We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, Secure, cheap and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wink Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wink Hostel to your Saves list
Wink Hostel
2.0 of 5 Capsule Hotel   |   8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free B'fast & 24-hr Svc
Ranked #12 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Safe, Secure, cheap and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great hostel in heart of China Town, 1 min from MRT. Many shops and cheap restaurants nearby and a short walk from the trendy Clarke Quay area.

All main attractions such as Marina Bay are in walking distance.

The hostel itself was clean, friendly and very safe / secure. Comfortable pods and secure large storage areas for each pod included.

I would 100% stay here again for my next visit to Singapore.

Room Tip: Bottom pods are better, showers and toilets situated on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    165
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
69
263
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very enjoyable stay: clean, cozy, and quality facility. I like cube bump bed design, leaving travelers more privacy.
Just one drawback: no elevator so need to climb up and down for shower/kitchen/room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi YanaLin,
Thanks for your kind words about your stay at Wink!

Yes, unfortunately we are located on the second and third floors of a conserved heritage shophouse and do not have lifts (not allowed by regulations for this type of preserved structures) from the ground floor. This is regretful as it means guests climbing and lugging of bags up a flight of steps, and limits our ability to properly host wheelchair-bound guests. Most guests with heavy luggage let us know and we'd be most happy to help. Unfortunately this is a trade-off we have to live with for the architecture and feel of a conserved shophouse done in this Chinese baroque style, and for siting ourselves in this part of Chinatown.

I'd again alert the team to keep a sharper look-out to extend help with baggage. Thanks for the reminder! Good travels ahead and we hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I don't usually use hostel but this place is extra ordinary. 1: just few steps away from MRT China Town station (Green and Down town line ) 2: reasonable price 3: Super clean and good air freshener smell 4: Card key access required to get in to the room , also you have spacious locker which easily large suite case can fits. 5: Pod bed , it's like bee nest, you can have privacy 6: Clean bath room. / So Some review mentioned already, not many people saying hi to each other and make friends but it's perfect place when you need some personal space even staying at hostel for budget reason. all signs in the property make nice and friendly, especially the one encouraging to donate the shampoo & Soaps which you I don't finished using to someone else was quite good idea. I will come back again.
I don't have any complains but that will be wonderful if staff at counter have more friendliness!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi tomatoa,
Grateful you gave Wink a try notwithstanding you don't normally use hostels. Glad it worked out with many thanks for your generous list of pluses about us!

Thanks for sharing that one of my colleagues was found a little less friendly. Sorry if this marred your stay in any way, or affected our service. I'd investigate straight away and also remind the team. Delighted you will come back again, and very appreciative of your strong recommendations!

Safe travels and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at Wink for two nights on a stopover to Sydney. The beds are clean and comfy with crisp white linen, I had a great night's sleep. It really nice to have your own space in your pod. The bathroom was also clean but quite hot (air con is only in rooms). Breakfast was toast, cereal and juices which was all I needed. The staff were friendly and helpful and answered all my questions and have me good directions. Wink hostel is a great base from which to explore Singapore, and I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi Alischo,
Wow - it looks like we hosted you almost a year ago. Thanks for finding time, even after all this while, to pen your stay experience at Wink! Quite a few compliments you shared - thanks!

Please come back and get re-acquainted with Wink. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place is clean and very near the MRT station.
As it is a backpackers hotel, privacy will be very limited but surely all your stuff will be safe.
Me and my friend stayed in the mixed dorm- we were the only girls but we didn't have a problem.

No problem with the showers. Breakfast is provided, fridge is available. It's like living in an apartment with friendly strangers :) However, as with most things in Singapore this is kinda pricey specially knowing that there are similar hostels offering the same things but are definitely cheaper.

Anyway I slept really well. Mightve even snored :]

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Arrived after a long day at Universal Studios to be greeted by a very friendly,cheerful & helpful staff member. We were able to get a park just outside but had no idea about the payment system. Staff member informed us we needed to get parking tickets from 7 eleven store or supermarket at big shopping centre only 1 street away. After getting them he then helped us to push out the relevant info on tickets. We had a whole 6 berth room to ourselves as there were 6 of us ranging in ages from 9 to over 60 all who enjoyed the experience. Clean rooms ,air conditioned,free wifi ,clean bathrooms & a simple,basic breakfast. Easy walk to China Town for food & market. Great location & very family friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi sutcliffe05,
Delighted your group of varied ages enjoyed the experience of hostelling Wink-style for the first time! We remember your willingness and game-spirit to try us out, and look forward to hosting you when you try out our dedicated 7-pods, 8-pods and 10-pods rooms as well.

Not get many guests arrive by car and we are pleased it worked out for you. We should have highlighted before your arrival that parking right in front of the premises is very convenient and decently priced (relative to Singapore high prices). Parking after 10 pm is free for the night in the street right before us. Being just outside the main streets of Chinatown also provide drivers a much (much much) better chance of securing a spot. Learning from your stay, we are thinking of stocking parking coupons at the Front Desk to facilitate driving guests like you.

Again thanks for your stay and kind words. Hope to host you and family and friends again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Clean, user friendly with nice staff. Comfortable beds in dorms - separated by walls, so one have a bit of privacy. You may leave your luggage for the whole day and use the bathroom facilities after collecting your stuff. Close to MRT.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi MonikaJ3,
Great we had a chance to have you spend some time at Wink. Thanks!

We also appreciate your straightforward and succinct pointers. We don't advertise it - but yes - guests are more than welcomed to use our facilities after check-out if they have a late flight to catch. A shower before a long flight, especially given the humidity here, must be supported!

Safe travels and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wink Hostel

Address: 8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wink Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and high tech converge at Wink Hostel - the flashpackers’ travel accommodation of choice. Without sacrificing coziness and budget of the traditional backpackers’ inn, Wink innovates beyond conventional hostels in design, quality and conveniences.Amongst the very first worldwide to tout “pod” style beds, Wink’s own designer twist to the concept indulges travellers their private sleeping sanctums, while allowing for socializing in individual rooms.Queen-sized pods are available for couples travelling together, or the traveller who yearns a bigger bed. Ladies dormitories, complete with vanity counters, provide female guests better peace of mind and a little luxury on the side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Wink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wink Hotel Singapore
Wink Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wink Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.