We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room but good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tresor Tavern Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tresor Tavern Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tresor Tavern Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Cavan Road | Opp Road of Jalan Besar Stadium (East Gate), Singapore 209854, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #195 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Small room but good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Singapore has high real estate prices so they make the best out of every square centimetre. This was my first stay in Singapore and I chose Tresor Tavern Hotel mainly because of the other good reviews here on TripAdvisor.

The single room was really as small as you possible could make it, without comprimising on the size of doors, bed, sink and toilet. All the doors could be fully opened and you could lie comfortably in the bed, or sit on the toilet without having to bend your knees, but that was it.

There was no spare space here, but still the room had everything I needed and is comfortable and clean. It is centrally located and an excellent base for exploring Singapore.

I will definitely go back here if I ever go to Singapore on a budget again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
2
7
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights 14-17 jan 2013 and we found this hotel really great.

The rooms are tiny (but all are in Singapore) probably only 3 x 3 but this is fine if all u want is a room to crash in when you get back. Bathroom is a wet room style with no shower cubicle and this is not the most convenient as the whole bathroom gets wet once you have a shower. The walls in the room needed a bit of a scruba rub dub, as did the bathroom. But all in all not bad at all (slight clean freak!) The room was all we needed but I was glad to move on to a larger room after 3 nights to stretch out a bit.

The location is the best thing, great local food pretty much at your door and huge shopping centre about 3 minutes walk. We were able to walk everywhere, orchid road, botanic gardens and the lavender street mrt is about 2 minutes walk. Everything is so accessible from this hotel.

The room also came with free wi-fi which they give you the details for at check in and was hassle free to log on and use etc. Was really convenient to have this included. Breakfast was also included which was really great! Each day it was different and you simply needed to fill out the slip at reception (which they always politely reminded you too when walking past) and you can select what time you would like it and you can select room service or to dine in the cafe. One morning it was a sausage bun and fruit, the next morning French toast and bacon and fruit, the next pancakes with fresh fruit. Breakie came with boiled water for instant coffee as well and it was nice to have this delivered every morning. You also receive free bottles water daily and fresh whole fruit in your room when your room is cleaned.

We really found this hotel everything we needed for our short stay in Singapore and couldn't have asked for more. We paid a total of $304.50 SNG for the 3 nights and we feel we got value for money.

We would definitely recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TresorTavernHotel, Assistant Manager at Tresor Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

We were very pleased to receive your positive comments about our hotel facilities and service by our staff. We would also like to apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay and not meeting your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.



Kind regards,

Jenie Mapua
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We are backpacking and decided to pay a little more for a hotel at Christmas, with hopes of a better wifi connection than other places to contact our families back home and a bit more luxury to treat ourselves. The wifi throughout the hotel was useless. We ended up in a cafe to Skype home!!
The room was tiny, with a 5"3 bed which filled the space wall to wall with enough space at the end for a cabinet with kettle and cups etc. however, there is nowhere to put your luggage. Even one case would have been a nuisance, but two backpacks? Nightmare. To get in to the bathroom we had to rotate the bags and one of us over and round the bed, to get in to bed we had to do this then drop the bags in to what little space was left!!
HUGE TV though on the wall. Strange. Everywhere seemed clean, although there was a questionable stain in the sheets! Breakfast was pretty grim, and served in room which was almost comedic, even the room service guy laughed a little as the tray they serve it on is almost as wide as the room!! I had to stand in the bathroom to open the door whilst he passed the tray to my boyfriend sat on the bed.
It is cheap in comparison to other places in Singapore, but we've just checked in at a hostel round the corner, same size bed ha ha and much better wifi but costs much less!!
Probably ok for solo travellers who want some privacy otherwise wouldn't bother!!
Also walls are paper thin, so toucan hear your neighbour pee and their kids screaming!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was looking for a cheap, good and safe hotel in Singapore for my 3 nights stay when I bumped into this hotel in Agoda list. I had hesitation because of its low rating and bad review. But I was in a strict budget condition that made me book this hotel anyway. Surprisingly, the hotel was not bad at all. The hotel located within walking distance to an MRT Station (Lavender) approx. 250 metres. And along the road, there were some convinient stores. The room was very tiny with one single bed, no window, no chair, no table, no cupboard which I seldom use anyway. I commended their idea on putting shelves at the end of the bed where they put the bed lamp, water kettle, complimentary apple, coffee, tea, sugar, along with the cup and plasticspoon. It was very smart and efficient. The bed was clean and comfy. The AC was running well. The bathroom was nice with hot water, clean towel, and other amenities. They served in bed breakfast and it was great since I needed to maximize my time for my city adventure. And it was okay in taste as well. So, for me, this was a perfect budget hotel for solo traveller. Especially when I will be out almost for the entire day. you should not regret staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very small room. 2 single beds with a 1-foot gap between. Another 1 foot gap between the 1st bed and cupboard which is less than a foot wide. The other bed is by the wall. There is no window.
The bathroom is tiny. When a toilet is flushed above, the water ran through the sewage pipes which are in the bathroom, the noise made by the water is rather loud even with the bathroom door closed.
TV channels - 17 in all. 9 of which have clear channels. The rest are ghoshtly images.
Noises in the corridor can be heard clearly in the room and disturb the sleep.
One good thing - the rooms are new.

Room Tip: None. This would have to be one of the last hotels (unless run out of choice) at the asking price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was the people we shared with that seriously, left us tearing our hair out. Making phone calls- i kid you not - AT 4AM, in the room!!!

We stayed in a large capacity room, I think maybe 12 beds? It was just about bearable for the amount of beds, if the room had been full it probably would have been a nightmare dodging bags.
We only had maybe 5/6 people including us two so was manageable.Beds were fine, lockers were decent size, breakfast was basic but same as most places to be honest :)
Staff were nice enough, although surprisingly didn't speak that good English (not knocking that at all, I was just surprised for SG).

Bathrooms were the let down here- a terrible, communal mess. I'm sure it was just because of a few individuals, but they were grim. Also the air-con was utterly freezing in our room- I can imagine with 12 people it would be needed, but they obviously don't change it so it takes getting used to!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
704 reviews 704 reviews
241 hotel reviews
Reviews in 243 cities Reviews in 243 cities
1,712 helpful votes 1,712 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This place has attracted a lot of negative ratings, but we were satisfied enough for the price. Singapore simply isn't cheap now: if you want a cheap Asian holiday, try Malaysia, Vietnam or Thailand away from the beaches.

In terms of what you get, the room is extremely small- we agree they are too small. But we would prefer our own room rather than two dorm beds in a hostel, and that is the only cheaper real option in the Island City. On the plus side, the water is hot, the AC is cool, the rooms are clean, the service is good and the breakfasts were fair to average. We found it a reasonable budget option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tresor Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tresor Tavern Hotel

Address: 26 Cavan Road | Opp Road of Jalan Besar Stadium (East Gate), Singapore 209854, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#195 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#195 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tresor Tavern Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Tresor Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresor Tavern Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tresor Tavern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.