We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre food. Really terrible service. Very slow waiters” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Standing Sushi Bar Marina Bay Link Mall

Standing Sushi Bar Marina Bay Link Mall
8A Marina Boulevard, Singapore, Singapore
+65 6634 7068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,124 of 7,379 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
Description: Inside the ultra-modern Marina Bay Financial Centre is Standing Sushi Bar’s hybrid outlet. With a dining area and sake bar, the restaurant is humming along to the ever-changing buzz of Singapore.Watch the bustle of Raffles Place while enjoying a set lunch or come at night and unwind over drinks and sushi. Standing Sushi Bar provides high-quality,healthy Japanese food at an affordable price.
Restaurant details
Description: Inside the ultra-modern Marina Bay Financial Centre is Standing Sushi Bar’s hybrid outlet. With a dining area and sake bar, the restaurant is humming along to the ever-changing buzz of Singapore.Watch the bustle of Raffles Place while enjoying a set lunch or come at night and unwind over drinks and sushi. Standing Sushi Bar provides high-quality,healthy Japanese food at an affordable price.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre food. Really terrible service. Very slow waiters”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Saving grace for this place is it's usually empty asides from lunch time. But everywhere in Marina Bay Link Mall is crowded during lunch time.

Come here if you have a lot of time to waste. The Filipino head waiter is super slow and forgetful; worst is he is unapologetic with bad service. Chefs are also really slow too. Very consistent with taking over 20 mins to prepare raw sushi dons even when the restaurant is empty and there are 3 chefs behind the sushi bar.

I think the owner needs to reevaluate his staff. There is a reason why reviews are few and reputation is terrible with people working in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talk19, Owner at Standing Sushi Bar Marina Bay Link Mall, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi there, sorry about your poor experience at our outlet. I'll look into why food is taking long to prepare during our non-peak hours and also discuss with the staff on how better to improve service. Sorry again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rude, Obnoxious, Unapologetic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My girlfriend and I visited this outlet on 7th April 2014 at about 6.50pm as we were craving for sashimi (we usually visit the Queen Street outlet for the Monday promotion). Upon reaching, we noticed about half the restaurant was empty but we were denied entry by staff who explained that they were all reserved. We asked if there were reservations for 7.30pm and explained that we would leave by then and only then we were reluctantly let in.

The first thing we noticed was that the menu was different - it only had a small fraction of the offering at Queen Street. I asked a female staff about the availability of either zaru or cha soba (both of which are available at Queen Street) and she gave me a confused look, then immediately decided we should first submit our sashimi orders and walked off. The same thing happened when we asked for garlic fried rice later. The food was promptly served, but we had difficulty getting staff attention to either refill our teas, get the bill, or return the bill. The restaurant only managed to fill up about two-thirds towards the end of our meal.

Not wanting to wait any further, we chose to stand up and queue at the entrance counter to pay instead. We voiced our displeasure with the less-than-pleasant experience and the first response from staff was a barrage of excuses about how they were "busy". We pointed out that the restaurant was not even full, but were told that this is what "Monday's busy looks like". The response to why we were not offered a seating solution even though the reservations did not turn up throughout was "we are not privileged to give you the seats". Not a single apology was offered along the course of more excuses. That staff then made a face and gestured another staff to take over before throwing my girlfriend's credit card on the table and walking off. I was incensed and asked the second staff: "so you're not going to do anything about this situation?" and was replied a firm "No". I was then instructed to call a number if I was unhappy and when I asked for it, the staff did not know it and had to ask other colleagues. The number later turned out to be the outlet's phone number instead.

I am definitely never patronising this brand again. The food may be of decent value, but that is no way to treat customers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talk19, Owner at Standing Sushi Bar Marina Bay Link Mall, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi, thanks for taking the time to write feedback. Our Marina Bay Link Mall outlet doesn't have an exhaust so the menu is different from our 8 Queen Street outlet. At Marina Bay we focus on sushi and sashimi offerings as we can only do light cooking there (with no exhaust if we cook things like garlic fried rice it would create a smell which would permeate the mall - though we love the smell of garlic fried rice!). I'm a little unclear on what you mean by the seating solution. The Monday night madness promotion is extremely popular so we get many reservations. Walk-ins usually will be seated at the sushi bar counter area. Sorry we weren't able to provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretty consistent and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The lunch sets are good value. Consistent too. Keep it up.

On the other hand, the a la carte sashimi is sliced too thinly for my liking. The price charged is not cheap.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Green tea ice-cream was unexpectedly GOOD! LIKE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Visited here in a random Friday afternoon, not much people after 2pm, which is good!

I had tried a set lunch (SGD 40) which came with assorted sashimi, appetizer, beef, rice, misco soup and dessert. For the entire set, I was impressed by the green tea ice-cream the most. I am not a big fan of ice-cream but this one was incredibly good - simply NOT too sweet and VERY creamy =)) LIKE! Assorted sashimi also tasted good, fresh and wasn't stink at all!

For SGD 40, I could have a very nice japanese meal somewhere in Douby Ghout, oh well, here is Marina Bay area, indeed it is already quite a good deal ;)

Cheers x

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Convenient, a good price and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

we found this to be worth the money. the staff was polite and efficient.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talk19, Owner at Standing Sushi Bar Marina Bay Link Mall, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Hi! Thanks for checking out the restaurant and taking the time to post a review. I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Standing Sushi Bar Marina Bay Link Mall also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Standing Sushi Bar Marina Bay Link Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Standing Sushi Bar Marina Bay Link Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.