We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely budget accomodation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arianna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arianna Hotel to your Saves list
Arianna Hotel
83 Syed Alwi Road, Singapore 207662, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Definitely budget accomodation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

This is definitely budget accomodation!
It's not terrible but it's not great either. It is quite compact, has a very small all-in-one bathroom, good air con, a small fridge, a tv and a good wi-fi connection.
The downside for me was that out of the four nights we were there we had hot water for one of them ( lucky its hot in Singapore! ).
There was also lots of construction going on, both inside the hotel and outside and you could hear your neighbors, so it was a bit noisy.
Having said all of that, it makes a great base for exploring Singapore.
The hotel is located in the northern part of little India ( a fantastic cultural experience) and is opposite the 24 hr mustafa centre.
Farrer park station ( underground train) is a five minute walk away which is very convenient as you can easily go to any part of the city for a couple of dollars.
The hotel room itself could do with a fresh coat of paint and a better hot water system but overall we had a good stay and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    42
    13
    31
See reviews for
20
24
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Travelled with our 1 year old.The rooms are compact but clean and nicely done and has a modern feel. There is a flat screen tv and the air-con works well. There's no breakfast and no parking. We managed to park by the roadside but you will need to buy parking coupons from 8 am to 5pm.

Unfortunately there is a major construction going on at the front road and the hotel itself. So, it can be a bit dusty and noisy. But since we're out all day and only back at night, it didn't really bother us.

At the hotel lobby, there is a travel agent office which sells park tickets and taxi services. Halal Indian food is abundant. Mustaffa shopping centre is right in front of this hotel. Super Convenient!!

Great hotel for those on a budget, don't mind a small room as long as it is clean with perfectly working tv and airconditioning, looking to shop at Mustafa center and great choice of Halal Indian food.

Room Tip: #203 overlooks the alley behind the hotel and right next to the room where the construction is going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Singapore hotels have become so expensive compared to other cities in Asia. This hotel is among the most economical in all terms:
1. Rates are quite inxpensive compare to other Singapore hotels (how ever with the same money you can get a lot more better hotels in other Asian cities)
2. If you are just into shopping regular items, this is the place (Mustafa Center gate4 is at your doorstep for 24hours)
3. Variaty foods especially Indian foods at a reasonable price are abundant
4.It takes about 10min walking leisurely to the nearest MRT station

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Arianna is nicely situated right opposite Mustafa (5 minutes away from an MRT station) – so anything you may be missing is right across the street, I arrived quite early but was only able to check in at one o’clock (quite possibly because they were full and had to wait for someone to vacate a room).

Every time I believe I have seen the smallest room possible, I stumble across one where the pygmy builders have outdone themselves and managed to create an even smaller room. The room at arianna was tiny, and had no windows. The bed was decently sized (somewhere between a single and a double), wedged into a corner of the room. There was about 30cm of clearance in front – just enough to shove a suitcase in – and about 60 cm of space on one side. There’s a mirror and a small shelf (20cm wide or so), a small fridge (!) and a couple of shelves with hanging space and a room safe. No bedside lamp.

The ensuite bathroom was (surprisingly…) tiny. A sink, a toilet and a shower are all crammed together with no room for even a shower curtain – so when you shower everything in the bathroom gets wet. There is also no decent ventilation for the bathroom so it remains wet and damp.

On the plus side, the room was quite clean, and they also provide a kettle and some cups (with sachets of tea, coffee etc) and a hair drier. There was also a small LCD TV, which had a couple of English language channels.

Wifi worked fine and was fairly fast (2mbps or so).

Overall, could not get over the size of the room. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Was our first time in Singapore and we booked the hotel by price and location. We confess that just the services are nice, forget the other stuffs.
The bed is very hard and old, we felt the iron in our backs and when we arrived the room was very very dirty, we had to call to the reception to ask for clean it.
If you go for a walk around, you can find better options to stay.
One importat thing, they are rebuilding the street in front of the hotel ... lots of noise in the morning. (26/03/2012)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

After reading "Zee7" comments (below), I was worried whether my booking wud hav been rejected as my Creditcard also have double security feature. As I was check-in late nite, I was more worried. But luckily my booking was still available and the guy in reception was quite friendly.

About the room:
We got the room adjacent to the main road (can watch Mustafa Center from our window). Rooms were small, had some basic toiletries, water-heater, Hair Dryer, small refrigerator, locker, 22-inch LED TV but only local channels, Wifi was there but Internet was always down.

Good things:
Great Location, bang opposite Mustafa Center - 24 hours shopping palace where we can get anything you want. Good for many great & authentic Indian foods. Farrer park MRT is just 10 mins walk away.

Bad things:
Room floors were not clean. It was dusty. No Carpets. I told the Room Service Lady to clean the floor before I left outside. But when I came back the rooms was still dirty. There was construction work going outside, on the road (Added to the crowd noise in Mustafa Center). So it was very noisy the whole day. Also there was construction work going on inside the hotel also. Day-time whole day the rooms were noisy.

Would I stay again?
Maybe. I like it for its location & food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

You might get a good nights sleep, but don't even try to come back during the day for a relaxing nap; there is construction right outside and jackhammer renovation inside the building. Requested a quiet room away from the street but was not given one. Room very small; mattress very hard. Some rooms don't even have windows!

Room Tip: good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arianna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arianna Hotel

Address: 83 Syed Alwi Road, Singapore 207662, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arianna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arianna Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arianna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.