We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arianna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arianna Hotel to your Saves list
Arianna Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Syed Alwi Road, Singapore 207662, Singapore (Little India)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all cost!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Avoid it! No matter how cheap it is!

Stayed there for 3 nights, couldn't wait to go home. Don't feel like staying in the room either.
First of all, dirty and smelly. Toilet is really dirty, stains and moulds all over the place. Bad ventilation and you'll have wet tower and cloths.
Second, bed have mites & ticks. We found mites on our bed and I have rashes after sleeping on the bed for one night.
I can stand the dirty toilets, but dirty bed? No way. Have to request for a room change. New room wasn't good either, stinky pillow. Have to sleep without it.

Overall, avoid it at all cost, you're better off going somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    49
    13
    35
See reviews for
23
25
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a terrible hotel. Do not believe the pictures on their website or on the Trip advisor site. When I took the lift to my room and opened the door I was hit by one of the worst smells ever, it appaered to be stale cigarette smoke, even though there are "No Smoking" signs all over the hotel. The walls are dirty and there was a even a dead fly on the wall. There was a hole in the wall, like a plug shaped hole, and I wondered if a mouse might crawl out of it at any point. There was no wimdow either, which was not communicated. I had to leave the air con on at night in order to sleep because of the smell but then it does get cold. The toilet seat was broken and the sink was disgusting.Whilst this place is cheap, they could charge a lot more if they made basic improvements so they clearly cannot be bothered. I could not wait to leave this place. I would not recommend it, no matter how much of a budget you are on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night while transiting through Singapore. I normally stay at similar priced hotels in Geylang so expected the same experience at Arianna - basic facilities but clean, quiet and reasonable sized room. Instead I got a poky little room which I could barely fit into. The smell was terrible - a combination of paint and stale smoke. My clothes stank for days afterwards from being in that room for one night. The place was really noisy as well - people were yelling at 2am and coming and going at all hours. I would recommend no one stays here as you can get far better hotels at similar prices all over Singapore.

Room Tip: The tip is do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is really terrible hotel. During the night you hear prostitutes and souteneurs, walls are so thin you can't sleep because clients are coming all the time and souteneurs are making noise even ear plugs does not help. The only way to sleep is if you open the water in the bathroom and door to your bathroom must be open. Room has no window, bathroom is so small even I'm a very slim person, very hard to use. Terrible impression, it is better to stay at the park bench than in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Some point of this hotel:
1. Rude young chinese front office boy, the old chinese is welcome.
2. Very SMALL room (very claustrophobic dimension), no window, the bed is very small and very uncomfortable till make my back aches. The room smells bad. The hot water does not work well. The A/C is just a few inces from the bed so i was just under the direct and violent stream of the chilly area.
3. Cannot get wifi connection inside the room.
The hotel location is quite good, but i Do NOT recomend you to stay in this hotel. With the same price, you can get better hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very God hotel for a budget traveller.enjoyed my stay here. very good staff.best location even though the rooms are a little small but value for money.very near to musthafa mall MRT station etc.really enjoyed the stay.good vegetarian restaurants near by.over all a good place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I found this hotel average although it has a good location being opposite the 24-hour Mustafa Centre and a short 5-minute walk to Farrer Park MRT Station. I stayed in a single room and I have to say that the windowless room including the attached bathroom was about the size of my bathroom in my apartment. With the attached bath, one could sit on the toilet bowl, brush your teeth and shower at the same time. However, the water collects on the bathroom floor and would not drain properly. Although space was very limited, the room was clean. There was no smell. The bed was odd though - a 3-foot wide single mattress perched on a 2.5- foot wide base. It was a bit precarious. My room also got a lot of noise from the corridors outside as I was woken up by other guests returning very late (or rather very early in the morning) and making quite a bit of noise. For the room I had, I would say that I could possibly get something similar for a lower price elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arianna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arianna Hotel

Address: 83 Syed Alwi Road, Singapore 207662, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arianna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Arianna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arianna Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arianna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.