easy. Will certainly stay there again one day when I'm back in Singapore again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Stef2230,

We are glad you enjoyed your first visit to Singapore and are honoured to be part of your fond memories. We welcome you back again in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
73
99
17
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed 2 weed ago.i been there by acident.i found this place is great ,best staff ,clean room .it,s beautifully location .i will come back there one day when I come to singapore again......I love you staff........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Le A,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your short stint in Singapore and we appreciate you taking time to write this review. All of us look forward to your return soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On arrival at the Forest By Wangz, the hotel staff was extremely friendly and this continued throughout my stay, I was made very welcome and greeted every day by name.
The breakfast could have been better as I was unsure what was actually on offer but everything I had was delicious. The chef too was extremely friendly and came out when quiet to make conversation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear ChloeBo,

Thank you for your review and we will definitely look into improving our breakfast service.

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us and please take care till we meet again.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location is really nice with ample taxi cabs and public transportation like buses. The Room decorations was great with daily house keeping, a nice little pool and I must say the breakfast was decent with omelets, pancakes. I enjoyed the local fresh fruits. The staff were very warm and helpful. . There is a nice covered roof-top access space very cooling for an evening chat giving out a cosy environment and ambiance.
As with every tropical areas we spotted some bugs on the window crawling around the floors.. they seemed harmless so it was fine.
For such a quaint and nice hotel at (Rates from: http://discount.hotelprimer.com/Hotel/The_Forest_by_Wangz.htm) US$90 Back in April was a steal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear kanteetoo,

We appreciate your time in writing your review and are glad you had a pleasant experience at our property. The comfort and well-being of residents are very important to us so we thank you for your feedback and ensure such occurences will not be repeated in the future.

Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have travelled to Singapore several times before as a flight attendant and have stayed at various five star hotels. As I love traveling to Singapore one of my favorite destinations, I wanted to show my husband my favorite city. While looking for accomodation, my husband chanced upon this hotel and although not five star, the reviews were excellent. We did not know what to expect but on reaching there, we can attest that all the reviews are true. The staff are amazing and having stayed at various hotels around the world, this one comes out tops. Staff are very friendly and have not spotted a single one without a smile, from the resident manager to the housekeeping staff, you take customer service to new heights. Keep up the good work, you guys are amazing. There is no other place that I will stay in Singapore from now on except the Forest by Wangz-thank you for an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good, no noise and very clean. We stayed in a suite, the bathroom can be a bit sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Bryn63,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you sincerely for your encouraging words of affirmation on our service. It has been our honour and joy to have served you and your husband and may our paths cross again very soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Forest by Wangz for 20 nights while visiting family in Singapore. It's modern design is really pleasing and it's clean and comfortable. The staff are terrific and went out of their way to make our stay different to the average hotel experience. They were friendly, helpful and committed to making our stay as good as it could be. Breakfast was a daily delight, not only because of the food, but to watch Gideon and the other staff engaging with young children and helping their parents.

We had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Mr_George_12,

Thank you for writing this review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked the The Forest through expedia.com for 8 nights starting October 21, 2012. This was our first visit to Singapore. The trip was primarily for my 6 year old kid, We wanted him to experience Universal and other kid-friendly attractions.

Our experience was surreal to say the least. I was a little apprehensive about the property despite raving reviews. You never know until you experience it. But, the moment we arrived at the property my lingering fears disappeared.

The one striking thing about this property was the personalized attention. All the staff knew our names and addressed us by our names. That counts for a lot in a country that's flooded with tourists all year round.

We were welcome by the most friendly front-desk staff who checked us in with the least amount of fuss followed by a quick tour of the hotels facilities. Our bags magically found their way to our studio. We were pleasantly surprised by the room decor and quality. Granted the room was on the smaller side but that's the norm in Singapore. The room had king bed, sofa, TV, sound system, iron and board, a large refrigerator, microwave, toaster, 2-burner stove-top, electric kettle, utensils, silverware and 2 complimentary water bottles. The bathroom was small but functional and very well laid out. The toiletries were top quality (Molton Brown) and except for the shampoo all toiletries get replenished daily.

The property has a community room where continental breakfast is served everyday except Sundays and public holidays. The chef was very friendly and whipped up eggs to order. He was very funny and played with my kid everyday. The breakfast was the usual continental fare (fruits, cereal, breads, eggs, juice, coffee etc). The community room also has a coffee machine that serves complimentary coffee/tea/hot water anytime of the day.

There is a laundromat facility in the basement. They charge you S$5 for one wash cycle with complimentary detergent. The dryers are free. This was a bonus for us because it allowed us to travel light and not worry about running out of clothes on the trip.

The property is located within 5 minutes walk from the Novena MRT which is housed under the Velocity Mall. The mall had a decent selection of restaurants which offset the lack of room service at The Forest. And there is the United Square right adjacent to the Velocity with an even wider array of restaurants. And of course, the front desk would be happy to call a cab for you. Cabs in Singapore are cheap and transparent.

I can't say enough good things about this property. Everything was perfect. I'd definitely stay here again and again and again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of THE FOREST BY WANGZ at The Forest by Wangz, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear spepakay ,

Thank you for choosing us as your choice of accommodation and giving us this opportunity to create a memorable first visit to Singapore for you and your family.

We appreciate your generous compliments on our facilities and service. However, may I clarify that while toiletries such as dental kits, shaving kits and toothbrushes are replenished daily, Molton Brown bath amenities are only replaced on a weekly basis.

All of us look forward to having you back again and again too. Please take care.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Forest by Wangz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forest by Wangz

Address: 145A Moulmein Road, Singapore 308108, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#1 Business Hotel in Singapore
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Forest by Wangz 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FOREST BY WANGZ is an exclusive 38-apartment boutique serviced residence offering flexible short term and monthly stays in the heart of Singapore. Ideal for the expatriate on project assignment or relocation, the residence is located just a short drive from the vibrant Orchard Road, the financial district and medical research hub at Novena.Offering comfortable, modern style accommodations including a separate open plan style living and dining area with a fully-equipped kitchenette, the residence also has excellent leisure facilities such as a fitness centre, an outdoor infinity-edge lap pool and a rooftop garden with spectacular cityscape views.Residents at THE FOREST BY WANGZ are pampered by a dedicated team providing attentive and discreet service as we invite all to stay inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Forest by Wangz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forest By Wangz Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forest by Wangz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.