We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the boob!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wink Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wink Hostel to your Saves list
Wink Hostel
2.0 of 5 Capsule Hotel   |   8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & 24/7 Service
Ranked #10 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It's the boob!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I am not your typical backpacker. I do not do hostels on any grounds but I made an exception. The Wink hostel was perfect for me. The staff were attentive & very hospitable. It is like living in a small house. Cleanliness is a big thing for me especially when it comes to bathrooms & toilets. Wink did their best to keep the place clean. Apart from hair in the sink occasionally that's as dirty as it got. I really enjoyed my stay here. Planning my next trip to Singapore. Although I'm the type of person to choose the Skyline hotel. Wink will most certainly do yet again. Loved it here. Great location, comfortable beds, helpful staff, great security for locking away personal items. The air conditioning in rooms is a blessing. Loved it loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    131
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
59
226
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a stop over. As we were only going to be in Singapore for 12 hours, we didn't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel. We stayed in a double pod, which was comfortable and cozy. My only recommendation would be to bring something that you can hang in front of your bed to 1. give you a bit of privacy and 2. block out the light when the door opens. The bathrooms were clean, the common areas were tidy, and the hostel actually didn't seem very busy.


It's in a great location in the middle of Chinatown. Very close to the metro and walking distance to Clarke Quay. Perfect for a short stay or for those on a budget who are staying for longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I wanted to try a little adventure back in my own country and I was very grateful to be given the chance to do so. Even though it was initially very awkward, but I enjoyed such little get-away to give myself opportunities to learn about the area and the things available for travelers to Singapore.

Wink hostel is a budget hostel with bunk beds. They have a great card system that give you a great sense of security as you know that only people staying in the room can enter the room. The card system also allow for easier access to your locker which it is just below your bunk beds.

They have a great, kitchen, laptop internet area, tv lounge and many areas where you can get away to read and relax. It was a wonderful hostel. Unfortunately, I felt that the kitchen was a little cramp during breakfast time, it would be great if it was slightly bigger.

Nevertheless, the overall experience had been wonderful and awesome. The staffs were always available to answer any enquiries, and they have alot of interest tour packages to recommend to their travellers. Thank you for the wonderful time.

Room Tip: I would recommend lady travellers to take the upper bunk bed for more privacy. However, if you do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Wink Hostel. Very clean and cozy. Even though there were a lot of people, there was never too much noise (not even in the rooms). It's very modern and safe. Service is amazing! Everyone who doesen't want to waste money on over-priced hotels in Singapore has a superb alternative here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

It is fabulously located near the Chinatown MRT station which is only a couple of stops from the big interchange. Plenty of amazing and cheap food around the hostel. The staff are fantastic and the rooms have an air conditioner each that definitely comes in handy. Clean rooms with perfectly sized lockers for a single bed. For my first hostel experience I really enjoyed it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had never stayed in pods before and it suited us for Singapore as double rooms in hostels were very expensive but we wanted more privacy than a regular dorm. Wink hostel does exactly what it says on the tin. Great location a few minutes from metro.

We stayed in 2 single pods on our first night and found it great - spacious, quite private, individual lights and large secure lockers.

For the following night we moved to a double pod. This worked out slightly cheaper but was not as good. The room was far smaller even though there were 8 people rather than the 6 the previous night. The locker provided was the same size as for the single pod but now had to accommodate 2 people's luggage. Ours didn't all fit. Also the door opened directly onto our double pod so we didn't feel this one was as private.

Overall though still a good hostel and good value for Singapore. Good wifi and hot showers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed on 20-22 Dec for family holiday in ladies dorm. Previously I've stayed in other hostel in Bugis and Clarke Quay area. Compared with those hostels, we love the pods, it is convenient, private and super comfy!!! My 60yo mom even did not have any single complaint hahaha... The breakfast was enough and appreciate that other occupants also took care of hostel properties and cleanliness. The shower and toilet rooms are more than enough for us, especially in morning peak hours. Our suggestion that maybe hostel can provide a towel rack inside the room, so we can hang our wet towel there, not on sofa or staircase to above pods. Plus please provide at least two staffs in peak hours, we felt so sorry for our assistant lady (forget to ask her name) who has to handle so many visitors at once (we arrived approx 8pm). But overall Wink is the best hostel in Singapore!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wink Hostel

Address: 8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wink Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and high tech converge at Wink Hostel - the flashpackers’ travel accommodation of choice. Without sacrificing coziness and budget of the traditional backpackers’ inn, Wink innovates beyond conventional hostels in design, quality and conveniences.Amongst the very first worldwide to tout “pod” style beds, Wink’s own designer twist to the concept indulges travellers their private sleeping sanctums, while allowing for socializing in individual rooms.Queen-sized pods are available for couples travelling together, or the traveller who yearns a bigger bed. Ladies dormitories, complete with vanity counters, provide female guests better peace of mind and a little luxury on the side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Wink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wink Hotel Singapore
Wink Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wink Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.