We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend at wink” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wink Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wink Hostel to your Saves list
Wink Hostel
2.0 of 5 Capsule Hotel   |   8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & 24/7 Service
Ranked #11 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Manila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“weekend at wink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

took a while to get me to write a review for wink a little bit busy this end year, what can i say about, i read some good reviews from different reservations online, first i planned my getaway 2 months before and took me a while in finding a good spot to sleep in, i tried several hotels every day and at the same time looking for sudden promos from hotels, as november approaches i need to choose before i ran out of luck, tried emailing 5 hotels, all of them replied but what catches me, the place of the convention that i will attend, is it near or is it accessible by public transportation. i also checked websites as well, then limit my choices to 2, then i compare both the other os a typical dorm room, and the other is more like a space shuttle, i know its not what i expected at first but i got Wink as my hotel for 4 days 3 nights,


at first i got lost with in china town hahaha its my first time traveling @ china town , we have a place around east but my uncle has his relatives staying so i give way thats why i end renting space, although i got surprise about the structure of the place.


staff was nice, place is good and the cereal is good hahaha i almost ate the whole box of cereals
room was nice

one thing thou, no mens room on the third floor all ladies hahahaha

over all stay was great.

thanks Wink.

Room Tip: try Wink you'll like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    138
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
59
235
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pondicherry, Pondicherry, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Arguably the best hostel in Singapore for backpackers.

Cons.
1. The complimentary breakfast duration feels too short. For the amazing night life in Singapore, it'd be impossible to wake up in time for it.
2. The cheap massage joints around, better to stay away from them.
3. Weak wireless internet connection in some of the corner pods.
4. No water jets in the bathrooms.

Pros.
1. Super comfy beds and sparkling clean corner rooms.
2. The location. China town is lovely to walk around, if a little adventurous you might even take 15 min walk to Clark Quay, 2 min walk to the China Town MRT, McDonalds almost next door.
3. The staff. Friendly yet extremely professional, its not easy.

There just might not be an end to the Pros, but i would highly recommend this hostel, its the best what that money can buy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Thanks Wink Hostel, everything was brilliant, from booking online to the spacious pods and not forgetting the super friendly staff, there's really nothing to fault. Toilets were cleaned quite frequently so that was a big bonus. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay..clean, helpful staff, alot of hangout area, free wifi, common area with TV computers and pantry and well located. Stayed there for 2 nights. Don't mind going there again especially travelling alone.
Only problem is the breakfast spread has limited selection and the ladder bar to the top bunk is small and painful during climbup

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I am not your typical backpacker. I do not do hostels on any grounds but I made an exception. The Wink hostel was perfect for me. The staff were attentive & very hospitable. It is like living in a small house. Cleanliness is a big thing for me especially when it comes to bathrooms & toilets. Wink did their best to keep the place clean. Apart from hair in the sink occasionally that's as dirty as it got. I really enjoyed my stay here. Planning my next trip to Singapore. Although I'm the type of person to choose the Skyline hotel. Wink will most certainly do yet again. Loved it here. Great location, comfortable beds, helpful staff, great security for locking away personal items. The air conditioning in rooms is a blessing. Loved it loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a stop over. As we were only going to be in Singapore for 12 hours, we didn't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel. We stayed in a double pod, which was comfortable and cozy. My only recommendation would be to bring something that you can hang in front of your bed to 1. give you a bit of privacy and 2. block out the light when the door opens. The bathrooms were clean, the common areas were tidy, and the hostel actually didn't seem very busy.


It's in a great location in the middle of Chinatown. Very close to the metro and walking distance to Clarke Quay. Perfect for a short stay or for those on a budget who are staying for longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I wanted to try a little adventure back in my own country and I was very grateful to be given the chance to do so. Even though it was initially very awkward, but I enjoyed such little get-away to give myself opportunities to learn about the area and the things available for travelers to Singapore.

Wink hostel is a budget hostel with bunk beds. They have a great card system that give you a great sense of security as you know that only people staying in the room can enter the room. The card system also allow for easier access to your locker which it is just below your bunk beds.

They have a great, kitchen, laptop internet area, tv lounge and many areas where you can get away to read and relax. It was a wonderful hostel. Unfortunately, I felt that the kitchen was a little cramp during breakfast time, it would be great if it was slightly bigger.

Nevertheless, the overall experience had been wonderful and awesome. The staffs were always available to answer any enquiries, and they have alot of interest tour packages to recommend to their travellers. Thank you for the wonderful time.

Room Tip: I would recommend lady travellers to take the upper bunk bed for more privacy. However, if you do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wink Hostel

Address: 8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wink Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and high tech converge at Wink Hostel - the flashpackers’ travel accommodation of choice. Without sacrificing coziness and budget of the traditional backpackers’ inn, Wink innovates beyond conventional hostels in design, quality and conveniences.Amongst the very first worldwide to tout “pod” style beds, Wink’s own designer twist to the concept indulges travellers their private sleeping sanctums, while allowing for socializing in individual rooms.Queen-sized pods are available for couples travelling together, or the traveller who yearns a bigger bed. Ladies dormitories, complete with vanity counters, provide female guests better peace of mind and a little luxury on the side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wink Hotel Singapore
Wink Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wink Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.