We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulge in a budget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wink Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wink Hostel to your Saves list
Wink Hostel
2.0 of 5 Capsule Hotel   |   8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free B'fast & 24-hr Svc
Ranked #11 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Indulge in a budget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

A recent review of the property by a luxury travel magazine send my curiosity to try the latest mode of accommodation that Singapore has to offer.

Booking
Booking was made by contacting the hotel directly via email. Prior to confirmation, a 10% deposit is needed to be made via credit card or Paypal. Booking is very easy and staff of hotel response to email in timely manner. An online booking facility could enhance the overall booking experience if the hostel wants to keep dubbed as "flashpacker" hostel.

Location
The location of the hostel is very strategic yet in quiet surroundings. It is just 5 minutes walk from Chinatown MRT Station (along North East Line) via exit A (Pagoda Street), walk towards New Bridge Road and turn right to Mosque Street where the hostel is located starting on the first floor of the shophouse row.

Check-in
Check-in was quick and staff was available at all times. Payment settlement need to be made at check-in together with another SGD10 deposit. Towel can be rented for SGD2 for the entire stay.

The room
The hostel offer bed in pods. It is either a choice of single pod or double pod which consists of a double bed. The room which I'm assigned to has a total of 6 pods; 3 lower pods and 3 upper pods. Individual storage facilities which was activated by touch and card sensor is available at the bottom of lower pods. A pod comes with a bed with bedsheets, duvet, and 2 fibre pillows, a power socket, a hook, a reading light and switch for headboard light which sets as ambiance light for each pod. The room is also furnished with aircon unit, a ceiling fan, rubbish bin, and a cushioned bench. Room is accessible by card.

Sleeping experience
The pod provides private space for each occupant. However, as it is not totally confined and as such, light sleeper is not suitable to stay at the pod as one can clearly being disturbed by room's door slamming or other people's activities in other pods. Also, walls to the room are pretty thin and such, one can hear exactly conversation on the corridor. Nevertheless, the bed is comfy and I can sleep soundly without feeling disturbed. Providing a sliding door like airline's private suite will help to increase privacy though but hotelier need to be careful in implementing the concept as one can easily get injured if such facility not being installed carefully.

The common facilities
There are six notebook station; 3 on each floor, a common lounge with plasma TV, a kitchen, and a laundry room (chargeable). Guests can use the kitchenette facilities (microwave, dinnerware, refrigerator, etc) and breakfast is complimentary and served at the kitchen area. Internet speed is good but since it is not controlled for airtime usage, it can be lagged if someone is using the computer for downloading or playing games.

The bathroom
Bathroom is maintained clean at all times as there is a bathroom attendant during working hours. Shower cubicle: the rainshower has enough pressure but not enough space to put toiletries and the stall layout is kinda open. If hostel were to improve this facility, it can consider to create a more private bathroom such as installing shower, toilet, and sink in one cubicle so one can have more privacy.

Staff
Staff are generally very friendly and helpful. In particular, an older gentleman is very courteous and always serve with a smile. A good staff can further increase the experience of staying at Wink Hostel.

Verdict
The hostel lives up to its motto: Indulge in a budget. A further enhancement can make the overall experience better by increasing more privacy and be different than the regular type hostel. Strangely, the hostel also attracting families and when they come and stay in the pods, the overall common facilities can turn into your grandma house at Christmas: very chaotic! Maybe the hostel can consider to separate this market from singles or couples which can be disturbed from the reunion scene by creating a new concept that cater for family.

Room Tip: During booking, always ask for pod away from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thanks! From booking to check-out, from amenities to staffing, even pointers for expansion.... I greatly appreciate the care and efforts you took to share your observations on Wink. You have good feedback we'd reflect on (including expanding the concept!). Just to comment on a few:
a) online booking platform - yes - we're developing it currently;
b) curtain or slider to cover the pods - the regulators won't allow as this constitutes a fire and smoke hazard; we're working to innovate around it
c) internet - we should be OK given our fibre-optic broad-band connectivity

Again many thanks for your stay and your follow-up comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    165
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
69
263
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saluda, North Carolina
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Wink Hostel was a great place to stay but I'm just not sure it's worth $50 for a dorm bed.
-Great location in Chinatown, close to the subway.
-Very clean rooms and bathrooms, beds made daily.
-Great staff who went out of their way to make Christmas special (candy canes on our lockers and snowman pancakes for breakfast), remembered your name, and helped with directions/arranging transport.
-Air-conditioned rooms, which was essential!
But while it was a very nice hostel, I'm just not sure it's so incredible that it should cost twice the price of other hostels. But I've never stayed in another hostel in Singapore so I can't really compare...
A few minor annoyances:
-The bathroom was very hot.
-The wifi only worked intermittently (which was frustrating on Christmas when I was trying to Skype with my family).
-While top bunks offer more privacy, I would have preferred a bottom bunk as it was difficult to climb in and out of the pod. Maybe the hostel could look into putting curtains up to offer more privacy for the bottom bunks?
Overall a great place to stay, but the price is a bit steep.

Room Tip: I would recommend a bottom bunk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamena, Papua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Just about a month ago, I was traveling through Singapore and was looking for someplace affordable to stay - this place was perfect! It's in a great spot with super easy access to the MRT! I had never been to Singapore before, and had never stayed in a hostel so this was a first on both accounts. Not only is the city amazing - but this is an amazing place to stay! (I almost don't want to say TOO many good things about this place as I need to go back in March and if word gets out as to how great a place this is to stay, they will be booked solid for months! :) The pods are a great idea for sleeping. They're comfortable and you get an amazing amount of privacy considering your sharing a room with others! The bathrooms were always clean, and the staff was really helpful. I'll definitely be staying here again for all my visits to Singapore!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thanks for taking time to write (through your satellite link?). Not everyday we have someone with your inspiring stories to share with us and fellow guests. We'd love to have you back, hopefully with family and friends from Papua next time round. Let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

i stayed 3D2N at Wink hostel. A very convenient location located in Chinatown. the hostel has a clean n family-like environment equipped with almost all furniture from Ikea, big plasma tv lounge with sofa, more than 5 shower rooms n 4 WC for ladies restroom at 3rd floor, and very friendly/ helpful staffs! however, the price will be a little bit costly for a budget bagpacker -SGD50 for a single pod (single bed) complete with one personal locker, socket and reading light.
Overall, it's a very nice place to stay with!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Hi Regina,
Appreciate your staying with Wink! Hope to see you again during the hols. Kind of you to write. Again thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The property advertises itself as a 'Flashpacker' hostel, for hostel travellers in the 21st century, with their laptops, ipads, connectivity, social networks and a plethora of other words that I am fairly sure did not exist ten years ago. Dorms are arranged in 'pods' whereby one wall is lined with beds that provide each person with their own small space, complete with coloured lighting, plug sockets and a small area for your computer etc. They are completely enclosed, except for the hole through which one enters their pod. So its a bit like a room in a dorm. Brilliant idea, fantastically executed and caters for the backpacker looking for a treat or for the upmarket traveller looking to slum it a little.

Room Tip: Try to get a bed at the furthest end from the door. Otherwise everyone will peer in at you as they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Hi Ric,
Many thanks for your kind words and endorsements! We won't dare to associate ourselves with luxury, but yes, we designed Wink to hopefully cater for a little indulgences at good value prices. We're still earning and your comments are great and helpful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This place is cool! Little private pod spaces in shared dorms with hi-tech card key access. Everything was very clean - every time I went into the bathroom there was someone cleaning it! And the people working were crazy nice and EXTREMELY helpful. I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Most encouraging to get comments like yours - thanks! We've tweaked a few changes and additions in recent days - please come back and enjoy/share in our amenities again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Singapore, especially if you are traveling alone which I am.

I stayed here for 6 nights in November and loved it! Its clean, safe, calm and the staff are brilliant! They want to help with every detail if they can. I asked if they could make the door of the room shut more quietly and they came up and fixed this 10 minutes later...! They welcome their guests to come with suggestions on how to improve the place in every detail.

And the location is outstanding. Smack in the middle of Chinatown, 2 min from the MRT.

The pods are great, I chose to stay in the upper ones, great privacy up there.

Im going back there over New Year, thats how good it is!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wink Hostel

Address: 8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wink Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and high tech converge at Wink Hostel - the flashpackers’ travel accommodation of choice. Without sacrificing coziness and budget of the traditional backpackers’ inn, Wink innovates beyond conventional hostels in design, quality and conveniences.Amongst the very first worldwide to tout “pod” style beds, Wink’s own designer twist to the concept indulges travellers their private sleeping sanctums, while allowing for socializing in individual rooms.Queen-sized pods are available for couples travelling together, or the traveller who yearns a bigger bed. Ladies dormitories, complete with vanity counters, provide female guests better peace of mind and a little luxury on the side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Wink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wink Hotel Singapore
Wink Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wink Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.