We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singapore Sure Ain't Cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tresor Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tresor Tavern Hotel to your Saves list
Tresor Tavern Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Cavan Road | Opp Road of Jalan Besar Stadium (East Gate), Singapore 209854, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
782 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,942 helpful votes
“Singapore Sure Ain't Cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This place has attracted a lot of negative ratings, but we were satisfied enough for the price. Singapore simply isn't cheap now: if you want a cheap Asian holiday, try Malaysia, Vietnam or Thailand away from the beaches.

In terms of what you get, the room is extremely small- we agree they are too small. But we would prefer our own room rather than two dorm beds in a hostel, and that is the only cheaper real option in the Island City. On the plus side, the water is hot, the AC is cool, the rooms are clean, the service is good and the breakfasts were fair to average. We found it a reasonable budget option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
4
16
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Room was clean everyday (we stayed for 3 days)& the breakfast was good especially nasi lemak.
All the hotel staff was friendly..the recepsionist (name Angel, she was very helpfull..and the other women i forgot the name..she helped us to arranged a van for took us to the airport..it was cheap rather than we took 2 cab . thank you for assist us when we stayed in Trésor Tavern Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I had the displeasure of staying here for 2 nights. There are many reason I disliked this hotel and they are as follows:
1) Rooms are the smallest I have ever seen. I have heard of capsule sized rooms and this is what they should be called not doubles. The double rooms are actually single rooms with a double bed. We had no room for our luggage. Extremely difficult to maneuver in the room. The shower is over the toilet hence why I gave a poor rating for cleanliness.
2) Seeing as it is a single room with a double bed squashed into it, the price is ridiculous. Look for better deals.
3) The location although close enough to the MRT is in a car repair estate. This hotel is not really in Little India as advertised.
4) Breakfast was a waste of time. Cold horrible pancakes which I wondered why they even bother. I have got better in a hostel.
5) Phone in the room didn't work.
6) $100 key deposit which seems a bit excessive.
7) Staff were not that helpful. Our flight was cancelled at the last minute and asked to make a local call but this was too much hassle so we went elsewhere.
*the staff are friendly but the hotel is ridiculous due to the room size.
My advice is look elsewhere, try and book early and if you think of staying here, you are better off staying in a hostel. The owner has a lot of cheek advertising this place as "double room", breakfast included and even as a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights. This is the hotel not the backpackers which is in a different location. The room is miniscule. When I arrived i had to think how I would open and then be able to accesss my suitcase. Bathroom has a shower hose over the toilet. It's ok as its clean but dont expect to be able to see how you look or get dressed up for the evening! breakfast is included but is really not worth the effort of the staff. Location is good - close to mrt which i used to travel all over singapore.staff nice ( in my experience this was rare in singapore - no one smiles!) This is ok for a budget solo traveller in singapore. Four days far too long here unless you want to spend lots of dollars shopping

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed in Tresor Tavern for one night. I stayed in dormitory. The price was good, but hostel is not he best one. Dormitory had no window and was not very spacious, you feel there like in a bunker. There are old furnitures and no bathroom for each room. Air condition is good enough, but a little noisy. Everything is old, but hostel is not very dirty - it only looks like that. However, it's not bad located and easy to find it. I liked a little bored staff and enough good restaurant. There is a breafast included.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Location-wise this hotel is located close to the Lavender MRT and very close to the amazing Lavender Food Court. The rooms are very clean and well-equipped however this is where the advantages of this hotel end.

The rooms are tiny! We booked a deluxe double but there was absolutely nothing deluxe about this! The bathrooms in particular were even smaller than your average Asian bathroom!
The breakfast was small and of poor quality. I don't know why they bother offering this.

Whilst in Singapore, myself and my partner stayed at this hotel and at Mayo Inn (Mayo Street, Little India). The differences in the 2 hotels are vast. Tresor Tavern is expensive for what's offered. The service is average and the rooms are only really big enough for 1 person who has a hand bag sized amount of luggage.

I would not stay here again. There are far too many better hotels in Singapore that offer better rooms and service for the same price (and cheaper in Mayo Inn's case).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Nothing to great about the location!This hotel located at a downtown,surrounded by the mechanic shops. It looks real doggy from outside.
Hotel service- don't expect them to help to carry your luggage. Not buffet breakfast, you have to pre-order your breakfast from the menu and only 2 options given.
The room is smelly and squashy. The ceiling is mould too!!!
Think twice before you decide!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tresor Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tresor Tavern Hotel

Address: 26 Cavan Road | Opp Road of Jalan Besar Stadium (East Gate), Singapore 209854, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tresor Tavern Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tresor Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresor Tavern Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tresor Tavern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.